1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ipod connection

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by kitsang, Apr 10, 2008.

  1. kitsang
    Offline

    kitsang New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 10, 2008]
    ive just invested in a ipod classic cause my car has the audi ipod connection fitted. After loading some songs on to the ipod and pluggin it in my car it dont seem to be doing anything. Am i doing something wrong or isn't my ipod compatible with the adapter?? :confused:
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 16, 2014]

  3. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 10, 2008]
    Put the headunit into CD mode and press buttons 1 to 6 to access the first 6 playlists on your ipod.

    HTH
    #2
  4. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 10, 2008]
    ipod classic is fine...as John said and you got the ipod cable or the dock in the glove box??
    #3
  5. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Apr 10, 2008]
    Good point, I forgot about the aux in plug next to the cigarette lighter. :ohmy:
    #4
  6. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 10, 2008]
    you still have to press cd though dont you, as you said for the aux??
    #5
  7. kitsang
    Offline

    kitsang New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 10, 2008]
    i have got the dock in the glovebox. do i have to make the playlist first b4 i plug it in to make it play? the ipod connects to the dock fine but nothing happens on the headunit?? any ideas??
    #6
  8. Amchlolor
    Offline

    Amchlolor Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2005
    Messages:
    5,604
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Apr 10, 2008]
    According to my colleague ( A3 / Ipod dock / nano ) he just presses CD on the HU.
    He doesn't even know how to make a playlist on his Nano!
    #7
  9. kitsang
    Offline

    kitsang New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2007
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 10, 2008]
    Good news just got it to work. Forgot to take some cd's out. "wot a dumbass" Thanks for all your help guys.
    #8
  10. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 10, 2008]
    oh, so it doesnt work on ipod if theres a cd in?? Interesting!
    #9
  11. PetrolDave
    Offline

    PetrolDave Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2003
    Messages:
    1,559
    Likes Received:
    82
    [Apr 11, 2008]
    IIRC if you press CD twice it switches from the CDs to the iPod (or external CD changer).
    #10
  12. L60N
    Online

    L60N Guest

    [Apr 11, 2008]
    It does. Mine has the SAT NAV cd in the front, If I found I couldn't use the sat nav whilst listening to the ipod there'd be HELL to pay ;)
    #11
  13. Kontraband
    Offline

    Kontraband Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2007
    Messages:
    1,995
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Apr 11, 2008]
    yeah. I thought it worked with a CD in as I seemed to remember seeing it cycle thru the option...


    Cheers.
    #12

Share This Page