1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Indicators Stopped Working :(

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by PEZ1, Nov 29, 2010.

  1. PEZ1

    PEZ1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just wondered if anyone may be able to give me any thoughts/suggestions..

    My indicators have decided to pack up all together this weekend. Noticed few days since that I had put indicators on a couple of times, and they hadn't seemed to do anything but taking off, and putting back on again and flashed again all ok. I wasn't sure if I was just imagining things lol.

    Then yesterday they just went haywire. Put indicator into postion, and they seemed to flash far too quickly, then stop then come back on again :think: Now all i get is one very breif flash when putting into position, but once in position, nothing.

    Do they have a relay controling the indicator stalk? Or is it just built into the stalk?

    Any help appreciated.
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. CHRIS555

    CHRIS555 DOPE with added OCD

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,941
    Likes Received:
    3
    I think there is a relay which is a common failure - i'm sure someone will post something more specific but take a look through all the recent threads as someone had the same problem late last week

    Best of luck

    Chris
     
  4. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter Team V6 quattro Audi A8 Team Akoya saloon Audi S8 TDi

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,266
    Likes Received:
    1,124
    The stalk will control a relay.
    For the A4 B5s, the Relay is part of the hazard switch.
    I'd take a look at fitting a known working relay and see if that helps.
    Or plug in VCDS if you got a copy or know of any one who can do it for you.
     
  5. s3dave

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid
    Supporter

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,114
    Likes Received:
    736
    Yes it is the hazard switch it will need replacing....
     
  6. PEZ1

    PEZ1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks for the replies people :thumbsup:

    The hazard switch seems to work fine, but could that still be the case?
     
  7. ScottD3

    ScottD3 I want your faulty electronics
    Supporter Team V6 quattro Audi A8 Team Akoya saloon Audi S8 TDi

    Joined:
    Nov 24, 2010
    Messages:
    15,266
    Likes Received:
    1,124
    There is two relays in the switch.
    one for the indicators and 1 for the hazards.
     
  8. Izzy1

    Izzy1 Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    384
    Likes Received:
    10
  9. PEZ1

    PEZ1 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2010
    Messages:
    9
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers people much appreciated!

    I'm now in the boat of having to try and get hold of one one! There's a few listed on ebay from a 2000 A3 (mine's a 2001), the part numbers match but just the letter on the end differant so im slightly worried it may not fit? It's half price compared to 40+vat been quoted at dealers tho so i'm not sure if to take the risk!
     

Share This Page