1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Indicator Problem

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by pazaz, Mar 4, 2005.

  1. pazaz
    Offline

    pazaz Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 4, 2005]
    My Indicator has started playing up. After I switched it off earlier it kept ticking as if it was still on (only faster than normal) but it wasnt flashing on the DIS.

    Now it seems to be doing it when ever it feels like /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/froggie_red.gif. I hope my indictors are not flashing as well /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif

    Anybody experianced this before?

    Thanx in advance /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 19, 2014]

  3. bampy
    Offline

    bampy Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 4, 2005]
    Sounds like the indicator relay is on the way out or you have a bad earth on one of the bulbs. Either way it is a simple fix. Any auto-electrician can sort it out.
    #2
  4. LeeW
    Offline

    LeeW Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 4, 2005]
    Indcator relay (hazard light switch) is a common problem, could be that.
    #3
  5. pazaz
    Offline

    pazaz Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 5, 2005]
    [ QUOTE ]
    Indcator relay (hazard light switch) is a common problem, could be that.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Its happening all the time now and the noise is coming from behind the hazard warning switch, so I think you may be correct LeeW /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif

    How do I go about Fixing it?

    Anybody know how I take the Piano trim off around the hazard switch to have a look?

    Cheers
    #4
  6. LeeW
    Offline

    LeeW Member

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2004
    Messages:
    67
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 5, 2005]
    #5
  7. pazaz
    Offline

    pazaz Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2004
    Messages:
    321
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Mar 6, 2005]
    Thats spot on cheers LeeW, thats all I need now is how to take the sterio out. /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/confused.gif

    This forum is the Mutz Nutz /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/bravo.gif
    #6
  8. jpda3
    Offline

    jpda3 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2004
    Messages:
    117
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Mar 6, 2005]
    thats the easy bit lol
    well kind off

    i managed to replace my relay with out causing damage to either the car or myself /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/woohoo.gif

    read on here you can use a junior hack saw blade to fit in the slots instead of buying the proper tools to remove radio and it worked for me /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/ok.gif
    #7

Share This Page