1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ipod With Standard Head Unit, Which Cable To Use? ( so many different ones! )

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by VTI_EG_DAN, Feb 15, 2009.

  1. VTI_EG_DAN
    Offline

    VTI_EG_DAN Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2008
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 15, 2009]
    Hey All,

    I have done a search but there doesnt seem to be any actual links to the cable or what ever I need.

    I havent got my s3 yet, but im just sorting the things out I want while im looking for one!

    so a few questions!

    does it matter what s3 headunit you have to wat cable you buy?

    iv looked on ebay for cables, but there are alot of different ones and all different prices,

    can any one suggest one to use? I dont want bluetooth or anything like that, just want to be able to use ipod without having to buy a different headunit!

    Cheers Dan
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 22, 2014]

  3. S3quatt
    Offline

    S3quatt Flat Oot like a ducks Foot

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2007
    Messages:
    612
    Likes Received:
    46
    [Feb 17, 2009]
    Denison icelink, thats the one i got.

    Not worth the extra expense of the cd retention cable though. I bought it & never use it...
    #2
  4. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,449
    Likes Received:
    1,535
    [Feb 18, 2009]
    I might have a Dension 100 kicking around, Its as new... I had it in my S3 for a couple of weeks then swapped my double din symphony for a single din setup and have an iPod compatible headunit. My brother was gonna have it but he is now selling his car and I don't think he wants it anymore.

    If you are interested, them PM me.

    <tuffty/>
    #3
  5. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Feb 18, 2009]
    ah chuf tufty, i wanted that one off you!!

    the denison icelink is different to the gateway 100, and to make matters more confusing the gateway 100 now has modified HU controls so you can play all your playlists.....

    I have the most recent gateway 100 and love it, although it wasnt cheap at approx £105 delivered from ipodcarkitsdirect
    #4
  6. Mr.G
    Offline

    Mr.G Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2008
    Messages:
    1,312
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 18, 2009]
    Does this allow me to use my IPOD with my Concert Head unit? Mine is the Tape player one with loads of buttons on it. If it does can i have first dibs please? Cash waiting!

    P.s - Will this also allow me to control some of the feature of the ipod using the buttons on the HU.? I have a brand new "slim" IPOD nano the latest one out!

    Many thanks

    G
    #5
  7. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Feb 18, 2009]
    Mr G it will work with the SYm 2 system which is double DIN.... this the one i have and i can confirm that it will work with this and you willl be able to use the buttons to control.... i have gateway 100 kit with new nano, apparently the only upgrade since the icelink other than functionality was to upgrade to IPOD touch....all other ipods work retrospectively
    #6
  8. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,449
    Likes Received:
    1,535
    [Feb 18, 2009]
    I know mate... My brother said he would have it and is now selling the car!!!

    @Mr G, PM'd you earlier with all the details, let me know what you want to do.

    <tuffty/>
    #7
  9. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Feb 18, 2009]
    no probs fella..... ;)
    #8
  10. V.I.P_UAE
    Offline

    V.I.P_UAE Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 18, 2009]
    Where does the cable go?? do you have to remove the unit and connect to the back? as there is nowhere to put a wire in the front!!
    #9
  11. V.I.P_UAE
    Offline

    V.I.P_UAE Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2009
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 18, 2009]
    is there anychance someone can post a pic up of what the cable looks like at each end??
    #10
  12. jcs356
    Offline

    jcs356 Brum brum

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,688
    Likes Received:
    39
    [Feb 18, 2009]
    Cable goes in the back of the stereo and in doing so, replaces the connection to the CD autochanger in the boot. It doesn't matter if the car doesn't have a changer in it - the cable will still be there.

    You just route the iPod cable through to a convenient place in the car. Some people put it in the glovebox, I've got mine in front of the gearstick in the cubbyhole.
    #11
  13. jcs356
    Offline

    jcs356 Brum brum

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    2,688
    Likes Received:
    39
    [Feb 18, 2009]
    There are also some 'generic' cables which will do the trick. Mine was £55 from eBay.
    #12
  14. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!! VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,978
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Feb 18, 2009]
    the iso connector goes into the back of the HU and connects to a module which you can mount behind the glovebox, the cable to the ipod comes out of the module eithr to a dash mounted mount or a loose cable in the glovebox (where i have mine mounted to a bracket on the drop down drawer)
    #13

Share This Page