1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Immo chip swap Audi a4 b5

Discussion in 'A4/S4 forum(B5 Chassis)' started by solidarity, Sep 3, 2012.

  1. solidarity
    Offline

    solidarity New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 3, 2012]
    Hi !

    I'm new to this forum so i hope i posted to the right place.

    Here's my Questsion:

    Which chip on the ecu's motherboard is the immo chip ?

    I found a post in this forum and there's a user who has done this kind of immo chip change before.

    here is the link :
    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/a4-s4-...-progress-thread-std-scroll-eliminator-5.html

    My ecu looks pretty much the same, so i assume it's the same chip on my ecu ?

    I would like to remove the immo chip from the old ecu and solder it to the new (used) ecu.
    Read from another forum that it actually works, but there was no picture.

    Thank you !
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 21, 2014]

  3. aragorn
    Offline

    aragorn "Stick a V8 in it!" Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2008
    Messages:
    15,573
    Likes Received:
    314
    [Sep 3, 2012]
    #2
  4. PAULF
    Offline

    PAULF Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2011
    Messages:
    649
    Likes Received:
    50
    [Sep 4, 2012]
    :iagree:

    Wot he said.



    (Just don't play with your mates' TT 9999999999999 :whistle2:)


    Removing and refitting chips is possible, but even under the best of circumstances it will thermally stress the silicon, so make it more prone to fail. If you can't get VagTacho, get a 'Man in' for some beer tokens - it will be easier and cheaper in the long run
    #3
  5. solidarity
    Offline

    solidarity New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 3, 2012
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Sep 4, 2012]
    Thank you for answering !

    At first i planned to order the Vagtacho tool, but then i found out the other way (to solder the old ecus immo chip to the new one).
    Quess i have to go with the vagtacho.
    #4
  6. AR-rkon
    Offline

    AR-rkon BZZZZ.... caffeine fueled electrical engineer Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    78
    [Sep 4, 2012]
    VagTACHO is such an easy program to use... you'll be fine ;)
    #5
  7. HibiscusS4
    Offline

    HibiscusS4 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2012
    Messages:
    97
    Likes Received:
    3
    [Sep 4, 2012]
    With the removal of the chip method is it possible to remove the immobiliser? I am guessing the Audi has the ECU linked to the key fob like a lot of cars but is there a way to transplant the Audi ECU into another car without having to move the entire alarm system (and closkc?) Across?
    #6
  8. AR-rkon
    Offline

    AR-rkon BZZZZ.... caffeine fueled electrical engineer Regional Rep

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    78
    [Sep 5, 2012]
    VagTacho... but IIRC you will need the old SKC code
    #7
  9. LeeT
    Offline

    LeeT Member

    Joined:
    Apr 5, 2009
    Messages:
    430
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Sep 6, 2012]
    Has anyone got a link to a reasonably priced vagtacho?
    #8

Share This Page