1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

In search of a dashboard switch/button - like the ESP one...

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B7 Chassis)' started by brixo, Jun 24, 2011.

  1. brixo

    brixo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all,

    I want to be able to turn on an external amp in the boot of my B7 Avant - the "remote" cable from the Bose seems to be a constant feed and not really a switched feed.

    I want to wire the "remote" wire to a switch on the dash to manually turn the amp on/off. I would like to find a switch that would replace the blanking plates next to the ESP button on the dash...

    ... does anyone know the part numbers or where I can buy one?

    Many thanks...
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. Chris79

    Chris79 On my 3rd A4! RS4 next???

    Joined:
    Oct 24, 2005
    Messages:
    159
    Likes Received:
    0
    There is a parking distance control button on eBay at the moment.

    Kufatec did sell several buttons but last time I looked I couldn't find them.

    Chris
     
  4. rowdyboy

    rowdyboy Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2009
    Messages:
    803
    Likes Received:
    18
    I saw quite a few on eBay yesterday when I was searching for something else. It just takes having a look and a bit of patience.
     
  5. B5NUT

    B5NUT Well-Known Member
    VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2010
    Messages:
    2,748
    Likes Received:
    364
    There is permanent live to the amp & switched live however the amp & head unit only fully switches off several minutes after the ignition key is removed.

    Is there any reason you cannot take a new switched live feed from the fuse box on the drivers side, as that will be far quicker, & you don't have the worry about forgetting to switch the amp off, and end up with a flat battery.
     
  6. hades-

    hades- Yorkshire & Humber Rep.
    Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    9,397
    Likes Received:
    623
    when i had my amps fitted in the my cab the switched on and off woth the radio why cant you do it that way ?
     
  7. brixo

    brixo Member

    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Messages:
    79
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thanks all. I didn't realise that the switched live stays ON until you lock the car. Very bizarre. I think I will do it that way now.

    In previous installs, the remote has been immediately.

    Many thanks people.
     

Share This Page