1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Installing headunit.

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by k3v, Feb 26, 2009.

  1. k3v

    k3v New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Im looking to install a pioneer head unit into my '04' a3.
    Can anyone help with what wiring harness I need and any other wiring adapters that are required.
    The car doesnt have bose, and all the speakers will be externally amped.
    I basicly need a harness to plug into the cars existing loom, however I keep reading how there is no ignition live behind the stereo, would this be what I would need?
    http://caraudiosecurity.com/shop/product/products_id/8074.html
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    39
    Yes that's what you can use, but you can wire in your own "ignition on" wire and save yourself £50, or just turn the new HU on/off manually.
     
  4. k3v

    k3v New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Wheres the best place take the switch live from then?
     
  5. k3v

    k3v New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
  6. k3v

    k3v New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does anybody know what wire behind the stereo controls the dimming of the stereo?
     
  7. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    39
    If you look on the original Audi HU the schematic is on top, the dimming wire is the one that looks like a little sun, however it may again use the CANBUS for dimming.
     
  8. k3v

    k3v New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for that, however, I dont seem to have that 'sun' logo there.

    I think you may be right about the CANBUS, is there any way of it dimming other then getting an expensive adapter?
     
  9. t2myd

    t2myd Member

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2008
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    i have a spare wireing loom for a a3 /a4 the 1 that makes the rear speakers work ,i bought it cos i put a sony headunit in my a3 ,any good let me know
     
  10. k3v

    k3v New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2009
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers but I dont need that, Im using an external amp to run speakers
     
  11. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    39
    If it's CANBUS controlled then an emulator is the only solution I'm afraid.
     

Share This Page