1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is it worth getting an uprated fuel pump?

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by NICK-C, Sep 8, 2011.

  1. NICK-C

    NICK-C Nick

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    113
    Hi Guys,

    I have a remapped S3 and wonder is it worth getting an uprated fuel pump? I have heard that mid rev range an uprated fuel pump is much better? I thought these would be about £100 - £150 but after doing a quick search APR one is over £600!!! Am I looking at the correct thing? Where/who is best to get one from?


    Cheers.
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. Cartéen

    Cartéen New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2011
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    I think you already have a uprated fuel pump. I have heard from several people tha the facelift model (2009-) has a better pump.
    Can anyone confirm this?
     
  4. S3Alex

    S3Alex Rarely neutral
    Team Ibis Audi S3

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    9,091
    Likes Received:
    3,199
    For Stage2+,the uprated HPFP is still required,as far as any of the specs from Revo etc go.
     
  5. JamesS4cab

    JamesS4cab Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,165
    Likes Received:
    91
    I agree with Alex - but you can get the internals for about £290 and then about £50 to fit and £50 for the next "dose" of software!
     
  6. GNJ_Motorsport

    GNJ_Motorsport Site Sponsor
    Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2011
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    188
    Were are people getting the uprated internals from? Just starting to look at options for stage 2+. Will be stage 2 in a couple of weeks.
     
  7. phil76

    phil76 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2008
    Messages:
    572
    Likes Received:
    40
    If your going heavy on the map its worth it as any car running linear is when the damage gets done
     
  8. S3Alex

    S3Alex Rarely neutral
    Team Ibis Audi S3

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    9,091
    Likes Received:
    3,199
    Mine was the Autotech pump internals,supplied and fitted via AMD Essex.
    Some people get worried about internals only,but mine has given no problems at all over 30 000 miles,and as long as it's competently assembled in clean conditions,there is no reason why it should....be sure to change the cam follower regularly.
     
  9. Boydie

    Boydie Boycie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    3,024
    Likes Received:
    246
    The Autotech internals are around £360 brand new but some GB's bring them down to £300-310

    I paid full wack as I needed it pronto :( £360 from AMD and fitted it myself following the instructions provided.

    £60 to Revo to remap the car and job done!

    I have also purchased the RS4 fuel valve to eliminate top end flat spots which still has to be fitted to the car!
     
  10. Paullie

    Paullie Banana Menace!
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,083
    Likes Received:
    279
  11. NICK-C

    NICK-C Nick

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2009
    Messages:
    711
    Likes Received:
    113
    Hi Guys,

    Many thanks for the replies and it is probably not worth me getting then as I am only going stage one and I assume it won't make that much difference?


    Cheers,
    Nick
     
  12. Rob W8

    Rob W8 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Messages:
    953
    Likes Received:
    18
    I have go some Autotech HPFP internals for £320 Inc delivery via special delivery before 1pm.
     
  13. N8

    N8 Kowalski Details
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2007
    Messages:
    17,171
    Likes Received:
    709
    Answer is yes you will need them if you want more power!
     
  14. brough74

    brough74 Member

    Joined:
    Oct 4, 2010
    Messages:
    423
    Likes Received:
    21
    You dont need one for stage 1
     
  15. S3Alex

    S3Alex Rarely neutral
    Team Ibis Audi S3

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    9,091
    Likes Received:
    3,199
    You won't need it for Stg 1 or Stg 2......it's only at Stg2+ that you will need the HPFP uprated.
     
  16. Paullie

    Paullie Banana Menace!
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    2,083
    Likes Received:
    279
    You don't need an HPFP for S1 or S2 as the maps for those stages don't demand anything outwith the safe parameters of the standard fuel pump, but from what I've read an uprated HPFP will produce gains even on a standard car.

    For anyone looking to buy Autotech HPFP internals, I cannot recommend Robert_Waite highly enough, ..fab price, lovely fella to do business with and Next Day delivery! :wub: x
     
  17. akash_sky1

    akash_sky1 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2009
    Messages:
    1,191
    Likes Received:
    5
    Paullie's exactly right there. Both Statller and Star Performance have the said the same to me. I felt an improvement after having the pump uprated, especially in the mid-range torque, even before the new software was added.
     

Share This Page