1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

in car temp

Discussion in 'A4/A4 cabriolet/S4 forum(B6 chassis)' started by simon.m, Mar 24, 2010.

  1. simon.m

    simon.m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,747
    Likes Received:
    6
    so as iv not had climate control before can any one tel me if 18c is the lowest it goes down to before it says low.
    just seems strange that i cant got to say 15c
     
  2. wallacr

    wallacr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know, it's a right pain. They did change it to 14 in the B7 I believe. I tried a B7 module in my car and everything worked ok except for rear heated windscreen, so I guess it's a slightly different setup in the newer climate control models.
     
  3. mikeh126

    mikeh126 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2010
    Messages:
    152
    Likes Received:
    1
    Same as mine - 18c or 64f, and then it goes to Lo.
    When Lo is showing, I presume the air con (cold) unit comes on, without measuring the temp inside the car.
     
  4. wallacr

    wallacr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yes exactly and it doesn't take too long to get too cold, I generally have mine on 18 or Low and not always on Auto, sometimes I'll just have the fan on 1 bar, that seems to help a bit
     
  5. simon.m

    simon.m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,747
    Likes Received:
    6
    thats what i thought so its 18c or frezzzzzzzzzzzzz
     
  6. wallacr

    wallacr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Pretty much :(
     
  7. chrisash32

    chrisash32 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    1
    hmmm.. when mine is on low it doesnt seem to freeze.... in fact it still feels quite warm.. think i may have an AC issue :(
     
  8. wallacr

    wallacr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sounds like there's a problem, it could just be gas, it could be the connector has corredded like it did on mine or it could be the compressor.

    Under the bonnet on the back left there are two a/c pipes, when your engine is on and a/c on low one should be freezing cold and the other warm, if not it's defo one of those above I would think
     
  9. chrisash32

    chrisash32 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    1
    cool, will give that a try, thanks :)
     
  10. simon.m

    simon.m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,747
    Likes Received:
    6
    i have ac problems my self think the compressor is not kicking in :crying:
     
  11. wallacr

    wallacr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hope you both get them fixed soon
     
  12. chrisash32

    chrisash32 Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2009
    Messages:
    573
    Likes Received:
    1
    is there any way i can test the components with vag-com??
     
  13. wallacr

    wallacr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    There probably is, oddly it showed no faults when mine went, but someone else who's more clued up on the in's and out's of vag-com will be able to tell you, perhaps in the VCDS forum if not here.
     
  14. simon.m

    simon.m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,747
    Likes Received:
    6
    im told you can find it with vag.com and i no audi can pin point it or so they say.
     
  15. A4 nut

    A4 nut Member

    Joined:
    Nov 2, 2009
    Messages:
    351
    Likes Received:
    0
    If your air con isnt working then the red econ light stop on and stops the compresser from working, you need vag com to read the fault code and hopfully its a pressure switch.
     
  16. wallacr

    wallacr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    Am I right in thinking that's just if it's a gas/pressure issue? As I never had that happen on mine.
     
  17. simon.m

    simon.m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,747
    Likes Received:
    6
    i changed my pressure switch and the light whent off but still dont work and i tryed toping it up too and still nothing but some times the light dose not go off.
     
  18. defsix

    defsix Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Mine goes down to 16c then low.. with cold air blowing then. Didn't work up until a few days ago changed the G65 Thrust Sensor ( thanks pjm ) 5 minute job to fit. perfect.
     
  19. quattrojames

    quattrojames Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Audi A6

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,993
    Likes Received:
    522
    Vagcom will detect most aircon fault codes, but it obviously won't tell you if it's low on gas! Chris it sounds like yours is probably 'a bit' low on gas, but not low enough to cause the compressor to switch off. It does this to protect itself as the gas supplies the lubrication, when the compressor isolates itself is when the ECON light comes on.

    The ECON light is usually either the high pressure switch or low on gas. If it's low on gas get it pressure tested before refilling as if there's a leak you need to sort that out first.

    I think all B6's only go as low as 18, (but maybe some very late ones go to 16...?) and the B7's go to 16. A B7 climate control can be retrofitted, but as mentioned requires a mod to keep the heated rear screen working, Woorlord can help you with this. The B6 aircon is just notoriously inefficient! For some reason an Audi 18 feels warmer than other manufacturers! Mine will blow lovely ice cold air when set to LO, but as mentioned it's a PITA as you have to turn AUTO off or the fan goes flat out - and then when eventually you get too cold and have to raise it 18 it blows hot air! :tocktock:

    At the end of the day though, it will keep you cool if it's working well :cool:
     
  20. wallacr

    wallacr Member

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2003
    Messages:
    242
    Likes Received:
    0
    That's good to know, wish I'd kept that B7 unit now, ah well
     
  21. simon.m

    simon.m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,747
    Likes Received:
    6
    what is the G65 Thrust Sensor and where is it
     
  22. quattrojames

    quattrojames Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Audi A6

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,993
    Likes Received:
    522
    It screws in the N/s of the condenser, its a pretty easy change and you shouldn't lose any gas in doing it:

    [​IMG]
     
  23. BigAardvaark

    BigAardvaark Member

    Joined:
    Jan 13, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just for info, my '01 B6 only went to 18. This '04 goes to 16. '04 seems to be the year as my TT too only went to 18.
     
  24. simon.m

    simon.m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,747
    Likes Received:
    6
    thanks james thats the bit iv change and still not working :keule:
     
  25. quattrojames

    quattrojames Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator Audi A6

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2008
    Messages:
    13,993
    Likes Received:
    522
    Have you had the system pressure checked?
     
  26. simon.m

    simon.m Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2009
    Messages:
    2,747
    Likes Received:
    6
    well i got my self a halfords top up one and put it on and it says it was fine so i have a new bottle of gas and gage but no ac
     
  27. defsix

    defsix Member

    Joined:
    Nov 1, 2009
    Messages:
    148
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just
    slide out the passenger headlight and it's there on the left, 2 spanners and it's off. No gas loss, but check to make sure the rad piece is lubricated , this means you've plenty of gas with oil still circulating.
     

Share This Page