1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Instrument Swap Troubles

Discussion in 'VCDS (formerly VAG-COM) forum' started by Paul @ Unit 9 Remaps, Aug 15, 2013.

  1. Paul @ Unit 9 Remaps
    Offline

    Paul @ Unit 9 Remaps Site Sponsor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,474
    Likes Received:
    35
    [Aug 15, 2013]
    Trying to fit some new/used clocks to the car. Need the pins for the current and new/used clocks so used vag commander and heres the results


    Old clocks info


    ECU code 01400
    Server Code 00443


    i then click next and get


    Pin 00001


    New/Used clocks info


    ECU code 01400
    Server Code 00414


    i then click next and get


    Pin 00001


    Hoping this makes sense. then i follow this guide from Ross Tech


    Immobilizer III Immobilizer Swapping (Instrument Cluster) - Ross-Tech Wiki


    Now when i get to..........................


    [17 - Instruments]


    [Login - 11]
    For the following procedure, use the PIN of the REPLACEMENT (NEW or USED) instrument cluster.
    4-digit PIN
    Enter zero followed by the 4-digit PIN directly in the Login field. For example, if your PIN is 1234, enter 01234.
    [Do it!]


    i get invalid code' ive tried all the codes thats in the first part of the post and none works. am i missing somthing :mad:
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Jan 25, 2015]

  3. hades-
    Offline

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,186
    Likes Received:
    585
    [Aug 15, 2013]
    looks like its not pulling the skc code out
    #2
  4. Paul @ Unit 9 Remaps
    Offline

    Paul @ Unit 9 Remaps Site Sponsor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,474
    Likes Received:
    35
    [Aug 15, 2013]
    what i was thinking. tried through the ECU and get an error. abit fed up

    Is there anyway or repairingn the eeprom for the cluster through vcds or the likes
    #3
  5. hades-
    Offline

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,186
    Likes Received:
    585
    [Aug 15, 2013]
    is it a snide vag commander ?
    #4
  6. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,771
    Likes Received:
    175
    [Aug 15, 2013]
    If you have an a4 you do not plug in clone pin readers!!!
    #5
    NHN likes this.
  7. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,771
    Likes Received:
    175
    [Aug 15, 2013]
    your vag commander sounds iffy, should have to just read eeprom and it will give pin after the hex screen populates.
    for an a4 better off removing the clocks and reading the eeprom on the bench.

    where abouts are you based?
    #6
  8. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,771
    Likes Received:
    175
    [Aug 15, 2013]
    if you can post a hex dump i can decode the skc from it if that helps
    #7
  9. Paul @ Unit 9 Remaps
    Offline

    Paul @ Unit 9 Remaps Site Sponsor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Aug 10, 2009
    Messages:
    1,474
    Likes Received:
    35
    [Aug 16, 2013]
    whats the easiest way to post a hex dump'
    #8
  10. @udi A3
    Offline

    @udi A3 Site Sponsor Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    May 25, 2012
    Messages:
    1,771
    Likes Received:
    175
    [Aug 16, 2013]
    I dont have much experience with the a4, but if your clone cable with read or allow you to save the eeprom dump your halfway there. I wouldnt suggest writing anything at all with it though, read only, if your lucky.
    #9

Share This Page