1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Is it normal for a VCDS scan to take this long?

Discussion in 'VCDS (formerly VAG-COM) forum' started by AndyMac, Jul 3, 2010.

  1. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    Trying to finally sort out the ABS warning on my dash, more because it blanks out the DIS than any worry over it's functionality. I'm doing a scan at the moment and it is taking forever. Seems to be scanning all 256 addresses (00-FF) 4 times at 5 seconds a time so will take 85 minutes by my calculations. Sorry I am new to VCDS as you can probably tell.
    #1
  2. AudiS3-Turbo
    Offline

    AudiS3-Turbo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    12
    If you scan all the systems it can take a while but not that long,its quicker if you just scan the system affected,is it a gen kit?
    #2
  3. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    Genuine software, registered, but ebay cable. Used to work fine when VAGCOM, but now VAGCOM won't run as the licence has been transferred to VCDS.
    Can't find ABS controller, in fact it doesn't look like it can find anything apart from the immobiliser and HVAC. Useless piece of junk, why can't you just buy a simple tool that clears fault codes and resets service indicator?
    #3
  4. AudiS3-Turbo
    Offline

    AudiS3-Turbo Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    12
    the gen cable is has can communications which is very fast compared to my ebay one,this is probably your problem,the software is free the licence is built into the ross tech cable.

    Plus there is a new version of vcdc 10.something...
    #4
  5. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    Yeah I've already paid a fortune for the licence though, not going to pay again
    #5
  6. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,261
    Likes Received:
    1,223
    Its doing a full scan of all hex module codes to see what modules are installed on the car, just go into the specific module itself instead of a full scan which will take considerably less time.

    What car is this on, as older vehicles used KLine that is slower anyway, where as CAN cars have an instant report of faulting modules on an initial scan which you cancel on the 2nd module scanned, thus shows a list of modules in red with thrown codes, where as iirc KLine scans each module to obtain any thrown codes, alot slower.

    You maybe able to pay for an upgrade, that will take into account your license cost, so you only pay the difference so you have the most uptodate genuine cable & have full use of all the latest software current & going forward, give Bruce@ross-tech.com a shout if you want to ask about the options.
    #6
  7. bearthebruce
    Offline

    bearthebruce Ross-Tech, LLC

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2006
    Messages:
    332
    Likes Received:
    17
    Hey Nigel.

    The upgrade program for registered software license users can be found on our web site: Outright Upgrade This upgrade option gives full credit for the $99 license purchase, reducing the price of a complete and genuine unit by $100. (yeah, we're nice guys and give our returning customers a break!)

    AndyMac is pissed. I doubt he is likely to purchase anything from us. As a registered user, he is entitled to tech support and he could email support@Ross-Tech.com at any time to get assistance from our tech team. The fact that VCDS-Lite cannot find the ABS controller could mean that a module on the bus is tying up the buss - which is a likely cause of really long scans. The prudent user might go into [Options][Test] and see what VCDS reports as the status of the Klines. The pissed off user will likely blame VCDS-Lite for the problem that I bet even a full genuine interface would have on the car.

    Then there is always the possibility that AndyMac has a USB driver problem and needs to contact his wire supplier for a current USB driver for his low cost wire.

    These are the things tech support would suggest to AndyMac.
    #7
  8. Gti Jazz Blue
    Offline

    Gti Jazz Blue Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2007
    Messages:
    1,655
    Likes Received:
    6
    Andy,

    As you know I am reasonably local to you if you want to try a scan with a Ross-Tech VCDS cable and see if it works any better.

    Regards,

    Paul
    #8
  9. Sebastian
    Offline

    Sebastian Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    In addition we have seen that users of old versions often confuse the Auto-Scan with the Control Module Finder functionality. The first is what really does scan for codes and only scans the modules that it believes are installed in the car chosen by the user. The latter though will indeed run through all known addresses and as shown on the screenshot this can and will take a LONG time.

    http://www.ross-tech.com/vcds-lite/manual/finder.html

    As a side note, Nigel please do not send people directly to Bruce for tech support. Instead please use the addresses on our contact page. That way the message reaches the right people instead of piling up in Bruce's inbox. ;)
    #9
  10. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,261
    Likes Received:
    1,223
    Seb, think you misread as I didnt send him to Bruce for tech mate, as below shows it was a sales related query which is his ballgame, Bruce has kindly advised me I can pass his details to people who need some info on vcds.

    #10
  11. Sebastian
    Offline

    Sebastian Member

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2006
    Messages:
    286
    Likes Received:
    0
    The proper address for that would be Sales@Ross-Tech.com then, but I don't want to make a fuzz here. Thing is that each of us has enough on the plate so it helps us getting things sorted if you use the addresses designed for such inquiries unless told otherwise. Thanks for your understanding. :)
    #11
  12. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,261
    Likes Received:
    1,223
    Thats my point mate, I have been advised otherwise would be ok.
    #12

Share This Page