1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IOS 5- Can it be jail broken?

Discussion in 'Home Cinema, Hi-Fi and Gadgets' started by AidenUK, Nov 2, 2011.

  1. AidenUK

    AidenUK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    43
    If so, how?

    Thanks :salute:
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. jb0o

    jb0o North East Forum Moderator
    Site Sponsor Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2009
    Messages:
    2,648
    Likes Received:
    110
    Did mine last week mate.

    Its only the tethered version mind, which means that if you need to reboot the phone up for whatever reason such as you've lost charge, turning it on in the morning or its freezing up etc then it needs to be booted up whilst plugged into a computer and running some software. I thought it would be annoying but since I never turn my phone off the only reason I've needed to boot it up is when I've lost charge.

    Its jailbroken using the software 'redsn0w', see here: Download (Direct links), Jailbreak Guides, And Mac OS X - Redsn0w, Redsnow Jailbreak 4.3.5 Untethered - 4.3.3 - 4.3.4 - 5.1 iOS - iPad 2, 1 - Unlock iPhone
     
  4. AidenUK

    AidenUK Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2009
    Messages:
    1,682
    Likes Received:
    43
    Was looking last night mate, i think i'll wait till it's just a case of going onto 'jailbreakme' on the ipod phone itself.

    Thanks for the reply.

    :salute:
     
  5. ash1809

    ash1809 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 30, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    does it affect the gps?
     
  6. AR-rkon

    AR-rkon AllROOOOOOOOOAD!!!
    Staff Member Moderator Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,828
    Likes Received:
    125
    no, im running redsn0w JB on my 3gs ios5

    Though if you don't preserve your current baseband before you update to ios5 and jailbreak. The only way you can unlock is "officially" through the carrier, or use the iPad baseband, but this WILL kill your gps functionality...
     
    #5 AR-rkon, Nov 24, 2011
    Last edited: Nov 24, 2011

Share This Page