1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Intermittent temp gauge.

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Iceash, Dec 20, 2013.

  1. Iceash
    Offline

    Iceash Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Dec 20, 2013]
    Hi all,

    had the stat changed as I was getting odd temp readings. As it climbed it would fall suddenly, then climb higher then fall again. It would eventually get to 90 then maybe now n then drop to say 70, hold then climb back to 90. The 49c would mirror this also on climate con. Could this be the cts? Or something else?

    thanks,

    Ash
    #1
  2. myth
    Offline

    myth Member

    Joined:
    Dec 15, 2012
    Messages:
    141
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Dec 20, 2013]
    Definitely the CTS. If you have a vag com, surely it will throw a code.
    #2
  3. Iceash
    Offline

    Iceash Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Dec 20, 2013]
    Don't have access to vag com. Can't be anything else then?

    Is it something Audi keep on the shelf?
    #3
  4. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,469
    Likes Received:
    138
    [Dec 20, 2013]
    Mine did this a while back when i fitted a new temp sensor and thermostat !! I would be driving on motorway and it would drop to 70' then slowly creep back to 90' left it alone to see how it got on and its never done it since !! Both were genuine audi parts !!
    #4
  5. Iceash
    Offline

    Iceash Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Dec 20, 2013]
    Been doing it for weeks now, new stat fitted today. Fitted the higher temp one though. Engine and oil nice n toasty.
    #5
  6. B5 BIKER
    Offline

    B5 BIKER Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Dec 20, 2013]
    Definitely the cts mate
    #6
    Iceash likes this.
  7. Iceash
    Offline

    Iceash Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Dec 20, 2013]
    Audi likely to carry one on the shelf?
    #7
  8. B5 BIKER
    Offline

    B5 BIKER Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Dec 20, 2013]
    Ya they get changed that often they normally would
    2 different versions though. 2 pin or 4 pin
    #8
  9. Iceash
    Offline

    Iceash Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Dec 20, 2013]
    Has 4 wires coming out of it so assume 4 pin. So other than feeding temp to dash gauge. What's its purpose?
    #9
  10. desertstorm
    Online

    desertstorm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    2,061
    Likes Received:
    638
    [Dec 20, 2013]
    #10
    Iceash likes this.
  11. Iceash
    Offline

    Iceash Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Dec 20, 2013]
    Funnily enough, I went through 3 in 5 years on my 6n polo!
    #11
  12. Bradderz_1988
    Offline

    Bradderz_1988 Dont replace it, Upgrade it !!

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    3,469
    Likes Received:
    138
    [Dec 20, 2013]
    That one is the newer style 'D' shaped two pin sensor you need the old square style 4 pin one thats green they are what audi supplys and have superseded from the old blue square 4 pin sensor !!

    But double check as some late TQS's have the 'D' shaped green one !!
    #12
  13. desertstorm
    Online

    desertstorm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2013
    Messages:
    2,061
    Likes Received:
    638
    [Dec 21, 2013]
    They have 4 wires because there are two seperate temperature sensors in there. One supplies the ECU the other the dash for the temperature reading. One or both can be intermittent. Quite often you only notice because the temperature gauge starts going like a windscreen wiper.
    #13
  14. Iceash
    Offline

    Iceash Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Dec 21, 2013]
    I had a D shaped one, changed surprise surprise. All works lol :-D
    #14
  15. B5 BIKER
    Offline

    B5 BIKER Member

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    251
    Likes Received:
    16
    [Dec 21, 2013]
    Good stuff, I had to change mine on my old A4, even my A6 now needed one also so it must be fairly common.
    Both sides were shot, needle used to jump around and the ecu sensor also it used to make the engine run uneven and bring on the esp light
    #15
  16. Iceash
    Offline

    Iceash Member

    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2012
    Messages:
    391
    Likes Received:
    10
    [Dec 21, 2013]
    Thankfully she behaved other than using a little more fuel. However when the one on the Polo failed it kept reving which was scary when trying to engine brake lol
    #16

Share This Page