1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Indicators playing up

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Ballcrusher, Oct 28, 2007.

  1. Ballcrusher
    Offline

    Ballcrusher NO CAT JUST 3" STRAIT THREW

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Oct 28, 2007]
    need help...my Indicator started playing up last night when i turn left or right it flickers. if i leave it on it will start wroking fine for a few seconds then starts flickering again.the hazerd lights work fine. i can hear the flicking noise coming in from behind the hazerd button..........HELP
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Nov 28, 2014]

  3. nik patel
    Offline

    nik patel Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2007
    Messages:
    216
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 28, 2007]
    Maybe the hazard light switch? i tried changing it but couldnt get the switch out. Ended up giving to my garage who sorted it
    #2
  4. Nilz
    Offline

    Nilz Defo worth the wait :)

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2006
    Messages:
    10,353
    Likes Received:
    454
    [Oct 28, 2007]
    I had the same problem on my a4, just give the hazard switch a bit of a smack (it worked for me), it just sticks from time to time.

    Hope that helps
    #3
  5. jm-baker
    Offline

    jm-baker Member

    Joined:
    Feb 4, 2007
    Messages:
    230
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Oct 28, 2007]
    I also just had a simlar problem, intermittant working, fast flickering etc.

    I just changed the hazard switch in the dash (which houses the relay for the indicators as well).

    Reasonably priced from vagparts (£20). And easy to change.

    I used part # 8L0941509L - for my 2002 S3
    #4
  6. Ballcrusher
    Offline

    Ballcrusher NO CAT JUST 3" STRAIT THREW

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2006
    Messages:
    347
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Oct 28, 2007]
    cheers guys ill pop over to audi tomorrow. ill let you no how i get on
    #5
  7. clcollins
    Offline

    clcollins Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 29, 2007]
    Without doubt it's the relays (hazard & indicators are in one unit behind the hazard button), fiddly to change but still a DIY job.
    #6
  8. sprout99
    Offline

    sprout99 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    373
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Oct 30, 2007]
    yes. i've had this slowly get worse for past few months.

    it was realy (switch) £33 from stealers. Euro parts didn't do one for A3.

    You do need to take radio out to unclip trim. switch is a fiddly fecker to remove.

    15mins in total
    #7

Share This Page