1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IT related help please!

Discussion in 'General Chat' started by crazy88, May 31, 2011.

  1. crazy88
    Offline

    crazy88 Loving the anonymity

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4,832
    Likes Received:
    396
    [May 31, 2011]
    A few weeks back our computers at uni/ work were hit with an attempted hack through computers with remote desktop enabled. Anyway, long story short, mine was attempted to be hacked so the clever IT people here have re-imaged my desktop machine. However, I am now no longer an administrator, so cannot even do menial tasks such as change the screen resolution unless they come and do it for me. Currently my screen looks like it's a screen resolution about 100x100 pixels. :(

    It's ridiculous, and i've told them that I can't work with it like this, so need to be an administrator. I am awaiting the email in return, but again I can't set up my emails unless they come do it for me. However, due to the virus they are quick to image a computer, but then walk off and are now re-imaging others before mine has been configured.

    Anyway, is there a way I can change the screen resolution other than right clicking on the desktop and going to properties? It's driving me insane, i feel like i'm working on an old zx spectrum right now.

    NOT very happy this morning at all!!!!!
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 1, 2014]

  3. voorhees
    Offline

    voorhees Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    15,143
    Likes Received:
    1,196
    [May 31, 2011]
    Control Panel then Display
    #2
  4. crazy88
    Offline

    crazy88 Loving the anonymity

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4,832
    Likes Received:
    396
    [May 31, 2011]
    Sorry, should have said, I can't even access the control panel. Yes it is that bad! :(
    #3
  5. voorhees
    Offline

    voorhees Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    15,143
    Likes Received:
    1,196
    [May 31, 2011]
    Reboot in safemode
    #4
  6. Gti Jazz Blue
    Offline

    Gti Jazz Blue Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,655
    Likes Received:
    6
    [May 31, 2011]
    Windows Key & R then run cmd, when you get a command prompt cd \Windows\system32 then run control desk.cpl

    Depends on how locked down your Windows is as to what you will be able to run.

    Paul
    #5
  7. crazy88
    Offline

    crazy88 Loving the anonymity

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4,832
    Likes Received:
    396
    [May 31, 2011]
    How would this help? If I manage to access control panel from there will any changes to screen resolution stay when i re-reboot into normal mode again?


    Tried that...looks like i'm screwed. I have emailed IT services and eagerly awaiting a reply as to why they think it's good practice to effectively ruin two of my working days :)


    Thanks for the replies people.
    #6
  8. TDIQ
    Offline

    TDIQ 8L > 8P > 8V

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2009
    Messages:
    777
    Likes Received:
    6
    [May 31, 2011]
    Offline Windows Password & Registry Editor

    I've used this before to remove/change passwords, I think you can also use it to change your account privileges. You'll need to be able to boot off a CD or USB though.
    #7
  9. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,614
    Likes Received:
    318
    [May 31, 2011]
    Sounds like your not just running as a normal user, but they've used group policy to limit you much much further than that. If your on a domain theres probably no way to get round it. If your not, then there are probably hacks available to reset the administrator password like the ones aaron mentioned, but i suspect if you go down that route you'll be seriously pissing off the IT people, and if its a big company the suggestion that you "hacked" your computer probably wont go down well with HR either!
    #8
  10. crazy88
    Offline

    crazy88 Loving the anonymity

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4,832
    Likes Received:
    396
    [May 31, 2011]
    Yeah, while the hack route sounds far more fun, it's not something i'd consider. I ended up having a word with some others from the group, and have 'borrowed long term' a pc that I can use. It's one that hasn't been imaged with the crippling staff-desktop image, so all is good now. Just need to switch over a graphics card and i'm all good.

    The new image was so bad that every time i booted I had no internet history even, so working was a right pain!

    Anyway, thanks for all the suggestions. New computer FTW
    #9
  11. Ads
    Offline

    Ads License to drive

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2009
    Messages:
    8,222
    Likes Received:
    580
    [May 31, 2011]
    Log off, and log back on to the local machine (not the domain) using username 'administrator' and leave the password blank or try using 'password'. It's a long shot but you'd be surprised how many machines don't have strong local admin passwords.
    If you manage to get in... using control panel - user accounts, add your domain user account to the local admins group.
    Again, it's a looong shot but this has worked in various places I've worked due to clueless IT departments.

    But as mentioned above, if group policies are restricting you then you're stuck with what you've got.


    EDIT: Just read your last post, I was a bit late!
    Last edited: May 31, 2011
    #10
  12. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    117
    [Jun 3, 2011]
    LOL, that used to work a peach on the PCs on display at Dixons/Currys/etc. Either that or I used to boot to MS DOS from my flash disk and FORMAT C:.

    Ha ha ha ha, happy days. I used to do that around Gloucester whilst in between lectures.
    #11
  13. DaveA3
    Offline

    DaveA3 Audi A-Trizzle!

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,374
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Jun 3, 2011]
    sounds like ur a group policy if u are it aint happening mate. Ull need someone with enough admin to move ur account to a different OU group in AD or grant you local admin rights on ur machine. Even if they do grant local admin the policy may still overwrite or change it when u log on again.
    #12
  14. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    117
    [Jun 3, 2011]
    Well, there is a way, fire the machine up from a Linux OS CD and navigate to C:\Windows\System32\GroupPolicy (Hidden folder) and delete that folder, or it's contents.

    On boot, the Domain GPO will have gone and won't take affect again until you restart the system again. That should give you the ability to change resolution etc, as even as a normal user you are able to do such things.
    #13
  15. crazy88
    Offline

    crazy88 Loving the anonymity

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2009
    Messages:
    4,832
    Likes Received:
    396
    [Jun 3, 2011]
    Fear not people, my acquired machine is officially mine now so I have admin rights again, and am not on the staff-pc system that the old one was. It's a ridiculous system for some users. I always need to change some settings, com ports etc. Having to email it services to change a com port assignment is daft. I do think it's good for some users though, who rarely change anything and only want to play solitaire at lunch etc.
    #14
  16. DaveA3
    Offline

    DaveA3 Audi A-Trizzle!

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,374
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Jun 3, 2011]

    thats an interest idea for future reference. what linux OS cd are u talking? something like knoppix?
    #15
  17. Welly
    Offline

    Welly VX220 SC Driver :)

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2009
    Messages:
    10,699
    Likes Received:
    117
    [Jun 3, 2011]
    Yeah, Knoppix, LDE, WHAX, they all will do the job.
    #16

Share This Page