1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is this driver information system on an SE?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by S3 MRU, Aug 9, 2010.

  1. S3 MRU
    Offline

    S3 MRU Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Aug 9, 2010]
    [​IMG]

    Link coppied direct from advert...

    Did some SE models come with driver information system? any help would be great.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 16, 2014]

  3. scottie123
    Offline

    scottie123 (●̮̮̃•̃) (●&# VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 9, 2010]
    No, they dont come as standard on the se, unless the buyer requested it.
    #2
  4. S3 MRU
    Offline

    S3 MRU Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Aug 9, 2010]
    But this is the same screen though? How would i be able to tell if it was installed as an extra even if the buyer does not know themself?
    #3
  5. S3 MRU
    Offline

    S3 MRU Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Aug 9, 2010]
    Heres an image i found on a different se advert this looks different???
    [​IMG]
    #4
  6. NHN
    Online

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Aug 9, 2010]
    If the seller cant tell the difference then they're thick as 2 shits.

    Those 2 images clearly show the difference.
    #5
  7. S3 MRU
    Offline

    S3 MRU Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Aug 9, 2010]
    I dont know much about audis mate im looking to buy one i wanted a sport because of the dis but i seen a nice SE in very good condition. and this being the one in the first picture looks to me like thats the DIS? installed on an SE? so the only thing im missing is the sportier suspension and a bit of black trim?
    #6
  8. FranA3
    Offline

    FranA3 events moderator Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,145
    Likes Received:
    246
    [Aug 9, 2010]
    this is how the SE should look d.i.s is an option on the SE models standard on some models dependent on spec
    #7
  9. S3 MRU
    Offline

    S3 MRU Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Aug 9, 2010]
    [​IMG]

    This is what is on the car in question
    #8
  10. Lee_R
    Offline

    Lee_R Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Aug 9, 2010]
    yes its most likely an SE with DIS ticked on the options list.

    SE's come with walnut trim, sports have black so that will need changing unless your 50+?
    #9
  11. S3 MRU
    Offline

    S3 MRU Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2010
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    9
    [Aug 9, 2010]
    Would change it mate :) Lucky im a sprayer :p
    #10
  12. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,515
    Likes Received:
    569
    [Aug 9, 2010]
    Depends on the model year. I have a 2009 A3 Sportback SE with Light Grey upholstery and it has Umbra (a dark grey) inserts. Walnut was an optional extra.

    Earlier models had Vavona (orangie timber) trim with Walnut as an optional extra.
    #11
  13. andyj451
    Offline

    andyj451 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2010
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 9, 2010]
    My 07 Se has aluminium trim - if it had had walnut I don't think I'd have bought it!
    #12
  14. scottie123
    Offline

    scottie123 (●̮̮̃•̃) (●&# VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,972
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Aug 9, 2010]
    LMFAO!
    #13
  15. alistairm1
    Offline

    alistairm1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    29
    [Aug 10, 2010]
    From the Audi site configurator, the DIS is standard on the SE.
    I have it on mine which was delivered in May, and is the same as the one in the first picture (with the radio channel displayed).
    #14
  16. Lee_R
    Offline

    Lee_R Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2008
    Messages:
    2,499
    Likes Received:
    12
    [Aug 10, 2010]
    Thats probably because its a new one, Older ones didnt have it. Same with the trims aswell, Because there a are a number of a different options, its not suprising to find cars with what might seem an odd spec.
    #15
  17. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,515
    Likes Received:
    569
    [Aug 10, 2010]
    Thats true. DIS was an option on my 2007 A3 but standard on my 2009 A3. I always added it to my SEs as an option so you will find some SEs with it and some without depending on the choices made by the original owner. The same applies to quite a lot of the options.

    My dealer always gives me a good trade-in price for my A3s because he says they are very easy to sell because they have a number of good options that make the car more desirable.
    Last edited: Aug 10, 2010
    #16
  18. Vertigo1
    Offline

    Vertigo1 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2006
    Messages:
    2,726
    Likes Received:
    256
    [Aug 10, 2010]
    The DIS is also higher resolution in the 8P3 models I believe, although I really really wish they'd left the DIS and trip/clock displays in red rather than changing to white - looks much less classy.
    #17
  19. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Aug 10, 2010]
    They did change to white from 2009 on & added the digital speedo to non S3 clusters. I prefer the crisp look of the white TBH.
    #18
  20. FranA3
    Offline

    FranA3 events moderator Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2008
    Messages:
    7,145
    Likes Received:
    246
    [Aug 10, 2010]
    i prefer the white displays to look nice and modern not like my red prehistoric ones haha
    #19
  21. audicruiser
    Offline

    audicruiser Audi Heaven

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    1,863
    Likes Received:
    46
    [Aug 11, 2010]
    I prefer the Red as it matches the rest of the interior... I have a 2007 car and it has the digital speedo in the cluster...
    #20
  22. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Aug 11, 2010]
    Ah, sorry, thought it was only the S3 that had digital speedo.

    I've changed quite a few of my LED over to white too as as you say, looks better if they match.

    [​IMG]
    #21
  23. NHN
    Online

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,319
    Likes Received:
    1,229
    [Aug 12, 2010]
    Nah Digital Speedo arrived on 8P DIS clusters from 06/07 onwards Ew
    #22

Share This Page