1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Intake Flow Rates

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by mjr901, Aug 4, 2013.

  1. mjr901

    mjr901 Parts Manager - (Main Dealer)
    Audi Main Dealer Gold Supporter Audi S3

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    3,147
    Likes Received:
    702
    I've had a bit of a butchers and found some flow rates on the SEAT forums with various intakes.

    intake Flow rate survey!! - SEAT Cupra.net - SEAT Forum



    I did some logs this evening and my MTC intake is pulling 267g/s @ 16 degrees outdoor temp.

    So judging by some cars on the Seat forum using an ITG(closest variant to the MTC) and them being a stage ahead, they have lower g/s readings.

    So im pretty pleased with this intake!


    Anyone have any recent readings for their intake whether it be ITG, AMD, Revo etc? I'm particularly interested in the latter 2.

    Standard air box readings would be nice too!

    Would be nice to get a bunch of readings from all sorts of intakes and stick them in a chart of some sort.

    Get logging! :)
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. RedDejavu

    RedDejavu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    294
    Will do some tests later on then:p
     
    mjr901 likes this.
  4. mjr901

    mjr901 Parts Manager - (Main Dealer)
    Audi Main Dealer Gold Supporter Audi S3

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    3,147
    Likes Received:
    702
    When you have the reading you can get a rough idea of what your running BHP wise by dividing by 0.8.

    Although I don't know how true that is.
     
    #3 mjr901, Aug 4, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2013
  5. H17YD L

    H17YD L Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    38
    Its supposed to be quite accurate on the TFSI engines, and going by yours 333bhp and you've had it dyno'd at 340bhp (presume with the neuspeed) that aint a million miles away?
     
  6. mjr901

    mjr901 Parts Manager - (Main Dealer)
    Audi Main Dealer Gold Supporter Audi S3

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    3,147
    Likes Received:
    702
    Yeah that was Neuspeed, dyno'd at 337bhp, but now with the better intake, my max power according to the Dashcommand set up I'm showing 344bhp.

    So it would seem roughly accurate.
     
  7. batch

    batch Active Member
    Team Glacier quattro Audi S3

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    217
    Anyone around South London/Kent that would be able to run this on mine? No CAI yet but looking for either a cheap used one or going AmD next month!
     
  8. RedDejavu

    RedDejavu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    294
    I did some tests but when i open it in excel all of the data log is in mess. How do I make in colums if I may ask?:faint:
     
  9. mjr901

    mjr901 Parts Manager - (Main Dealer)
    Audi Main Dealer Gold Supporter Audi S3

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    3,147
    Likes Received:
    702
    As in complete gobbledegook? Like it doesnt recognise what your trying to open, so sticks it all in wingdings?

    what file extension has the file got?
     
  10. RedDejavu

    RedDejavu Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2011
    Messages:
    1,718
    Likes Received:
    294
    Yes typical log file extension csv but I managed to import it using Data tab > import text etc and it worked. My Intake makes 254g/s, need to make some more logging and tbh I could have got a leak somewhere

    Here is my log

    log.jpg
     
    #9 RedDejavu, Aug 4, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 4, 2013
  11. Boydie

    Boydie Boycie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    3,007
    Likes Received:
    246
    When I last logged my ITG vs Revo there was a difference of 9g/s in Revo's favour


    The ITG at the time produced 248g/s
    The Revo produced 257g/s on a run just after

    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/a3-s3-sportback-8p-chassis/75764-my-new-s-blue-s3-10.html

    I still need to get a dyno run though with the Revo intake. Revo throttle pipe and Revo FMIC and see because at that time of test, if you times the g/s by 1.275, my car is only producing 328bhp for a Revo Stage 2+ car using 97ron BP Ultimate fuel.
     
  12. S3Alex

    S3Alex Rarely neutral
    Team Ibis Audi S3

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2008
    Messages:
    8,164
    Likes Received:
    2,702
    Of course this is also dependent on the turbo and boost levels being used.

    I also use the ITG and run 2bar at around 500bhp on this system.
     
  13. voorhees

    voorhees Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Team Brill Red Black Edition

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    15,752
    Likes Received:
    1,600
    It should be more like 360 plus,so something is not quite right
     
  14. mjr901

    mjr901 Parts Manager - (Main Dealer)
    Audi Main Dealer Gold Supporter Audi S3

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2011
    Messages:
    3,147
    Likes Received:
    702
    I went out again logging last night, I must have a leak somewhere. Will only log 234g/s now!

    I do have about 9 million jubilees to check....
     
    #13 mjr901, Aug 5, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 5, 2013
  15. Boydie

    Boydie Boycie
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2006
    Messages:
    3,007
    Likes Received:
    246
    Yeah but remember in Northern Ireland we do not have 99ron fuel which the majority of BHP results are based on.

    The car did make 348bhp though on a dyno with the ITG filter so I am hoping with the new mods I can break into the 350-360 bracket.
     
  16. voorhees

    voorhees Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Team Brill Red Black Edition

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    15,752
    Likes Received:
    1,600
    Oh right,didn't know that
     
    Boydie likes this.
  17. H17YD L

    H17YD L Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    38
    Done a bit of logging with my neuspeed p-flo managed 265g/s @ 19 degrees temp.
    Was considering swapping the intake but might keep it now seems to be doing well.
     
    #16 H17YD L, Aug 19, 2013
    Last edited: Aug 19, 2013
  18. S.

    S. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,586
    Likes Received:
    292
    stage 2 or 2+? also which remap? revo? apr? shark?
     
  19. H17YD L

    H17YD L Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    38
    That's a 2+ map and none of the above. It's R-Tech.
    Need an intercooler sorting and he can turn things up a little more. It made 337bhp 360lb/ft and I did want to break the 360bhp figure so once I have the cooler sorted its back in lol
     
  20. S.

    S. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,586
    Likes Received:
    292
    just went out and did some torque app logs. few months ago i got 272g/s, now i'm getting on 18°C 262g/s (one clip on the intake was loose, but doubt it does make any difference). also logged power figures for the weight of the car + me + 1/4 tank and got 215kw @ the wheels, and 289hp @ the wheels. would love if these figures were accurate :eyebrows:
     
  21. H17YD L

    H17YD L Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    38
    What map are u running?
    If you times your air flow g/s by 1.275 it was exactly spot on hp wise from my dyno run.
     
  22. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  23. S.

    S. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,586
    Likes Received:
    292
    i'm running stage2+ revo map.
     
  24. XFi

    XFi Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2010
    Messages:
    443
    Likes Received:
    38
    For those logging do you all have the full version of VCDS? I know logging can be done in lite but my cable that worked with the 8LL doesn't work with the 8P.
     
  25. H17YD L

    H17YD L Active Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2012
    Messages:
    288
    Likes Received:
    38
    I have the full version so don't know if it can be done in lite.
    Have you got a HEX-USB CAN cable?
    That's the one I'm using, u an use either that cable or a micro-CAN for the 8P
     
  26. S.

    S. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,586
    Likes Received:
    292
    i'm using torque app on android with obd2 bluetooth module.
     
  27. batch

    batch Active Member
    Team Glacier quattro Audi S3

    Joined:
    Jul 24, 2011
    Messages:
    721
    Likes Received:
    217
    Definitely need someone in South London/Kent to take a look at mine with this now, fitted a P-Flo...!
     

Share This Page