1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

It's all gone dark!!

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by aythree, Apr 15, 2009.

  1. aythree
    Online

    aythree Guest

    Anybody know the route that the wiring for the interior light takes??
    Mine isn't working at all. (using the switch or when opening the doors).

    I've checked and changed the fuse (no. 15 in the fuse box at end of dash), and I've checked the bulbs. All are fine.

    I have also checked that there is power at the fuse, and there is.
    Checked the bulb terminals for power, there is no power getting there.

    So the problem is somewhere between the fusebox and the actual interior light unit.
    Everything else in the unit works i.e. sunroof switch, airbag light. It's just the two lights bulbs that don't.

    Had a look at a wiring diagram in ETKA, and to be honest I don't have a clue what I'm looking at.

    Anyone able to help??? :confused:
    #1
  2. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    Most wiring diagrams don't tell you where the wires actually route and Elsawin ones as the same.

    Are you sure that fuse 15 is right? Is there anything else on the same fuse?
    #2
  3. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    The interior light is connected to the central electronics unit in the drivers footwell. I imagine the wires will run down the A pillar into this unit. You should have someone run a vagcom scan to check for any errors.
    #3
  4. aythree
    Online

    aythree Guest

    From memory I think it was 15 that i checked. If not, it was definitely the one labelled "interior light" on the fusebox cover and in the manual.
    #4
  5. Gti Jazz Blue
    Offline

    Gti Jazz Blue Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,655
    Likes Received:
    6
    It may also be worth resetting the module by dropping the main battery off for 20 minutes.

    I had an issue with the illumination on my passengers door and suspected that it was my fault when fitting the puddle lights etc.

    Powering off the door module reset the circuit protection and it is working fine again now.

    Worth ago.

    You may have to redo some of the adaption (like the one click window open / close) steering etc but the rest should be OK. The Audi stock headunit is coded by VIN to the car so you shouldn't normally have any issue there.

    Paul
    #5
  6. aythree
    Online

    aythree Guest

    Already tried to disconnect battery for 20 mins..... but no luck :3sadwalk:

    Glovebox light doesn't work either.

    Question.... if I want to check there is voltage at the wire that plugs into the interior light unit do I just unplug it and stick my multimeter's red lead anywhere into that plug thing / jack (at the end of the wire)?? Obviously I will be grounding the black lead.
    #6
  7. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    Put both your leads into the 2 pins on the connector mate. If no voltage find a good earth point and measure the voltage of each pin compared to that.
    #7
  8. aythree
    Online

    aythree Guest

    I'll give it a go :thumbsup:
    Ta.
    #8
  9. Gti Jazz Blue
    Offline

    Gti Jazz Blue Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,655
    Likes Received:
    6
    With out the wiring diagrams handy I couldn't confirm if the glovebox light is on the same circuit or not. The switch for the glovebox light is on the damper on the left hand side. The small end panel unclips and you should be able to see it.

    Really you need access to the wiring diagrams so that you can check the feeds to the internal lights.

    Paul
    #9
  10. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    Looks like the glovebox light (W6) is on the same circuit as the front interior light (W) fed from the CE (J519) unit.

    [​IMG]
    #10
  11. Staz
    Offline

    Staz is a retronaut Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 26, 2006
    Messages:
    6,189
    Likes Received:
    47
    I disagree. It looks to me like the glovebox light comes from T10 and the interior from T12.
    #11
  12. aythree
    Online

    aythree Guest

    Thanks for the diagram.

    But as per staz1000, it is does look like the glovebox light comes from T10 and interior from T12.

    I notice that the diagram shows reading lights, footwell lights, etc.
    Not sure if it changes the wiring layout but I only have interior lights in my car... an A3 04 2.0 FSI Sport.
    #12
  13. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    Indeed the glovebox light and a feed to the interior light are coming from the same feed, T10. T12 will most likely be a switched feed via an open door(s)
    I really should concentrate more!
    #13
  14. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    Try this diagram from an 04 2.0 TDI, it just has the basic lights. Same feeds though.

    [​IMG]
    #14
  15. aythree
    Online

    aythree Guest

    Ah yes, I do agree with you actually. The glovebox and interior light do appear to come from the same feed T10.

    Tested interior light fuse again and there is definitely 12v there. Tested the wires that plug into the interior light unit and no volts.

    Looks like my problem is somewhere between J519 and the wires for the unit.

    What will I find at J519?? More fuses??

    I'm getting fed up of using my mobile phone at night so I can see stuff in the car!!!
    #15
  16. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    No, lots of wires, plugs and relays!
    #16
  17. aythree
    Online

    aythree Guest

    Great!!! :ohmy:
    #17

Share This Page