1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Indicator problems

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by pflowers, Dec 1, 2005.

  1. pflowers
    Offline

    pflowers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi guys, ive done a search can't find anything about it so am hoping someone may be able to help.

    I noticed the other day the indicactors seemed to be not flashing at a regular time the, they would seem to miss a beat every now and again. Anyway yesterday they would turn on for a couple of flashes then turn off, if you flicked the switch off and back on again they would do the same again although maybe flashing slightly longer. The right is worse than the left but they both do it.

    Sometimes they work normally but most of the time they don't. The hazzards by the way function perfectly all the time.

    Any help would be appreciated as you can imagine its quite dangerous !

    Thanks
    #1
  2. neversaydie
    Offline

    neversaydie Post Whore

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2004
    Messages:
    1,755
    Likes Received:
    0
    I have that problem all the time /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh_roll.gif
    #2
  3. god_thats_quick
    Offline

    god_thats_quick Numptie of the highest order

    Joined:
    Jun 1, 2004
    Messages:
    2,507
    Likes Received:
    1
    get back in your box BMW boy! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh_2.gif

    It could be the relay that controls the flashing is buggered - shouldn't be too expensive to get the part and it's only a few screws to remove the panel under the steering wheel to get to I believe.
    #3
  4. Khufu
    Offline

    Khufu Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    5,703
    Likes Received:
    30
    It happened on my A3 and as said it was the indicator flasher unit which on my model (1998) is the hazzard warning switch too. Its not to dear but you do have to take the centre console apart to get it out.
    #4
  5. Vman
    Offline

    Vman Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    46
    Likes Received:
    0
    #5
  6. S3Steve
    Offline

    S3Steve Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,592
    Likes Received:
    11
    Definately sounds like the relay in the hazard switch as i had exactly the same problem. Got a new switch from audi for £28. Changing it wasnt hard either, half hour tops, had to take the radio out to get access to the back of the switch as its held in with two spring clips
    #6
  7. pflowers
    Offline

    pflowers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks guys for all the help, but how come the hazard switch is causing the problem as the hazards work fine. Does the relay control the left and right as well ?
    #7
  8. S3Steve
    Offline

    S3Steve Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,592
    Likes Received:
    11
    Their is two seperate relays inside the switch, one controls the indicators and the other controls the hazards. Like yours when mine went the hazards worked fine.
    #8
  9. pflowers
    Offline

    pflowers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    Their is two seperate relays inside the switch, one controls the indicators and the other controls the hazards. Like yours when mine went the hazards worked fine.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Thanks I shall get down the stealers and order one. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/wink.gif
    #9
  10. S3Steve
    Offline

    S3Steve Active Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    1,592
    Likes Received:
    11
    Have you got the keys to get the radio out? If not ask the dealer to remove it for you when you get switch, as you will need it out to replace the switch.
    #10
  11. pflowers
    Offline

    pflowers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    Have you got the keys to get the radio out? If not ask the dealer to remove it for you when you get switch, as you will need it out to replace the switch.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    No I don't, I will ask them, thanks for the advice !
    #11
  12. pflowers
    Offline

    pflowers Member

    Joined:
    Sep 2, 2005
    Messages:
    60
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just an update, part collected from dealers today - £32 inc vat. They kindly removed the radio for me - Thanks Sinclair Audi Swansea -
    and with a bit of fiddling in went the new switch ! They now work perfectly thanks for the help !
    #12
  13. The Slug
    Offline

    The Slug Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2004
    Messages:
    1,870
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    Definately sounds like the relay in the hazard switch as i had exactly the same problem. Got a new switch from audi for £28. Changing it wasnt hard either, half hour tops, had to take the radio out to get access to the back of the switch as its held in with two spring clips

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Had this exact same problem, Audi roadside assist came out, took off fascia plate around the Hazard button, slide out old relay (part of the hazard button) and slipped new one in, click fascia plate back on, took the guy less than 60seconds, lol. (2003 model) Just for the record, hehe.
    #13

Share This Page