1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Iphone, AMI, Speed camera database

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Brett Butler, May 5, 2010.

  1. Brett Butler
    Offline

    Brett Butler Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    7
    [May 5, 2010]
    Had a thought

    Anyone with an Iphone and some sat nav software IE Tom tom, Co pilot, that has the Speed Camera Data bases. with AMI.

    Here is the Question, if you are playing mp3's on your iphone, connected to AMI, and listening to them on car MMI, can the Iphone run the sat nav software with speed camera database in the background, and when a speed camera alert goes off it makes the alert sound though the MMi system.

    Hope you are understanding what I am trying to get at.

    Not even sure Iphone will run the sat nav software while playing itunes?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 16, 2014]

  3. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 5, 2010]
    You can multitask with iPhone SW 4 due in the summer.
    #2
  4. Brett Butler
    Offline

    Brett Butler Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    7
    [May 5, 2010]
    hmm ok thanks,dam shame thought I might have cracked the famous no speed camera data base issues :(
    #3
  5. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 5, 2010]
    Give it a try, fire up some tunes and try to run say the maps application. Does it work?
    #4
  6. Brett Butler
    Offline

    Brett Butler Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    7
    [May 5, 2010]
    Heh, I would have, but I don't have tom tom or Co pilot on iphone, it is on my windows phone, hmm wonder if there is a lead to add that to the AMI? hence why I was hoping somoene else could try it for me, if it did work I would have gone out and bought the app for iphone
    #5
  7. circleswim
    Offline

    circleswim Lacks Car Funds...

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 5, 2010]
    Actually you can run the iPod app in the background on OS3. If you fire up the iPod app and put your playlist on then press the home button it will continue to play, then fire up tomtom app and bobs your uncle, if you want to go back to the iPod app just double click the home button and your iPod controls show up...
    #6
  8. Brett Butler
    Offline

    Brett Butler Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    7
    [May 5, 2010]
    hmm, nice one, getting closer, just need somone with iphone, AMI and a sat nav prog with camera data base to test my theory :)
    #7
  9. jungleman
    Offline

    jungleman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    42
    [May 5, 2010]
    u shpuld be able to run music in the background
    another program u can use is cams ahoy... its only like 59p and fantastic for pulling up cams and gets monthly updates
    #8
  10. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 5, 2010]
    Can you wait till June when my car arrives?
    #9
  11. circleswim
    Offline

    circleswim Lacks Car Funds...

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 5, 2010]
    Well I have an iPhone, dension gateway 100 and tomtom on my iPhone... I'll try it for you on my way home.
    #10
  12. circleswim
    Offline

    circleswim Lacks Car Funds...

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2009
    Messages:
    198
    Likes Received:
    0
    [May 5, 2010]
    What does AMI stand for?
    #11
  13. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [May 5, 2010]
    Audi Music Interface - it actually displays track info on the RNSe, but you need a 2010 RNSe for it to work.
    #12
  14. JohnS3
    Offline

    JohnS3 Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,028
    Likes Received:
    1
  15. alistairm1
    Offline

    alistairm1 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2010
    Messages:
    91
    Likes Received:
    29
    [May 5, 2010]
    #14
  16. jungleman
    Offline

    jungleman Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2010
    Messages:
    2,051
    Likes Received:
    42
    [May 5, 2010]
    ooo handnt seen that one... will give it a go as well haha :icon_thumright:
    #15
  17. Brett Butler
    Offline

    Brett Butler Member

    Joined:
    Feb 3, 2010
    Messages:
    621
    Likes Received:
    7
    [May 5, 2010]
    pocket gps used to allow the data base for free once upon a time pretty sure they charge for it now, though not sure how much it is or the app

    Thanks just checked the app pocket GPS, a steal at .59p, can try myself when I get 5 mins
    Last edited: May 5, 2010
    #16

Share This Page