1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Innovate Motorsport OT-2 problem - Any experience?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by MortenTN, Dec 19, 2013.

  1. MortenTN
    Offline

    MortenTN New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Dec 19, 2013]
    I recently bought the Innovate Motorsport OT-2, because a friend of mine found it really useful for his Saab when troubleshooting and logging to measure performance gains. But I have had no luck connecting to my late APY ECU - even with just one channel - and according to the Innovate Motorsport support they have no plans of updating the firmware, despite what it says in the manual.

    They told me to return it, but before I do I'd just like to know if anyone in here are using it on a S3?
    #1
  2. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow... Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    17,311
    Likes Received:
    1,935
    [Dec 19, 2013]
    For the money mate you would have been better off with VCDS...

    Generic ODB2 tools like this are a little limited tbh...

    Have you checked the diagnostics fuse? can you connect with anything else successfully?

    <tuffty/>
    #2
  3. MortenTN
    Offline

    MortenTN New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2013
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Dec 19, 2013]
    I guess so - a lesson learned there. I have used VCDS before, but wanted something that didn't involve a laptop on the drivers seat - and my VCDS cable stopped working.
    It actually connected for 3 secs with the ISO 9141 protocol, but then disconnected again, and it kept clicking from the instrument cluster every 2-3secs. I'll have a look at the diagnostics fuse...
    #3
  4. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition...Its all about the flow... Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    17,311
    Likes Received:
    1,935
    [Dec 19, 2013]
    I use a bluetooth obd adaptor with the 'Torque' app for general stuff...

    Screen shot from my Samsung S3...

    [​IMG]

    Dongle was a tenner and the app was 3 quid

    <tuffty/>
    #4
    cammage08, Gops and mark_S3 like this.
  5. Scullies
    Offline

    Scullies Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2012
    Messages:
    1,382
    Likes Received:
    384
    [Dec 20, 2013]
    I use the OT-2 on my S3 AMK/BAM ecu. I mostly use it to log data from other innovate products. It was a bit of a pain to set up in the beginning,I think I had to setup a profile first if I remember correctly.
    VCDS is much better at logging ecu data and determining fault codes.
    #5

Share This Page