1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is it worth getting an uprated fuel pump?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by NICK-C, Sep 8, 2011.

  1. NICK-C
    Offline

    NICK-C Nick

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    16
    Hi Guys,

    I have a remapped S3 and wonder is it worth getting an uprated fuel pump? I have heard that mid rev range an uprated fuel pump is much better? I thought these would be about £100 - £150 but after doing a quick search APR one is over £600!!! Am I looking at the correct thing? Where/who is best to get one from?


    Cheers.
    #1
  2. Cartéen
    Offline

    Cartéen New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think you already have a uprated fuel pump. I have heard from several people tha the facelift model (2009-) has a better pump.
    Can anyone confirm this?
    #2
  3. S3Alex
    Offline

    S3Alex Rarely neutral

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,629
    Likes Received:
    1,216
    For Stage2+,the uprated HPFP is still required,as far as any of the specs from Revo etc go.
    #3
  4. JamesS4cab
    Offline

    JamesS4cab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,137
    Likes Received:
    87
    I agree with Alex - but you can get the internals for about £290 and then about £50 to fit and £50 for the next "dose" of software!
    #4
  5. GNJ_Motorsport
    Offline

    GNJ_Motorsport Site Sponsor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    651
    Likes Received:
    178
    Were are people getting the uprated internals from? Just starting to look at options for stage 2+. Will be stage 2 in a couple of weeks.
    #5
  6. phil76
    Offline

    phil76 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    37
    If your going heavy on the map its worth it as any car running linear is when the damage gets done
    #6
  7. S3Alex
    Offline

    S3Alex Rarely neutral

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,629
    Likes Received:
    1,216
    Mine was the Autotech pump internals,supplied and fitted via AMD Essex.
    Some people get worried about internals only,but mine has given no problems at all over 30 000 miles,and as long as it's competently assembled in clean conditions,there is no reason why it should....be sure to change the cam follower regularly.
    #7
  8. Boydie
    Offline

    Boydie Boycie

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    2,827
    Likes Received:
    189
    The Autotech internals are around £360 brand new but some GB's bring them down to £300-310

    I paid full wack as I needed it pronto :( £360 from AMD and fitted it myself following the instructions provided.

    £60 to Revo to remap the car and job done!

    I have also purchased the RS4 fuel valve to eliminate top end flat spots which still has to be fitted to the car!
    #8
  9. Paullie
    Offline

    Paullie Banana Menace!

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    267
    #9
  10. NICK-C
    Offline

    NICK-C Nick

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    440
    Likes Received:
    16
    Hi Guys,

    Many thanks for the replies and it is probably not worth me getting then as I am only going stage one and I assume it won't make that much difference?


    Cheers,
    Nick
    #10
  11. W8 Performance
    Offline

    W8 Performance Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    929
    Likes Received:
    18
    I have go some Autotech HPFP internals for £320 Inc delivery via special delivery before 1pm.
    #11
  12. N8
    Offline

    N8 Kowalski Details

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,159
    Likes Received:
    686
    Answer is yes you will need them if you want more power!
    #12
  13. brough74
    Offline

    brough74 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    21
    You dont need one for stage 1
    #13
  14. S3Alex
    Offline

    S3Alex Rarely neutral

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    5,629
    Likes Received:
    1,216
    You won't need it for Stg 1 or Stg 2......it's only at Stg2+ that you will need the HPFP uprated.
    #14
  15. Paullie
    Offline

    Paullie Banana Menace!

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,088
    Likes Received:
    267
    You don't need an HPFP for S1 or S2 as the maps for those stages don't demand anything outwith the safe parameters of the standard fuel pump, but from what I've read an uprated HPFP will produce gains even on a standard car.

    For anyone looking to buy Autotech HPFP internals, I cannot recommend Robert_Waite highly enough, ..fab price, lovely fella to do business with and Next Day delivery! :wub: x
    #15
  16. akash_sky1
    Offline

    akash_sky1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    5
    Paullie's exactly right there. Both Statller and Star Performance have the said the same to me. I felt an improvement after having the pump uprated, especially in the mid-range torque, even before the new software was added.
    #16

Share This Page