1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Indicators: Hazard Relay.

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Mason-A3Sport, Nov 3, 2009.

  1. Mason-A3Sport
    Offline

    Mason-A3Sport Audi Sport

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi, Done a bit of research on the forum, turns out that i have a problem a few other user's have come across, the indicators, my indicators are not functioning properly they go on and they off after a few blinks. Turns out it could be the Hazzard relay behind the centre console connected to the hazzard switch. Question is where is the cheapest place to pick up a hazzard relay or is it a main dealer part? Also can someone give me a little run through on how to get behind the centre console i.e where the screws are and the easiest way to get in. A bit of help would be appriciated as this problem has occured right before the MOT Due on Thursday, Typical haha. :icon_thumright:
    #1
  2. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,582
    Likes Received:
    270
    Its a dealer only part and it's around £32 iirc. Just remove the trim and swap the hazard switch out and your indicators will be fine again
    #2
  3. Mason-A3Sport
    Offline

    Mason-A3Sport Audi Sport

    Joined:
    May 7, 2009
    Messages:
    101
    Likes Received:
    0
    Champion, £32 is fair to be honest, il take a trip down to the Audi garage soon and get one, any Help on removeing the centre console mate?
    #3
  4. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    31
    just get a blunt item behind the piano trim and it will just pop off....shouldnt take too much effort as the clips arent the strongest...then you'll be able to slot the indicator out
    #4
  5. djarchive
    Offline

    djarchive Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    4
    Apologises for the bump... Could somebody please provide a picture / giude to fitting please?

    Im at a total loss and my indicators now DO NOT work atall. Replaced the fuse / thats still not solved it.



    Thanks people

    Joe

    :notme:
    #5
  6. S3 Rav
    Offline

    S3 Rav Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,824
    Likes Received:
    26
    dj archive if you put hazard relay in the search theres a couple of threads with the pictures on bud.
    #6
  7. ianysm
    Offline

    ianysm Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    1,003
    Likes Received:
    0
  8. djarchive
    Offline

    djarchive Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2009
    Messages:
    247
    Likes Received:
    4
    Nice 1 Rav.

    Ianysm- cheers for that
    #8
  9. keviny997p
    Offline

    keviny997p New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2009
    Messages:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have had this problem also in the past.

    Get the hazard relay, remove the stereo using stereo keys and unscrew your way up the dash. Easy to change over the switches. Then start putting things back into place and slide the stereo back in. ----- Bob's your uncle
    #9
  10. 1animal1
    Offline

    1animal1 The Clar!! it mouves!!!

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2007
    Messages:
    9,981
    Likes Received:
    31
    it may be different for an A3....but the S3 you dont need to take the stereo out....
    #10

Share This Page