Is it worth paying £ more for the 2.0 Engine?

LaurenP

Reaction score
Hi! First, of all, I have no knowledge in cars but I am planning to buy a used AUDI A3 preferably 2016 reg. I have been driving a crappy Vauxhall for 7 years now and I think it's time to change.

Basically, I am deciding whether to get the 1.6 or the 2.0 engine. The 2.0 Engine is like £2-3K more expensive (correct me if I'm wrong I just did a quick google search and browsed around) Is it worth spending the extra cash for the 2.0? Can you feel the difference? Is it a big speed difference etc? My brain is telling me to get the 1.6 because it's cheaper but I don't know. Oh and I want an automatic A3 not manual if that makes any difference or not :)

Appreciate the help :D

Reactions: Audi Bairn
Definitely go with the 2.0.

I currently have a 1.8 manual TT and regret it. I need that 2.0 S Tronic in my life. Only had it a year but swapping it for an S3 already!

Reactions: Joe4842

I currently have a 1.8 manual TT and regret it. I need that 2.0 S Tronic in my life. Only had it a year but swapping it for an S3 already!
Oh I see :D
May I ask what is 'S tronic' 'PS S tronic'? Also how come some A3 the steering wheel is square underneath and some are full circle shaped? Is there something I should be knowing before I buy? I am browsing pretty much blind right now lol no idea what im looking at :D

S Tronic is just the auto gearbox. I'm not sure what PS S Tronic is lol.

I'm guessing the flat bottom is for the S Line trim and the round one is for Sport trim? Someone can probably confirm this.

S Tronic is just the auto gearbox. I'm not sure what PS S Tronic is lol.

I'm guessing the flat bottom is for the S Line trim and the round one is for Sport trim? Someone can probably confirm this.
Thank you. Also how come some S3 have the shark fins on top of the car? What is that? The 2 line thingy 0_0 (LOL I dont know what they are called but i call them shark fins)