1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Indicators Stopped Working :(

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by PEZ1, Nov 29, 2010.

  1. PEZ1

    PEZ1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just wondered if anyone may be able to give me any thoughts/suggestions..

    My indicators have decided to pack up all together this weekend. Noticed few days since that I had put indicators on a couple of times, and they hadn't seemed to do anything but taking off, and putting back on again and flashed again all ok. I wasn't sure if I was just imagining things lol.

    Then yesterday they just went haywire. Put indicator into postion, and they seemed to flash far too quickly, then stop then come back on again :think: Now all i get is one very breif flash when putting into position, but once in position, nothing.

    Do they have a relay controling the indicator stalk? Or is it just built into the stalk?

    Any help appreciated.
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. CHRIS555

    CHRIS555 DOPE with added OCD

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,941
    Likes Received:
    2
    I think there is a relay which is a common failure - i'm sure someone will post something more specific but take a look through all the recent threads as someone had the same problem late last week

    Best of luck

    Chris
     
  4. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,270
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    The stalk will control a relay.
    For the A4 B5s, the Relay is part of the hazard switch.
    I'd take a look at fitting a known working relay and see if that helps.
    Or plug in VCDS if you got a copy or know of any one who can do it for you.
     
  5. s3dave

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    732
    Yes it is the hazard switch it will need replacing....
     
  6. PEZ1

    PEZ1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the replies people :thumbsup:

    The hazard switch seems to work fine, but could that still be the case?
     
  7. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,270
    Likes Received:
    1,081
    There is two relays in the switch.
    one for the indicators and 1 for the hazards.
     
  8. Izzy1

    Izzy1 Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    1
  9. PEZ1

    PEZ1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers people much appreciated!

    I'm now in the boat of having to try and get hold of one one! There's a few listed on ebay from a 2000 A3 (mine's a 2001), the part numbers match but just the letter on the end differant so im slightly worried it may not fit? It's half price compared to 40+vat been quoted at dealers tho so i'm not sure if to take the risk!
     

Share This Page