1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Imminent RNS-E Install...

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by XXXCorps, Jan 6, 2012.

  1. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,221
    Likes Received:
    1,218
    As per my PM, I supply/fit mate, I'll reply to your latest shortly, just gotta backlog to go through.
    #41
  2. rOb_A
    Offline

    rOb_A Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,488
    Likes Received:
    63
    ok fella, just trying to get things sorted thats all:yes:
    #42
  3. Wax Attack
    Offline

    Wax Attack Member Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    PM'd you NHN.
    Simon
    #43
  4. Jambo26
    Offline

    Jambo26 Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2012
    Messages:
    326
    Likes Received:
    7
    Just so I know when I eventually get a RSNE when I swap the pins for the Bose where so the aux wires Pi into allowing the aux to work on the RNSE?
    #44
  5. rich1
    Offline

    rich1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2012
    Messages:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Why does the blue pin need moving and what does it actually change? Is it easy to hear the differece?
    #45
  6. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,221
    Likes Received:
    1,218
    Aux wires go into 32pin connector on rear of rns, pins 6, 21 & 22 iirc.
    #46
  7. rOb_A
    Offline

    rOb_A Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,488
    Likes Received:
    63
    yep think your spot on NHN, looking at my concert HU and RNSe; Aux R (blue) = Pin 6, Aux L (green) = Pin 22 & Aux Gnd (yellow) = Pin 21
    do you need to code the Aux input back in via vcds?

    all i got to do now is get them out of the housing, tricky things they are!!
    #47
  8. Wax Attack
    Offline

    Wax Attack Member Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    Didn't realise there was a PM qualifying post count, NHN could you email me costs for supply of new RNS-e and fitting to a 2012 BE sportback.
    Many thanks
    Simon
    simon@waxattack.co.uk
    #48
  9. rOb_A
    Offline

    rOb_A Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,488
    Likes Received:
    63
    Think I'll need to buy the 32 Pin AMP Connector to get the AUX wired in. Does anyone have a part number for the connnector and housing that fits into the quad-lock??
    #49
  10. lgooch
    Offline

    lgooch Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    50
    32 pin connector for Aux in
    1J0 972 977 G

    About 3 quid and had to be ordered from Germany on a next day delivery if I recall
    #50
  11. lgooch
    Offline

    lgooch Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    50
    I thought yours had all been wired in properly Rob. Still unhappy with it ?
    #51
  12. rOb_A
    Offline

    rOb_A Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,488
    Likes Received:
    63
    yep lad, still having problems :banghead:

    getting there though, sure the sound will be sweet soon :yes:

    how things going with yours? goochy lad
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2012
    #52
  13. runnernorth
    Offline

    runnernorth Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Simonj, I'm total newbie in here, do I understand you right, do we need to be "qualified" to sent a pm to another member in here??? I've sent a pm to NHN, but hasn't got an answer yet, hopefully because he's busy:/
    #53
  14. Wax Attack
    Offline

    Wax Attack Member Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2012
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    2
    \\

    I believe so, i also sent a PM to NHN but no reply to date.
    Simon
    #54
  15. runnernorth
    Offline

    runnernorth Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2012
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    All right , sounds strange that we have to be "qualified" hmmmmm, but thx for confirming, I hope you ( and I ;) ) will get an answer, or we will " be seen" in this thread........
    :)
    #55
  16. K13 ASJ
    Offline

    K13 ASJ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    8
    i have ordered the 32pin connector today, does anyone have pics of the exact process regarding the aux wires? is it a simple pull em out of the blue bit its in now and into the 32pin connector, then that fits in the quadlock?
    #56
  17. rOb_A
    Offline

    rOb_A Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,488
    Likes Received:
    63
    looking at my concert HU and RNSe; Aux R (blue) = Pin 6, Aux L (green) = Pin 22 & Aux Gnd (yellow) = Pin 21
    do you need to code the Aux input back in via vcds?

    hopefully someone will but pin locations are taken of my RSNe
    #57
  18. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,221
    Likes Received:
    1,218
    I havnt forgotten anyone, just having some net issues atm, so please dont worry I will reply to everyone asap.
    #58
  19. K13 ASJ
    Offline

