1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ipod Adapter for Symphony II Headunit

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by RobinA3, Dec 6, 2010.

  1. RobinA3
    Offline

    RobinA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    27
    [Dec 6, 2010]
    Chaps

    Does anyone know where i can get an Ipod adapter for my Symphony II (its the 6 disc changer one) headunit? There are loads on ebay but unsure which one will actually fit and work.

    A link would be great!
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 22, 2014]

  3. RobinA3
    Offline

    RobinA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    27
  4. circleswim
    Offline

    circleswim Lacks Car Funds...

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 7, 2010]
    I've got the dension gateway set me back about £100 but works well.
    #3
  5. roman3000
    Offline

    roman3000 Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2010
    Messages:
    330
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Dec 7, 2010]
    I also have a dension gateway, its really good and displays song on the DIS.
    #4
  6. BlueSpark
    Offline

    BlueSpark 6th Gear

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2010
    Messages:
    386
    Likes Received:
    6
    [Dec 7, 2010]
    I also got the Dension Gateway which displays track on the DIS. I would reccomend it as i've been using it for nearly a year now and works perfectly.
    #5
  7. Batt284
    Offline

    Batt284 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 7, 2010]
    Can you still play CD's if you instal the Dension or do you just lose the changer?
    #6
  8. circleswim
    Offline

    circleswim Lacks Car Funds...

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 7, 2010]
    You can still use the cd changer. Mine doesn't show track names, just gives me iPod ui:iPod ui on the dis or aux gw when using aux in on it.
    #7
  9. Jonay
    Offline

    Jonay Member

    Joined:
    May 31, 2010
    Messages:
    274
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 7, 2010]
    #8
  10. Wozski
    Offline

    Wozski Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 7, 2010]
    cicrleswim there is a trick you can do to display track names etc on the display:-
    put the unit into iPod GW mode using CD 6 and track 3 and holding down FF for 3 seconds
    #9
  11. paul_r
    Offline

    paul_r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 7, 2010]
    Can you tell me how this works on a practical level.

    The ipod is in the glove box, for example, and its permanently connected to the 6 cd changer via the Denison Gateway.

    1. You turn on the ignition, does the music start straight away, or do you have to get the ipod out and turn it on, select album, etc.
    2. Can you control the volume using the standard volume knob on the symphony. Normally if you press the volume knob in, it turns the music off. Does this feature work with the ipod.
    3. When you turn the ignition off, does the ipod stop.

    I have just bought a 6th generation nano (yes the very small one) and am looking into getting it installed into my 2005 A3 sport. I have a feeling you might get different results with different installations.
    #10
  12. RobinA3
    Offline

    RobinA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    27
    [Dec 7, 2010]
    So just to confirm the Dension works with the Sym II head unit (6 disc internal changer)?
    #11
  13. RobinA3
    Offline

    RobinA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    27
    [Dec 7, 2010]
    How do i know if my headunit is a Symphony II or Symphony II+?
    #12
  14. circleswim
    Offline

    circleswim Lacks Car Funds...

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 7, 2010]

    Woszki, just tried that "trick" but it didn't work for me. All I get is iPod ui as in pic of DIS below.

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]
    #13
  15. paul_r
    Offline

    paul_r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 7, 2010]
    Circleswim, thanks for the reply. Specificaly, if you have the ipod playing, turn it off using the volume knob, then later turn it on, will it restart at the same place you stopped it at.

    You have the Denison, do other makes operate differently.
    #14
  16. RobinA3
    Offline

    RobinA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    27
  17. circleswim
    Offline

    circleswim Lacks Car Funds...

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 7, 2010]
    paul_r

    yes, the volume button works exactly as it does when using the radio etc.

    Robin A3

    yes i do have the GW16AC2, i specifically requested it when i ordered as I wanted to have the track names shown as per this thread: http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/new-a3-s3-sportback-8p-chassis/67115-ipod-car-kit.html

    I have been using the kit for about 10 months now and love it apart from the fact it wont show my track names, ive come to the conclusion that as my car is one of the pre 2006 s-lines my DIS aint advanced enough to decipher the tracks names.... it may well be a load of rubbish but thats what it seems like to me!
    #16
  18. Wozski
    Offline

    Wozski Member

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2010
    Messages:
    479
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 8, 2010]
    i have the 32ac2 version i think - it works for me

    where abouts are living i could give you a hand if your local?
    #17
  19. circleswim
    Offline

    circleswim Lacks Car Funds...

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 8, 2010]
    I'm about 20-30mins from Cardiff.
    #18
  20. Batt284
    Offline

    Batt284 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2009
    Messages:
    98
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 8, 2010]
    I believe the II+ has a larger screen and no tape deck.
    #19
  21. RobinA3
    Offline

    RobinA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    27
    [Dec 11, 2010]
    I have just ordered a Dension GW16AC2 kit for mine.

    I have read that the stereo removal keys from ebay are ****, anyone got any genuine ones which they wouldn't mind lending me?
    #20
  22. circleswim
    Offline

    circleswim Lacks Car Funds...

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 11, 2010]
    The eBay keys may be cheap but shred your fingers to pieces because the edges are burred really bad and bend out of shape when trying to remove the headunit. I never actually managed to remove the headunit with the eBay keys. Order some of the genuine audi ones from your dealer, set me back £7 I think for the set of 4 keys. They did the job perfect first time! I have some you can borrow if your any where near south Wales...
    #21
  23. paul_r
    Offline

    paul_r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 11, 2010]
    1. Where did you order it from.
    2. Obviously, you are going to try to do it yourself. Let me know how it go's. (or even a photo diary, maybe thats pushing it a bit)

    Good luck anyway.
    #22
  24. circleswim
    Offline

    circleswim Lacks Car Funds...

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 11, 2010]
    It's an easy job, plug n play.
    #23
  25. RobinA3
    Offline

    RobinA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    27
    [Dec 11, 2010]
    I got mine from eBay for £130. Bloody expensive but cheapest place I could find it for. I will be fitting it myself. I'll do a guide for it when I come to do it.
    #24
  26. paul_r
    Offline

    paul_r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 12, 2010]
    Yes, they are blo0dy expensive.

    Looking on the Dension website there;s quite a few versions, text and non text, bluetooth, etc.
    #25
  27. paul_r
    Offline

    paul_r Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    172
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Dec 28, 2010]
    Have you fitted it yet?
    #26
  28. RobinA3
    Offline

    RobinA3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,785
    Likes Received:
    27

Share This Page