1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Instrument cluster fault... easy to swap cluster? Any help welcome!

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by car4kids, Jan 19, 2011.

  1. car4kids
    Offline

    car4kids New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just getting to grips with my 2001 A4 2.5 Tdi. It has exhibited a huge array of odd faults over the short time I've had it. So far I have replaced all the ABS sensors, the battery, temp sensor, thermostat. Most of my gremlins have gone; all save 2.

    1. Fuel guage is erratic

    2. Temp gauge either works or doesn't read at all

    The themostat replacement was necessary as the engine now heats correctly. But the guage it would seem is also faulty.

    The car has already (by previous owner) been 'clocked' so preservation of the mileage recording isn't too important. Is it possible that this daft act has caused the problems?

    Can I simply buy a replacement instrument cluster and swap old for new or is there a more involved process?

    I did my best to search previous posts and have read about possible callibration and encryption issues. What do I need to be concerned about?

    Also... any ideas what a dealer would charge to do the job would be useful.

    Might be that it isn't the instrument cluster that is at fault but given the ABS light very occasionally goes on and off by itself I'd say it is on its way out. Perhaps I am overlooking something?

    Thanks for any advice.
    #1
  2. Turkster
    Offline

    Turkster Bro.Paul 2.5TDI Quattro Sport

    Joined:
    Dec 11, 2007
    Messages:
    2,718
    Likes Received:
    29
    iv got a 2nd hand cluster if you want to try it? Im in Northampton, 10 min job to swap over,
    #2
  3. Jine
    Offline

    Jine Crippled n Crazy

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Dude, I'm sorry I can't shine any light on your situation but one thing I can say is that back last year I had a problem with the instrument panel on an a3, where one day not a single dial would work not even the MPH dial!! (it was murder trying to drive it). I took it to a specialist near me and had it replaced, it cost me £500 + labour. So god knows what the stealers will charge you.

    I feel your pain.
    #3
  4. Woorlord
    Offline

    Woorlord shifting to Hyperspace... .

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2007
    Messages:
    948
    Likes Received:
    12
    The instrument cluster has the immobiliser built into to it so plugging in a replacement your car will not start!
    You need to recode keys with the new instrument cluster and code the instrument immobiliser with the Engine ECU - you will need the SKC code to do this I believe.

    Have you checked the connections to the Instrument Cluster and do any fault codes come up on VAG-COM?
    #4
  5. car4kids
    Offline

    car4kids New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I've been onto the dealer local to me. They want £612 to supply and fit the part. I asked if they would guarantee the work and to do that they want an additional £75 for a diagnostic that would tell me if everything was working the way it should. I assume that I would be able to drive away with everything working and there would be a reasonable guarantee against the work... only problem is I am not sure it is worth doing at that price?

    Thanks for the offer of the used part - but having researched it I think it needs to be programmed to match keys as mentioned and I am for an easy life so if I decide it is worth fixing then I might as well go to the dealer.

    Thanks for the help.
    #5
  6. Jine
    Offline

    Jine Crippled n Crazy

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    86
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah the new cluster will definatley have to be coded to the keys for sure as it has the immobiliser on it.

    have you tried any specialists in your area?? the dealer should guarantee ANY kind of work they do on your car.
    #6
  7. car4kids
    Offline

    car4kids New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 7, 2010
    Messages:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    I'm near Newcastle - don't know of any Audi specialists. Might search the web but if someone can make a recommendation that would be great,
    #7

Share This Page