1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installing iPod interface

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by dallo, Jun 8, 2013.

  1. dallo
    Offline

    dallo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 8, 2013]
    Thinking of installing iPod interface in glove box but have no cd changer just need advice on how to and if it will fit in my glove box and if the cables will be there?
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 28, 2014]

  3. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,477
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    [Jun 8, 2013]
    No the cables wont be there if not fitted already & glovebox will need changing to fit the unit into the correct socket.
    #2
  4. dallo
    Offline

    dallo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 8, 2013]
    The glovebox has two small compartments at the top next to the airbag switch so won't it fit in one of them?
    #3
  5. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,477
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    [Jun 8, 2013]
    Nope you need a different version, I can supply/fit the lot if interested.
    #4
  6. dallo
    Offline

    dallo Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2013
    Messages:
    114
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 8, 2013]
    What would the cost be and where are you located?
    could the interface be located anywhere?
    #5
  7. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,477
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    [Jun 8, 2013]
    Ping me a PM & we can discuss it further.
    #6
  8. Richard Peters
    Offline

    Richard Peters Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Jun 8, 2013]
    I've just today, having had my car for a week or two, plugged an iPod nano in to the iPod interface in my glove box and its awful. Music sounds flat and there's a feint hiss as well. Not sure if that's normal, but connecting my iPhone via aux in is a million times better.
    #7
  9. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,477
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    [Jun 9, 2013]
    Could be a issue with few things as they're normally ok for sound, is it running plugged in direct or through an adapter cable.
    #8
  10. Richard Peters
    Offline

    Richard Peters Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Jun 9, 2013]
    Hello sir!

    It's a direct connection. I did think it a bit odd, but it does sound truly naff compared to the iPhone via aux in. Maybe the iPod is knackered!
    #9
  11. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,477
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    [Jun 9, 2013]
    Have you got access to a ipod dock audio system or another ipod to test with?
    #10
  12. Richard Peters
    Offline

    Richard Peters Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2013
    Messages:
    44
    Likes Received:
    5
    [Jun 9, 2013]
    I'll plug the iPod in my home cinema amp and see how that sounds. I do have a Bose sound dock but it's not got the 'fullest' sound so may not be a good indication of quality.
    #11
  13. tr1ck
    Offline

    tr1ck Member

    Joined:
    Feb 2, 2013
    Messages:
    81
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jun 9, 2013]
    can you fit a iPod connection or aux in to the double din audi concert unit?
    #12
  14. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Retrofitter - Audi - VW - Skoda - Seat Site Sponsor VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,477
    Likes Received:
    1,264
    [Jun 9, 2013]
    Yes.

    I have the basic ipod interface & cable for double din if interested, PM for price.
    #13

Share This Page