1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Indicators not working properly

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by clcollins, Aug 14, 2006.

  1. clcollins

    clcollins Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all, wondering if any of you have had / or heard of a similar problem. My indicators seem to have died…………when I indicate they do one of three things, (1) nothing, (2) flash for about 2 seconds at three times the normal speed, or (3) flash once at normal speed.

    I’m hoping it’s just the flasher unit but have a feeling that it’s the indicator stalk. My reason for thinking this is that when I put the hazard lights on the lights work perfectly, so unless there are two flasher units (one for normal indication and one for hazards) then it’s the stalk.

    Anyone got any ideas / advice?
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. cocain

    cocain RAA RAA like a dungeon dragon!

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2004
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    12
    umm not sure but i remember when I changed my sub over in the back of my A3 a while back I had some strange things like that happen to my indicators. took it apart and went through the whole process again and it was ok. I asked someone and they said it may have been a dodgy earth wire in the loop but your case may be different.
     
  4. jojo

    jojo Looking for Boost!
    Staff Member Moderator quattro Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    27,340
    Likes Received:
    2,437
    Yes, a dodgy earth on the A3 makes the dash go funny in a spooky sort of way, indicators become intermittent and the dash lights flicker all over the place.
     
  5. MarcA3Turbo

    MarcA3Turbo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Had a similar problem a while ago. Replaced the relay, but it didnt solve it, so have now put it down to the indicator stalk itself. Theres a replacement stalk on the way to me at the moment, so if you want I can let you know how I get on? And theres only 1 relay for both the hazards and the indicators. And I had the same symptoms too i.e hazards worked fine but indicators play up.
    HTH
    Marc
     
  6. clcollins

    clcollins Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2004
    Messages:
    279
    Likes Received:
    0

    Marc have you changed your indicator stalk yet, if so has it sorted out the problem?

    As I have the same prob and really don't want to change the stalk without knowing for sure that's where the problem lies, how do I trace an earth fault (if there is one)?
     
  7. MarcA3Turbo

    MarcA3Turbo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi,
    indicator stalk was posted yesterday, should have it tomorrow, but I'm away until next Wednesday, so won't have it on until at least then, sorry! I'll let you know though as soon as I get it on.

    Marc
     
  8. davidhodgkinson

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    200
    Likes Received:
    0
    If your after a stalk I think I've got one around somewhere
     
  9. madvw

    madvw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    2
    have you replaced your stalk yet marc? did it fix it?
     
  10. MarcA3Turbo

    MarcA3Turbo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    No, believe it or not, still haven't gotten around to it! Have the new stalk sitting in my glove box, but haven't had it fitted yet. The problem is so intermittent i.e only happens for a few minutes every few weeks that it keeps slipping my mind. I'll make the effort to head down over the next couple of days though, just pure lazy really...
     
  11. MarcA3Turbo

    MarcA3Turbo Member

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2006
    Messages:
    63
    Likes Received:
    0
    Eventually got around to fitting the new stalk last week, and glad to report that the problem is completely cured! Happy days :)
     
  12. olekvi

    olekvi Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2005
    Messages:
    68
    Likes Received:
    6
    I had a similar problem.

    Hazards worked 100%, but not indicators.

    A new relay fixed everything. It is very easy to change, so you should give it a go :)
     
  13. dan_a3

    dan_a3 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2006
    Messages:
    190
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have got the same problem with mine, Spoke to Audi and they said it is a common fault and 9 out of 10 times is the hazard light switch blocking the signal of the indicators. Havent brought or fitted anything yet though so would be intersted to hear how you get on.
     
  14. bthechronic

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2009
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    audi a3 quattro 1.8 turbo ,,,will you please tell me how you get on clcollins as i have the same problem by the sounds of things ,,,and can any one tell me how much the indicator stalks are,, do i need to change the relay as well all info greatley accepted
     
  15. MartayMcFly

    MartayMcFly Booooooost
    Regional Rep Gold Supporter VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2009
    Messages:
    2,755
    Likes Received:
    327
    Mine was doing this when I test drove it before I bought it and one of the mechanics at the shop said the hazard relay was a common problem. They swapped the whole hazard switch bit out from an A4 and I haven't had a problem since.
     
  16. ty160

    ty160 s3 tys

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2008
    Messages:
    87
    Likes Received:
    0
    this happened on my s3 and was the relay just replaced it , it just plug in
     
  17. voorhees

    voorhees Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Team Brill Red Black Edition

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2005
    Messages:
    15,738
    Likes Received:
    1,585
    that was two and a half years ago so hes probably had another relay since then :)
     
  18. leshkin

    leshkin Hold my beer...
    Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Team Sepang Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,386
    Likes Received:
    398
    Probably a new car :laugh:
     
  19. adz_rolls

    adz_rolls S3XY

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    this has just happened to my s3. what part do i need and where do i get it from? and how do i fit a new relay? cheers
     
  20. leshkin

    leshkin Hold my beer...
    Gold Supporter VCDS Map User Team Sepang Audi S3

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    1,386
    Likes Received:
    398
    Hi mate, the flasher relay replacement is a 15 minute job if you have all the needed tools. Go to Stoke Audi section on here and request the part from Dave. Given a chassis number he can give you the correct part. I think it's in the region of 25 pounds, so not too big of a deal.

    To replace the relay (it's one unit, but contains two separate relays - indicator relay flasher and hazard) you will probably be better off by removing the stereo to get a good grip on the panel that covers the top part of the central console (cup holder, ESP buttons and hazard button/relay). I managed to remove this panel without taking the stereo out, because my car had a bigger gap than usual, so a blunt/flat table knife went in there nicely.

    In any case, carefully lever off the panel from the bottom and then pull the panel slightly up and towards you. It's held in with clips, so be careful not to damage any of them.

    The next part is a little fiddly, but you will need to get a flat screwdriver in the corner of the hazard switch and lever it out of place. Once out, it's just a matter of un-clipping the connector replacing the flasher with the new unit (test the indicators at this point) and push it back into place. The rest is in reverse.
     

Share This Page