1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is this legit?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Shownofear, Jun 11, 2012.

  1. Shownofear

    Shownofear New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Sandra

    Sandra MODERATOR
    Staff Member Moderator TeamMisano Gold Supporter quattro Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2010
    Messages:
    19,677
    Likes Received:
    3,824
    Hi welcome to ASN, hope you enjoy the forum. :) x
     
  4. FranA3

    FranA3 events moderator
    Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,147
    Likes Received:
    250
    im sure that year of car should have the double din unit esp on a s-line bit strange that is
     
  5. a6_chris

    a6_chris Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2012
    Messages:
    1,884
    Likes Received:
    152
    Probably a car that hasn't been registered straight away
     
  6. Shownofear

    Shownofear New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeh me too....

    Yu think this is dodgy

    Were paperwork wise would it tell you precisely what model it is?
     
  7. AidenUK

    AidenUK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    43
    It's not dodgy, it's a concert II radio, my 56 plate SLine A3 has the same stereo in it.
     
  8. Shownofear

    Shownofear New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Aw ok thanks aiden :)...

    Says with mp3 facility, what does that mean?
     
  9. FranA3

    FranA3 events moderator
    Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,147
    Likes Received:
    250
    has it ah fair enough mate i thought they changed to the double din unit about that year
     
  10. BlueSpark

    BlueSpark 6th Gear

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    6
    Mines a special edition and it came with double din symphony II unit as standard. So like Fran said its a bit strange that on a s-line esp a special edition that put a standard single din unit in. Otherwise the car looks neat.

    Edit: Just read Aiden's response. In that case the car looks good.
     
  11. Shownofear

    Shownofear New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's what I was thinking 'bluespark'... Basic on a special edition does seem odd eh
     
  12. Shownofear

    Shownofear New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    It is easy to swap th radio for a more recent version?
     
  13. Dannykn9

    Dannykn9 "Cruise My Ride"
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1,123
    Likes Received:
    55
    Hi mate, defo not dodgy, I have worked on plenty A3 s-line's fitting cruise etc which have had the single din radio.
    Can be converted to a double din which will set you back around the the £250 mark, for parts and labour, then you can add the double din stereos or even RNS-e :)
     
  14. _G_

    _G_ Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    873
    Likes Received:
    34
    go there and find out... some traders... put up their trade signs during the day and by night it looks like a normal house/residence...

    so if you are near by... drive by night or eve... and see if this is the case...

    do your hpi checks/vosa checks and if in doubt speak to audi/previous owner of vehicle... if the car is legit and the seller has nothing to hide then they will welcome any amount of inspections by e.g. a dekra investigator. any sign of hesitation or if the classic speil of "buyer be ware" then run a mile...

    just treat it with caution.. when I brought my quattro the guy genuinely didn't know what he was selling i.e. had all the extras of sport spec but sold it at an "se price." On top of this the trader I brought it from specialised in mercedes and folk with trade their old cars in so he wasn't overly bothered about making a profit either... even this looked suspect to me as I know I saved £500 on the price but it was all genuine.

    and see if you can find any history on the dealer... any local reviews... or even speak to trading standards to check if they are genuine/if people have had any problems.

    Goodluck
     
  15. AidenUK

    AidenUK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,683
    Likes Received:
    43
    I think it all depends on what you spec at build time mate because i had an 05 plate 8P1 and that had a double din unit in it with built in 6 CD stacker.

    :icon_thumright:
     
  16. CornRattle

    CornRattle Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2012
    Messages:
    151
    Likes Received:
    7
    Used to have an '04 3.2 quattro sport that was double din
     
  17. crunchie

    crunchie Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    877
    Likes Received:
    68
    I had an 07 plate 2.0T S-line SpEd and it was single din.
     
  18. SAiLO

    SAiLO Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    1,007
    Likes Received:
    47
    Shouldn't the front leather seats be a newer version?
     
  19. crunchie

    crunchie Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 2, 2009
    Messages:
    877
    Likes Received:
    68
    Exactly the same inside as my 07 plate was. Although I did have a MFSW.
     
  20. Shownofear

    Shownofear New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 11, 2012
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for th replies...

    What is mp3 facility? Was hoping for an AUX input..

    Plat some point I'll deco upgrade..
     
  21. NHN

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat
    Site Sponsor Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    28,306
    Likes Received:
    1,457
    Wont get auxin of that radio without adding an external device via the cd changer port or need to do a DD conversion.
     

Share This Page