1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ISOFIX Brackets

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by samuelt, Jul 13, 2006.

  1. samuelt
    Offline

    samuelt Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 13, 2006]
    Hi All

    I am trying to locate ISOFIX brackets for the rear of my A4 saloon (just had 12 week scan! well the wife not me) as the car was not fitted with them from standard. I have though checked and the bolt holes are their for me to fit them.

    The main dealer wants £64 for the pair; does anyone know a better source or have a pair to sell?

    thank you
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 29, 2014]

  3. Garry
    Offline

    Garry New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2005
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 13, 2006]
    Are you sure?Im led to beleive all VW group vehicles,had them fitted as
    standard from 1997.
    #2
  4. Macduff
    Offline

    Macduff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2004
    Messages:
    742
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 13, 2006]
    Definitely an option on the A4 as I specified it on our '05 model.

    As for where to purchase. Have you tried www.gsfcarparts.com?
    #3
  5. mwarrey
    Offline

    mwarrey Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2003
    Messages:
    280
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 13, 2006]
    I think you will find they are main dealer only. You only need 1 bracket per seat. Personally I wouldn't take a chance with non genuine parts even if they were available for something as important as this.

    I have isofix in my b5 s4, but not in my 97 a4 (the mounting holes are not there. I have a britax isofix duo and that fits both cars very well, though given the choice I would go isofix if possible.
    #4
  6. samuelt
    Offline

    samuelt Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 14, 2006]
    I will return to the dealer and check, the £64 was for two brackets. I though that might have been for 1 side as thre are two bolt holes per side. Maybe he was selling me two so the seat could go on both sides of the rear bench.
    #5
  7. timwiti
    Offline

    timwiti New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jul 14, 2006]
    64 is for both sides - I paid 36 for one side from Audi (bar and 2 bolts)
    #6
  8. m.attard@btinternet.com
    Offline

    m.attard@btinternet.com New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 12, 2006]
    Does anyone know whether it is a simple job to fit these yourself?
    #7
  9. scoTTy
    Offline

    scoTTy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,962
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Aug 12, 2006]
    I fitted them on my B6 S4. Toughest job was pulling the seat base up as it was vert tight.

    Apart from that just make sure you've got the correct TORX drive in your socket/torque wrench and it's easy.
    #8
  10. m.attard@btinternet.com
    Offline

    m.attard@btinternet.com New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 13, 2006]
    Thanks for that Scotty. Are you saying that you don't need to remove the seat bench? Also I presume the bolts to fix em are a type of self tapper. According to my log book I should already have these fitted but I'm wondering if that is just the ISOFIX preparation holes. Cheers Mike
    #9
  11. samuelt
    Offline

    samuelt Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    383
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 13, 2006]
    hi

    the holes should be there it took me a while to spot them, take out the base of the seat then look upwords as if you are trying to see behind the seat back. the holes are about 30cm apart and may have tape over them. It should be very easy to fit although i am not sure of the torque you should be using.
    #10
  12. m.attard@btinternet.com
    Offline

    m.attard@btinternet.com New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2006
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 18, 2006]
    Thanks for that. For your info I've just been advised that torque should be set to 30Nm.
    #11

Share This Page