1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Insurance - again.

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by robthehungrymonkey, Feb 15, 2005.

  1. robthehungrymonkey
    Offline

    robthehungrymonkey Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 15, 2005]
    I have just recieved my renewal notice through from Admiral, £940 for 10 months (although, that includes Business class 1 which adds about £150). I was quickly on the net and first went to Elephant,..... .....£670. Not bad....

    I was wondering if people can just list companies they reccomend, so I can get quotes from them.

    Thanks /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ok.gif

    I am just off to ask Norwich union to quote me happy.....
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 19, 2014]

  3. shorty
    Offline

    shorty New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 20, 2004
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 15, 2005]
    Privelige.. havent done me wrong in 4years.. always beaten a quote if i've challenged them too!! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif
    #2
  4. marctwo
    Offline

    marctwo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    410
    Likes Received:
    0
  5. IanL-S3
    Offline

    IanL-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    923
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 15, 2005]
    try sister of elephant - belldirect. i moved from elephant to them this year after 5 years with elephant.
    also another tip is add your mum to policy!! Brought mine down by 100quid. she lives in london and cant drive a manual anymore due to bad knees. go figure!
    #4
  6. robthehungrymonkey
    Offline

    robthehungrymonkey Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 15, 2005]
    Already have my mum on mine! Being 22 it saves me a fortune!
    #5
  7. robthehungrymonkey
    Offline

    robthehungrymonkey Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 15, 2005]
    What I've found so far (if anyone's interested)

    Admiral renewal quote: - £940
    Admiral new policy quote (via confused) £840
    Bell Direct - £989
    Privilige - £1080

    And the current leader (by quite a way) Elephant - £670.

    Don't quite understand how Elephant, Admiral and Bell direct can vary so much!
    #6
  8. jojo
    Online

    jojo Looking for Boost! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,700
    Likes Received:
    2,009
    [Feb 15, 2005]
    I find internet insurance companies are generally better at quoting for standard cars, as the prices are fixed from a database with no middle men. Try also www.directline.com which were very competitive for my S3, but that was 3 years ago. Always phone up for a quote if the car is modified in anyway, it's easier and more accurate.
    #7
  9. dickys3
    Offline

    dickys3 Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,955
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 15, 2005]
    Try tesco's as well. And Adrian Flux.

    Cheers
    Rich.
    #8
  10. jojo
    Online

    jojo Looking for Boost! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    26,700
    Likes Received:
    2,009
    [Feb 15, 2005]
    Forgot to mention that I'm currently with Adrian Flux paying £830 with all mod declared, 27 max no claims discount.
    #9
  11. imported_gek
    Online

    imported_gek Guest

    [Feb 15, 2005]
    Another vote for Adrian Flux.
    £350 fully comp with 11 years no claims on a standard S3.
    #10
  12. paul_brad
    Offline

    paul_brad Member

    Joined:
    Apr 1, 2004
    Messages:
    365
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 15, 2005]
    No one's mentioned them, but Im currently with First "Michael Winner" Alternative. I was with Tesco for a good few years, who always seemed to be about £10 cheaper than DirectLine. First Alternative were a fair bit cheaper than Tesco, I was surprised to see. I honestly cant remember what I paid, but it was £400 odd quid for 1.8T with 9years NCB (27 years old) That was probably protected too....
    #11
  13. Masterm8fo
    Offline

    Masterm8fo Warmonger

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 15, 2005]
    Admiral 0800 600 800 http://www.admiral.com/
    Adrian Flux 01553 777 240 www.adrianflux.co.uk/
    AON 01384 552 670 www.aon.com
    A-Plan 0845 071 123 www.aplan.co.uk/
    AXA 0800 015 4292 http://www.axa-motor.co.uk
    Bell Direct 0800 140 180 www.belldirect.co.uk/
    Bennetts 0990 202090 www.bennetts.co.uk/
    Bugdet 0800 028 9044 www.budgetinsurance.com/
    Catterall 01254 695 055 www.chris-thompson.co.uk/
    Churchill 0800 200 331 http://www.churchill.com
    Cis 08457 464646 www.cis.co.uk/
    CoverSure (RallySure) 01829 733 880 www.dmatters.co.uk/
    Crowthorne Insurance 01344 771626 www.crowthorne.co.uk
    Direct Line 0845 246 8701 http://uk.directline.com/
    Elephant 0870 6080668 http://www.elephant.co.uk
    Endsleigh 0800 028 3571 http://www.endsleigh.co.uk
    Footman 0121 651 6250 www.footmanjames.co.uk
    Graham Sykes 0870 444 6319 www.graham-sykes.co.uk/
    Greenlight 01277 263 030 www.greenlight-insurance.co.uk/

