1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is my RNS-E a retro fit?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Ben S3 8P3, Dec 11, 2012.

  1. Ben S3 8P3
    Offline

    Ben S3 8P3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Dec 11, 2012]
    Is there a simple way to tell if the RNS-E unit was a factory or retro fit? Because the AUX facility doesn't work and I don't have amazing radio reception.

    If it is retro-fit how do I get the AUX to work?

    Thanks, Sorry for being a complete Audi noob

    Ben
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 23, 2014]

  3. BlueSpark
    Offline

    BlueSpark 6th Gear

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Dec 11, 2012]
    If you have a RNSE and there is no sharkfin aerial on the roof then it is definitively a retrofit, as most people dont bother to put sharkfin as it involves drilling the roof. Another way is to pull out the unit and see if there is any adaptors converting the old connectors to rnse connector.
    #2
  4. A3Kent
    Offline

    A3Kent Different Gear

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    103
    [Dec 11, 2012]
    Have a look in your service manual or in the spare wheel location in the boot where you will find a sticker with lots of PR options codes codes on (3 characters).

    Then tap them all in to here- VW Group Option Codes Decoder

    Not sure which one RNS-e is though.
    #3
  5. Ben S3 8P3
    Offline

    Ben S3 8P3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Dec 11, 2012]
    I do not have the sharkfin on my roof. So thanks for very quickly solving that one for me.

    Is there a way to improve reception / sort my AUX issue. Everything else works fine eg, satnav, cd player etc
    #4
  6. Jameze
    Offline

    Jameze James

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Dec 11, 2012]
    The radio reception seems to suggest it might be - I believe the RNS-E uses a different antenna system to the other head units. Although the old one will work, sometimes it doesn't work great for people (bad reception etc). I've upgraded from a Symphony II+ to an RNS-E without bothering to upgrade the antenna (to save some money) and it's been fine for me. It's hit and miss with some people.

    One thing you could do is check your vehicle identification sticker (should be one in your boot and one in the front of your service book) and run the codes through this website...

    VW Group Option Codes Decoder

    That should tell you what your car came out of the factory with.
    #5
  7. A3Kent
    Offline

    A3Kent Different Gear

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    103
    [Dec 11, 2012]
    Sounds like you need a new radio antenna which is located in the boot lid, it's not cheap. What year is your A3?
    #6
  8. Jameze
    Offline

    Jameze James

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Dec 11, 2012]
    Too quick for me! :p
    #7
  9. Ben S3 8P3
    Offline

    Ben S3 8P3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2012
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Dec 11, 2012]
    Its a 59 plate.

    Oh well, im not too bothered about the radio, its not bad when the volume is low, but then a bit distorted when you turn it up.

    I just wanted to get to the bottom it. Is the AUX also expensive to sort?

    Thanks very much for everyone help and quick replies !
    #8
  10. A3Kent
    Offline

    A3Kent Different Gear

    Joined:
    May 16, 2012
    Messages:
    1,208
    Likes Received:
    103
    [Dec 11, 2012]
    Don't know too much about the AUX but this may help - rnseauxin - Audi Retrofit

    And also, as yours is a 59 plate it has the antenna in that's not as good as the older models unfortunately. Mines an 09 plate and chose to have mine changed when I had my RNS-E put in by Nigel.
    #9
  11. klik
    Offline

    klik Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    232
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Dec 11, 2012]
    Navigation code = 7Q2
    #10
  12. Lewbo
    Online

    Lewbo OEM Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    88
    [Dec 11, 2012]
    Auxiliary is only 3 wires and as its a retrofit they will still be in the quad lock connectors, so they need to be removed and you will need to buy a multimedia adapter from audi for like £3 and move them into there. You need to get a photo of a concert/symphony sticker on the top showing the connections and then look on your RNSE and see the positions were they need to go in on the new 32 pin multimedia plug. Connections will read LEFT, RIGHT and GROUND.
    #11
  13. PH1L
    Offline

    PH1L Gievf Buckets VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2010
    Messages:
    3,864
    Likes Received:
    39
    [Dec 11, 2012]
    my rns is not a retrofit and it does have **** reception
    #12
  14. DJ-S3
    Offline

    DJ-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2009
    Messages:
    691
    Likes Received:
    42
    [Dec 11, 2012]
    I have a shark fin in my S3 56Plate... But no RNSE... Does that mean it should have one?
    #13
  15. Lewbo
    Online

    Lewbo OEM Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2009
    Messages:
    1,182
    Likes Received:
    88
    [Dec 11, 2012]
    This will be for your Bluetooth/phone prep as its used for that as well as sat nav
    #14
  16. JS3
    Offline

    JS3 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2011
    Messages:
    218
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Dec 12, 2012]
    I heard the four vertical lines on the rear window (like the heater elements but up and down) are the radio antenna? Could be wrong though.
    #15

Share This Page