1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Indicators not flashing as they should

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by Izzy1, Nov 19, 2010.

  1. Izzy1

    Izzy1 Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    1
    Over the last few days i've noticed that they are not flashing properly on the dash. when i 1st indicate they will blink fast a few times and then continue as normal. but during lunch today they were all over the place and by the end they stopped flashing. inorder to restart the flash i had to cancel and re-start indicating. same problem when turning left or right.

    anyone else ever had this problem?

    I'm think it might have something to do with the wiring as the bulbs are ok.

    any help would be greatly appreciated.

    thanks
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. CHRIS555

    CHRIS555 DOPE with added OCD

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,941
    Likes Received:
    2
    Check the bulbs on the outside - get someone to play with them in the car whilst you see what is going on outside, sometimes that would suggest that a bulb has gone - maybe also try taking the bulbs out and putting them back in - may or may not work?!
     
  4. camouflage

    camouflage New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    It sounds like you need a new indicator relay. I just replaced mine after a similar problem and they are as the should be now.
    The relay is built in to the back of the hazard warning switch. it looks like this[​IMG]

    They should only cost about £20 to £30 and its very easy to replace.
    Here is a link to a how to:
    http://www.craigmurphy.com/blog/?p=661
     
  5. Izzy1

    Izzy1 Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    1
    Camo - looks like i need the relay switch. i'm having the same symptoms as the guy on that link.

    i'll try picking a relay from the local scrappy if the price is right. wonder if GSF supply this part??? hmmmm
     
  6. Geeman

    Geeman Low Life

    Joined:
    Mar 19, 2009
    Messages:
    1,318
    Likes Received:
    5
    Yep... that's definitely the hazard warning switch/relay that needs replacing. It did exactly the same thing in mine. It's a common fault!
     
  7. Izzy1

    Izzy1 Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    1
    Does anyone know where i can get one from apart from the stealers? they want £42...
     
  8. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,695
    Likes Received:
    477
    £42 really isnt too bad...

    You could pay a tenner for a used one and it could pack up next week.
     
  9. Izzy1

    Izzy1 Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    1
    is this a dealer only part?
     
  10. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,695
    Likes Received:
    477
    Yes.

    TPS might be able to get you it a bit cheaper.
     
  11. Izzy1

    Izzy1 Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    1
    i reserved one at my local this morning. will pick up on my way home. don't have a choice.
    cheers guys. nice to know when you have a problem someone on here has the answer. :eek:)
     
  12. Izzy1

    Izzy1 Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    1
    update!
    i managed to get a switch from euro car parts this morning. had a look at fitting it but can't seem to get the old one out.
    is there a way without ripping the whole dash apart?
    it's a facelift model.
    cheers
     
  13. Izzy1

    Izzy1 Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    1
    all is working as it should now.
     
  14. aragorn

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!"
    Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    16,695
    Likes Received:
    477
    For completeness: How does the switch come out?

    I think it probably just pulls out the front, but it'd be useful to know for future reference.
     
  15. Izzy1

    Izzy1 Vorsprung Durch Technik

    Joined:
    Sep 19, 2008
    Messages:
    349
    Likes Received:
    1
    pulled on the fog light switches and they came out with out a problem, for the cup holder you need to put in a flat screw driver (top right) and lift a small plastic arm thing and then pull and that pops out quiet easy. then you have access to the hazzord switch. flat screw driver on both sides behind the edge and then twist and it pops out. no more then 5 minutes.
     

Share This Page