1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ipod Car Kit

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by K-Dash, Feb 18, 2009.

  1. dkingy11
    Offline

    dkingy11 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    looks spot on mate! like you say its better than just track 1, 2 etc! looking forward to getting mine fitted now, hopefully on sat! im doing an ashtray install aswell, hopefully everything goes to plan. will post pics up on completion!

    just remembered getting spoiler fitted on sun aswell
    #41
  2. dkingy11
    Offline

    dkingy11 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    i think if you have a in-dash cd changer, it is not affected so no retention kit required. (only need one if you have an external changer) will have to get K-Dash to clear this up for us!

    Any pics of ipod mount K-Dash? good job mate!:salute:
    #42
  3. redbutcher
    Offline

    redbutcher Member

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2007
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    0
    Glad it worked K-dash - does look quite smart I have to say.
    #43
  4. K-Dash
    Offline

    K-Dash Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers fellas,

    to my surprise and delight my INTERNAL cd changer is still working.

    So all in all, a very succesful install.

    the one and only thing i don't like is that even when i'm using the radio or cd or tape it dispalys "aux gw".

    which is basically the code for auxillary input gateway. not the ipod bit but the aux in on the dension box.
    #44
  5. dkingy11
    Offline

    dkingy11 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    knew it would still work within dash cd changer!:sm4:

    Do you mean on the DIS (instead of cd track 1, tape etc?)

    Suppose as long as it does the job mate!

    Cant wait to do mine now, hope my wiring harness comes tomorrow:unsure:
    #45
  6. K-Dash
    Offline

    K-Dash Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    It does work. just have to press cd for cd and then cd again for ipod.

    yeah the dis is the only display that shows track info etc.

    the only difference with the hu display is it says cdc1 cdc2 cdc3 etc. rather than cd1 cd2.

    One thing i have noticed is with the quality of sound bettered because the cable i good, itunes own tracks are really crystal clear and the bass can really be felt.
    #46
  7. dkingy11
    Offline

    dkingy11 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Finally got mine fitted now!:yahoo:

    My DIS doesn't show track info but think its because im usingan ipod touch, might work with nano or something.

    Really pleased and looks great, will post some pics up!
    #47
  8. K-Dash
    Offline

    K-Dash Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2007
    Messages:
    155
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've put a number of different ipods in my car using my kit and they all display track info.

    so its definately a part no specific thing.
    #48
  9. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,488
    Likes Received:
    393
    #49
  10. Ash187
    Offline

    Ash187 Audi Retrofitter

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    6,488
    Likes Received:
    393
    here is a link for the unit alone... but im not sure of what connectors you will need!

    http://cgi.ebay.co.uk/ALPINE-IPOD-VIDEO-TOUCH-INTERFACE-KCE-425i_W0QQitemZ120394425170QQcmdZViewItemQQptZUK_Audio_TV_Electronics_In_Car_Entertainment_GPS_In_Car_Audio_Players_PP?hash=item120394425170&_trksid=p3286.c0.m14&_trkparms=72%3A1683|66%3A2|65%3A12|39%3A1|240%3A1318
    #50
  11. dkingy11
    Offline

    dkingy11 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Have you tried an ipod touch 2nd gen? i will have to get a hold o a nano or something and see what happens.
    #51
  12. dkingy11
    Offline

    dkingy11 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2008
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    0
    Here's a pic of my ipod ashtray (DIY job). pretty pleased with the outcome. Main thing is that it works!!!:music:

    Let me know what you think!
    [​IMG]
    #52
  13. audi_a3_chris
    Offline

    audi_a3_chris New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2009
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    just to crash this thread..... i have the symphony 2 with bose.. its the headunit with tape and the 6 disc changer built into the headunit.

    will the dension 100 fit ok and run an ipod touch gen 2 ok? does the 100 charge the touch?

    thanks for any replys
    chris
    #53
  14. MR BLACK
    Offline

    MR BLACK New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 12, 2009
    Messages:
    25
    Likes Received:
    0
    #54
  15. beanoir
    Offline

    beanoir Sharpest Tongue in the West

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,174
    Likes Received:
    19
    Does the Audi kit not show the tracks and playlist names on the headunit?

    I've just ordered a new S3 and specced the iPod kit thinking that it would show all the names etc...
    #55
  16. h5djr
    Offline

    h5djr Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2003
    Messages:
    7,457
    Likes Received:
    557
    I don't know what happens if the car has the Audi navigation system and screen but with the Concert III radio it only shows the Track Number on both the unit and in the DIS. You can select the first 5 playlists using the numbered CD buttons but that's all. Button 6 plays everything.
    #56
  17. beanoir
    Offline

    beanoir Sharpest Tongue in the West

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2007
    Messages:
    2,174
    Likes Received:
    19
    hmm...sounds like a bit of a rip-off to me in that case!
    #57

Share This Page