1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is my S3 mapped?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by ADi Nuff Valves, Jun 20, 2012.

  1. ADi Nuff Valves
    Offline

    ADi Nuff Valves Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Jun 20, 2012]
    I think i've made up my mind who i'm going to get a map from for my S3. Before I spend a significant chunk of cash on it I would like to check that it's not already mapped. I've read something about using vagcom (which I have) to check the number of times the ECU has been flashed. In my old golf you could measure the air intake values from which the peak value (when ran through the rev range) should give you an indication of whether it's mapped or not. Will I be able to do the same on the Audi? Is there anything else I can log to check?

    Thanks.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 1, 2014]

  3. MartayMcFly
    Offline

    MartayMcFly Well-Known Member Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,667
    Likes Received:
    301
    [Jun 20, 2012]
    Surely checking the number of flashes would only prove it hasn't been mapped if 0, and prove absolutely nothing if anything higher? If Audi have reflashed the car for an update, or to get rid of a map, how would the number alone let you know? Get it on a rolling road, or get someone who knows what they're looking for to could log a set rev-run in VCDS and compare to stock values... check for revo stickers too - they're a dead giveaway!
    #2
  4. ADi Nuff Valves
    Offline

    ADi Nuff Valves Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2010
    Messages:
    256
    Likes Received:
    8
    [Jun 20, 2012]
    Yeah the number of flashes would be an indicator only. I've heard some remaps can reset that counter too so probably best to ignore it. I was thinking a 3 gear pull from low down in the revs to the readline whilst logging air intake, boost etc if possible. Just wondered if anyone knew what groups off hand. I guess I'll hunt through vagcom tonight.

    No Revo stickers in sight. I'm guessing it's not mapped already but don't want to fork out £400 to find my new map makes next to no difference.
    #3
  5. MrLapou
    Offline

    MrLapou Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,230
    Likes Received:
    117
    [Jun 20, 2012]
    Perhaps check the turbo boost pressures against stock un-chipped engine.
    #4
  6. sliced
    Offline

    sliced Drive safe, stay alive.

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2012
    Messages:
    1,261
    Likes Received:
    260
    [Jun 20, 2012]
    all good mapping companies would tell you if the cars been previously remapped
    #5
  7. Brodster
    Offline

    Brodster Shark Performance In Scotland Regional Rep Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2011
    Messages:
    3,447
    Likes Received:
    806
    [Jun 20, 2012]
    Think about what you've just said here and relay that back to the OP question. If he knew that info would he be asking the question....dont think so.

    Best bet ADi would be to get a stock S3 and drive both............surely there are afew around you. That way you would know for sure as the S3 Stage 1 compared to stock is very noticeable........well the Shark map is anyway and I know the Revo map is more aggressive than the Shark item so you should be able to tell.
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2012
    #6
  8. PaulAr
    Offline

    PaulAr S3 (8P)

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2008
    Messages:
    4,067
    Likes Received:
    180
    [Jun 20, 2012]
    A REVO dealer can check if it has a REVO map.

    Not definative but it at least it will eliminate REVO, at best it might pick the map up.

    In an ideal world it picks up a REVO map with all setting at `0` then Bingo, you have a £600 map FOC. (optimistic I know but...)

    Good luck
    #7
  9. Silky-S3
    Offline

    Silky-S3 Is loving his new 8V S3!

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2009
    Messages:
    1,398
    Likes Received:
    306
    [Jun 20, 2012]
    Borrow and plug in an Revo SPS switch, that will tell you if it has Revo software at least.
    #8
  10. JMZ
    Offline

    JMZ New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2012
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 6, 2012]
    what is the stock turbo boost pressure for an S3 8P?
    #9

Share This Page