1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IOS 5- Can it be jail broken?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema, Hi-Fi and Gadgets' started by AidenUK, Nov 2, 2011.

  1. AidenUK
    Offline

    AidenUK Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    3
    If so, how?

    Thanks :salute:
    #1
  2. jb0o
    Offline

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator Regional Rep Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,615
    Likes Received:
    4
    Did mine last week mate.

    Its only the tethered version mind, which means that if you need to reboot the phone up for whatever reason such as you've lost charge, turning it on in the morning or its freezing up etc then it needs to be booted up whilst plugged into a computer and running some software. I thought it would be annoying but since I never turn my phone off the only reason I've needed to boot it up is when I've lost charge.

    Its jailbroken using the software 'redsn0w', see here: Download (Direct links), Jailbreak Guides, And Mac OS X - Redsn0w, Redsnow Jailbreak 4.3.5 Untethered - 4.3.3 - 4.3.4 - 5.1 iOS - iPad 2, 1 - Unlock iPhone
    #2
  3. AidenUK
    Offline

    AidenUK Active Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,647
    Likes Received:
    3
    Was looking last night mate, i think i'll wait till it's just a case of going onto 'jailbreakme' on the ipod phone itself.

    Thanks for the reply.

    :salute:
    #3
  4. ash1809
    Offline

    ash1809 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    does it affect the gps?
    #4
  5. Arrkon
    Offline

    Arrkon Midlands regional Moderator Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,692
    Likes Received:
    3
    no, im running redsn0w JB on my 3gs ios5

    Though if you don't preserve your current baseband before you update to ios5 and jailbreak. The only way you can unlock is "officially" through the carrier, or use the iPad baseband, but this WILL kill your gps functionality...
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2011
    #5

Share This Page