1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Insurance title for s3

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by Avantsline, May 13, 2013.

  1. Avantsline
    Offline

    Avantsline Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    42
    Evening all,

    I just insured my S3 ready for collection on wednesday and I am wondering why it's classed as AUDI S3 S LINE BLACK EDIT TFSI 2.0 L?

    Since when has it been an sline?!

    I'm guessing it's all above board as it clearly says S3?

    Some companies were classing the reg mark as an A3 black edition S line!

    fingers crossed all is well!
    #1
  2. Bullys3
    Offline

    Bullys3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2013
    Messages:
    191
    Likes Received:
    20
    Same as mine it says S line too
    #2
  3. gazzer_s3
    Offline

    gazzer_s3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    3
    I have done several quotes on different sites & as long as your reg is correct there shouldn't be a problem, had both descriptions come up but price is best thing for me as cheapest is coming out at £190!! Happy days
    #3
  4. Avantsline
    Offline

    Avantsline Member

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2012
    Messages:
    142
    Likes Received:
    42
    Good to hear chaps :)

    Gazzer_s3 mine is just under 4 times that!! Includes the mrs though only had her licence 8 months might regret that in a few weeks once the alloys have been kerbed!
    #4
  5. s3 th
    Offline

    s3 th Member

    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2012
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    1
    I had this problem when insuring my s3 through comparison sites. Rang to clarify details and pay and turns out it was wrong and they manually selected s3 at their end abd the premium went up. chose greenlight in the end. Mod friendly and seems a good independent broker
    #5
  6. davc
    Offline

    davc Foursprung Duck Technik

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    35
    Yep mine was the same. I called my insurer at the time just to double check and they said it was correct.

    Gazzer must be an old git like me, I paid £230:arco:
    #6
  7. Cruiser89
    Offline

    Cruiser89 Advanced In Car Tech Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,435
    Likes Received:
    197
    Be careful with this fellas...

    I'm sure a member on here was in this exact same situation and went for the cheapest one. He had an accident or something like that and found he wasn't covered as the description was incorrect. The insurance company basically said it was his responsibility to make sure all the details were 100% correct and failure to do so invalidated his insurance. You can't just blame the computer, even though it was the computer in the first place.

    Best to give them a quick call and explain the situation. Would be a massive ball ache to find out after an accident or theft that you weren't covered from not checking something.
    #7
    wuta3 likes this.
  8. gazzer_s3
    Offline

    gazzer_s3 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2013
    Messages:
    62
    Likes Received:
    3
    Yep! 47 with max ncb! :sly:
    #8
  9. I oOEddOo I
    Offline

    I oOEddOo I Member

    Joined:
    Mar 21, 2010
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    11
    #9
  10. davc
    Offline

    davc Foursprung Duck Technik

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2013
    Messages:
    221
    Likes Received:
    35
    Ha! Not long turned 40 myself but I feel like I'm still 20 :rock:
    #10
  11. Wicked666
    Offline

    Wicked666 Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 27, 2005
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    32
    Mine came up a3 and had to call and manually change to s3. Premium went up as expected but at least I'm insured.
    #11
  12. PaulRS3
    Offline

    PaulRS3 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2003
    Messages:
    1,014
    Likes Received:
    28
    Its a common issue. I had similar queries with my insurer. Several of their systems returned the same result. They too said I was covered as long as reg was correct.

    I argued I was insuring a higher value S3 model, not the lower spec A3 S-line
    So wanted to make sure my documentation and insurance quote reflected an S3

    In the end they corrected it on my cover note.

    If your pulled by the police, in an S3 you don't want your insurance saying its an A3, it's a potential hassle I didn't want.
    #12

Share This Page