    HIC - 08451 290 290
    Hill House Hamond 01733 310899 www.hhh.co.uk/
    Keith Michaels 0181 642 7868 www.keithmichaels.co.uk
    Liverpool Victoria 0800 514 514 http://www.liverpoolvictoria.co.uk
    More Than 0800 072 4186 http://www.morethan.com
    Motor Quote Direct 0800 48 44 33 http://www.motorquotedirect.co.uk/
    Nash Warren 0121 561 4484 www.nashwarren.co.uk/
    Norwich Union 0870 242 0800 www.norwichunion.com/
    Peart 0870 240 2972 www.peart.co.uk/
    Peoples Choice 0800 614 824 www.peopleschoice.co.uk/
    Performance Direct 08704 203896 www.performancedirect.co.uk/
    Privilege Insurance 0113 292 5555 www.privilege.com/
    Quinn Direct 0845 850 0845 www.quinn-direct.com/
    QuoteLine Direct 0870 444 0870 www.quoteline-direct.co.uk/
    RAC 0845 3000 755 http://www.rac.co.uk
    Sainsburys 0800 032 0000 www.sainsburysbank.co.uk/insurance/
    Tesco 0845 300 9900 http://www.tesco.com
    The AA 0870 606 0483 http://www.theaa.com
    Hastings Direct 0800 00 1066 http://www.hastingsdirect.com
    Esure 0845 603 7873 http://www.esure.com
    Halifax 0845 608 9913 http://carinsurance.halifax-online.co.uk
    Eagle Star 08459 45 45 67 http://www.eaglestar.co.uk
    Lloyds TSB 0800 056 3040 http://www.insurance.co.uk
    Screen Trade 0800 435 207 http://www.screentrade.co.uk
    Its4me 0870 0131 464 http://www.its4me.co.uk/
    The Insurance Centre 0709 2511050 http://www.theinsurancecentre.co.uk
    Quote-A-Car 08707 709075 http://www.quotea.co.uk/quotea/default.asp
    #12
  14. robthehungrymonkey
    Offline

    robthehungrymonkey Member

    Joined:
    Apr 19, 2004
    Messages:
    555
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Feb 15, 2005]
    Good work!!!
    #13
  15. imported_Yaseen
    Online

    imported_Yaseen Guest

    [Feb 15, 2005]
    yup, great post you bad mofo /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif should be a sticky/faq

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #14
  16. The Slug
    Offline

    The Slug Active Member VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 15, 2005]
    great work mofo!!

    Im with Privelage and these were cheapest for me, Virgin are good too, they dont charge for monthlys either, but mine was cheaper like i said, also CONFUSED.COM is great, they search loads of compnays, my mate uses these all the time!!
    #15
  17. Masterm8fo
    Offline

    Masterm8fo Warmonger

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2004
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 15, 2005]
    yeah i got that list off here

    tried a few before i decided a remap was not gonna work for me just yet

    someone make it a sticky please!



    (am still bitter - as per my sig)
    #16
  18. bigshout
    Offline

    bigshout Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2004
    Messages:
    85
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 15, 2005]
    A Friend told me Asda are now selling insurance and most times come out cheaper than Tesco. It's worth checking them out, ASDA price!
    #17
  19. Flat6
    Offline

    Flat6 Brilliant Black Black edition

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2005
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Feb 17, 2005]
    Hi all! I'm currently looking for an S3, but just waiting for the right car to come along. Had a quote from Esure today, £493, which I didn't think was bad as my 1.8T Golf I have at the mo was £430 last year.
    #18

Share This Page