1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Indicators are indicating an issue with indication

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by AudiA3V5, Mar 27, 2014.

  1. AudiA3V5
    Offline

    AudiA3V5 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Mar 27, 2014]
    As title really, My indicators have started playing up.

    I'm guessing possibly dodgy relay but i'm far from sure.

    Basically, I put my indicators on, and it usually indicates once or twice and then just stops, the indicator stick stay where it should, doesn't click off, but the indicators just stop.

    Seems to be more when it's cold in the mornings etc, seems much better later in the afternoon but still does it even then from time to time.

    Any ideas? Likely to be a relay?

    If so where are the relays in the A3 and what relay is it?

    It's an '02 A3 1.8T.

    Any help/advice/tests greatly appreciated.
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 19, 2014]

  3. <tuffty/>
    Offline

    <tuffty/> Badger 5 Edition Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2008
    Messages:
    16,439
    Likes Received:
    1,530
    [Mar 27, 2014]
    Relays are in the hazard light switch... you need to replace this... very common problem and 30-40 quid from TPS/Dealer

    <tuffty/>
    #2
  4. AudiA3V5
    Offline

    AudiA3V5 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Mar 27, 2014]
    Yeah just found another thread of something similar but hazard not working, seen someone say the same thing. Might even have been you. lol.

    It is a defo buy new, or can it just be cleaned up and re-used? Bit tight on cash at the moment and don't like being able to drive around without being able to indicate properly. lol
    #3
  5. epox
    Offline

    epox Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2012
    Messages:
    697
    Likes Received:
    46
    [Mar 27, 2014]
    buy a new one, opened mine up and the relays were all sealed, post and pre are different switches though.
    got one of flebay from poland for 14 notes and works fine not a real part though.

    mark
    #4
  6. AudiA3V5
    Offline

    AudiA3V5 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Mar 27, 2014]
    #5
  7. Lavis89
    Online

    Lavis89 Active Member Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2011
    Messages:
    857
    Likes Received:
    151
    [Mar 27, 2014]
    I just had the same problem with mine, i cleaned up all the contacts a bit and got 2 or 3 days extra life out of it, not work the hassle. Ended up buying new from ECP
    #6
    AudiA3V5 likes this.
  8. AudiA3V5
    Offline

    AudiA3V5 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Mar 30, 2014]
    Ok, so I got the replacement part, next question, best way to get the panel out.

    I assume just clips either side? Or do you have to remove dash panels in certain order etc?
    #7
  9. The Doctor
    Offline

    The Doctor Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jul 25, 2009
    Messages:
    1,317
    Likes Received:
    129
  10. AudiA3V5
    Offline

    AudiA3V5 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2014
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    7
    [Apr 1, 2014]
    Cheers buddy. I managed to pop it out in the end though, then had the mother of all battles to get the old hazard light switch out, was a job and half but don't think it should have been that difficult so not sure what was up.

    Anyway, got it out, got new unit in today at lunchtime and so far indicators are indicating well! :)
    #9
    epox and The Doctor like this.

Share This Page