    K13 ASJ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    8
    I know where the wires go now, what about how to get them there? i.e how do they connect to the 32pin connector? and how does the 32pin connector connect to the rns-e?
    Mayb it will be clearer when i get the connector,
    Sorry if its stupid questions..
    #59
  20. rOb_A
    Offline

    rOb_A Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,488
    Likes Received:
    63
    have you looked at the quad-lock? look at the photo's earlier in this thread
    #60
  21. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,221
    Likes Received:
    1,218
    32 pin connector uses the same pins as the aux uses on the quadlock, just remove these by removing the 12 pin connector from quadlock with a thin screwdriver to push down on the locking tab, then the wires slide out, then reinsert into the 32 pin numbered holes, then plug into the rear of rns above the antenna connectors, trust me its so obvious with connector & rns in hand :)
    Last edited: Aug 23, 2012
    #61
  22. K13 ASJ
    Offline

    K13 ASJ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thanks nigel, alot clearer now. I'm sure it will be easy enough when i have all the parts, i'm probz worrying for nothing.
    #62
  23. rOb_A
    Offline

    rOb_A Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,488
    Likes Received:
    63
    does the Aux need to be re-coded in NHN?
    #63
  24. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,221
    Likes Received:
    1,218
    Yes auxin must be coded into rns.
    #64
  25. rOb_A
    Offline

    rOb_A Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,488
    Likes Received:
    63
    ok lad. need to get the 32 pin connector. the rsne was destined for the bin, hopefully things on the sound front will start to improve
    #65
  26. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,221
    Likes Received:
    1,218
    Nah dont bin, let me get my hands on it 1st lol.
    #66
  27. rOb_A
    Offline

    rOb_A Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,488
    Likes Received:
    63
  28. K13 ASJ
    Offline

    K13 ASJ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    8
    on the back of the original quadlock there is 2 blocks one green, one blue, they both have the same coloured wires in.
    Is it the wires from the blue block only that is the aux wires?
    and the green block stays in place on the quadlock?
    pic below to show what i mean..

    ImageUploadedByTapatalk1345809305.441535.jpg
    #68
  29. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,221
    Likes Received:
    1,218
    Ok, all 3 wires go into the same connector, so look at top of your old radio on the label & it will be very obvious mate :)
    #69
  30. K13 ASJ
    Offline

    K13 ASJ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    8
    ahh ok, got it now. thanks..
    Any advise on where to put the nav antenna?
    and the bluetooth module?
    #70
  31. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,221
    Likes Received:
    1,218
    BT under passenger seat, cutout the foam thats there now, bond the module to this with some bubble wrap on top for good measure & tight fit & refit foam in place again using the locating lugs/holes in foam so cant move, gps antenna fit with 3-4 layered double sided foam tape to the right of the passenger air vent.
    #71
  32. K13 ASJ
    Offline

    K13 ASJ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thanks, i will update later to say how i have got on..
    #72
  33. K13 ASJ
    Offline

    K13 ASJ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    8
    ok i have it all wired up etc..
    The bluetooth symbol is not showing on the rnse screen and my phone is not picking it up..
    does it just need coding?
    #73
  34. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,221
    Likes Received:
    1,218
    You need to code rns, bt for comfort control aswell.
    #74
  35. K13 ASJ
    Offline

    K13 ASJ Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2011
    Messages:
    194
    Likes Received:
    8
    Thanks, i knew it would need coding, just thought it may still be showing when i tried to pick it up on my phone.
    Hopefully all is good and it will be working fine when coded.
    #75
  36. rOb_A
    Offline

    rOb_A Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,488
    Likes Received:
    63
    Bose cable now moved to Pin 7 and 32 pin connector on order, already sounding alot better :yes:
    i'm liking my RNSE again :wub:
    any advise on extending the 3 AUX cables, so that i can relocate them into the new connector?
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2012
    #76
  37. lgooch
    Offline

    lgooch Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    50
    Check this out

    http://audiretrofit.quinlivan.net/rnseauxin
    #77
  38. lgooch
    Offline

    lgooch Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    50
    Just cut the tape around the wires. They will reach then
    #78
  39. rOb_A
    Offline

    rOb_A Active Member

    Joined:
    May 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,488
    Likes Received:
    63
    which way did you do it goochy lad?
    #79
  40. lgooch
    Offline

    lgooch Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2010
    Messages:
    679
    Likes Received:
    50
    Rob I just pulled the wires out of the quad lock. I identified them from the wiring diagram on the Symphony 2. I then slotted them into the 32 pin connector which I got from Audi whilst looking at the wiring diagram on the RNS then had it coded. Works a treat.

    I still have the BOSE wire disconnected as it made no difference to the sound. I now think it sounds great. I do think you have to wait a few thousand miles for the whole stereo to "bed in" and loosen the speakers up a bit.

    Very happy with mine now. Volume still an issue but hey I can live with that especially as it only when on low
    #80

Share This Page