1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is my cam chain stretched?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by S3ben, Sep 5, 2013.

  1. S3ben
    Offline

    S3ben Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Sep 5, 2013]
    Hi the cam mark on the pulley is lined up with mark on head
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 17, 2014]

  3. LynxE
    Offline

    LynxE Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Sep 5, 2013]
    I'm pretty sure that the 8L doesn't have a cam chain
    #2
  4. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,898
    Likes Received:
    1,330
    [Sep 5, 2013]
    Yes it does... cam belt from crank to exhaust cam and cam to cam is a chain..

    <tuffty/>
    #3
  5. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,898
    Likes Received:
    1,330
    [Sep 5, 2013]
    Not sure what you are asking dude... pics are a little dark to see properly...

    Are you on about the timing marks on the cams etc?

    [​IMG]

    <tuffty/>
    #4
  6. superkarl
    Offline

    superkarl MAN OF STEEL

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7,614
    Likes Received:
    1,102
    [Sep 5, 2013]
    Looks to me like the exhaust cam is out. If the pulley is in time that would suggest the cam sprocket isnt pressed on right.
    A stretched chain will only get taken up by the tensioner, so no effects as long as its timed correctly.
    #5
  7. LynxE
    Offline

    LynxE Member

    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2013
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    14
    [Sep 5, 2013]
    Ah OK

    Well I'm a newbie at all this. I just thought some cars had a belt and some had a chain. Didn't realise that some can be mixed

    So does this chain need to be replaced like the belt does? I'm guessing all chains should (probably not always like in the S4) last the life of the car?
    #6
  8. S3ben
    Offline

    S3ben Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Sep 5, 2013]
    Hi sorry for vague description ill get some better pics up tomorrow. I've taken the car to have the cambelt done twice now and it always comes back a tooth out. So I got fed up with garages and had a go myself not the first cambelt I've done. But this one seems a pain. Lol I line all timing marks up cam and flywheel. But when I go to put belt on to crank sprocket I have a sprocket tooth inline with the cambelt tooth??? Just thinking cam chain stretch could be the answer. I'm stripping it down on sat so ill take pics and
    #7
  9. S3ben
    Offline

    S3ben Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Sep 5, 2013]
    Just want to have fun I my s3 and this is stopping it all😫😫😫
    #8
  10. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,898
    Likes Received:
    1,330
    [Sep 5, 2013]
    Its dead easy for it to be a tooth out... you have to double check before pulling the pin...

    At TDC the exhaust cam mark needs to line up as per my pic above...

    The chains are pretty resilient and generally don't stretch to the extent that they throw a correlation fault code...

    There is no need to touch the cam chain when doing a cam belt

    <tuffty/>
    #9
  11. S3ben
    Offline

    S3ben Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Sep 5, 2013]
    Thanks for the advice all taken on board. Is the exhaust cam notch suppose to be in line with the arrow? Or slightly to the right of it?
    #10
  12. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,898
    Likes Received:
    1,330
    [Sep 5, 2013]
    In line... the inlet cam will vary depending on how compressed the cam chain tensioner is...

    Have you removed the cam chain?

    <tuffty/>
    #11
  13. S3ben
    Offline

    S3ben Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Sep 5, 2013]
    No I haven't dont know if someone in the past has?
    #12
  14. S3ben
    Offline

    S3ben Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Sep 5, 2013]
    It dose have a pattern part (china made) can sensor could this be a problem as not the best quality part? Just a though
    #13
  15. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,898
    Likes Received:
    1,330
    [Sep 5, 2013]
    What fault codes you getting?

    <tuffty/>
    #14
  16. S3ben
    Offline

    S3ben Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Sep 5, 2013]
    When it's a tooth out towards intake mani I get incorrect correlation cam crank g40 g28. When a tooth out towards bulk head I get cam sensor short to ground. I also get epc light k132 malfunction. If I clear the epc it will stay off for 2-3 days?
    #15
  17. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,326
    Likes Received:
    694
    [Sep 5, 2013]
    short to ground is'nt liklely a position error tho is it?
    #16
  18. S3ben
    Offline

    S3ben Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Sep 5, 2013]
    I've checked voltage and ground on cam sensor ill pull ecu and check switch wire to ecu. It's just that its a tooth out but code changes when out either way. Is this possible??? Cam mark and flywheel marks don't line up
    #17
  19. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    15,898
    Likes Received:
    1,330
    [Sep 5, 2013]
    I'd check your cam to cam timing...

    E28F7700-F6B7-47B6-A3E2-78CF1CA71A5F-2422-000003B3FDAFE28A_zpsf4b58327.jpg

    I have seen the short to ground thing before and pretty sure its due to cam to cam timing being out...

    <tuffty/>
    #18
  20. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,326
    Likes Received:
    694
    [Sep 5, 2013]
    actually scratch what I said... tuffty/marks reminded me of a car we had in which had this very codem which made no sense relative to the cause, which was cam to cam timing being wrong.
    #19
  21. S3ben
    Offline

    S3ben Member

    Joined:
    Jul 21, 2013
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Sep 5, 2013]
    Thanks to you both ill strip it down tomorrow and check it out. Ill post pics if anyone could verify anything out of place. Once again thanks for all the help on this.
    #20
  22. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    729
    [Sep 5, 2013]
    Mine threw the short to ground code when the Cam Belt was out, but not a tooth about 6..:ohmy:
    #21

Share This Page