1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I'm guessing my turbo is dying?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Curt, Jul 2, 2013.

  1. Curt
    Offline

    Curt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Jul 2, 2013]
    2013 07 01 22 26 35 - YouTube

    Went out last night and it sounds like that...

    It was doing it previously but only a "chirp" in 1st when it was cold, then it'd be normal. I'm guessing it's on its' way out?

    So I'm now trying to prepare for it letting go, whenever that'll be.

    Problem is, I was planning to go KO3S... So putting another KO3 on is a set back. As I won't be able to go KO3S without a FMIC and a remap will I? As there won't be enough fuel and I can't afford it all at once. But I need a working car.

    /sadface
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 21, 2014]

  3. 16Klappe
    Offline

    16Klappe RacecaR forward is RacecaR backwards. Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,774
    Likes Received:
    1,140
    [Jul 2, 2013]
    Whaaaat. No.

    You can fit a K03s, of cause you can? Who told you that you can't?
    #2
  4. Curt
    Offline

    Curt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Jul 2, 2013]
    From researching, I read that you can fit one, yes. But without a remap (so running a stage 1), it will be very bad for the engine... Unless I've got that wrong?
    #3
  5. 16Klappe
    Offline

    16Klappe RacecaR forward is RacecaR backwards. Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,774
    Likes Received:
    1,140
    [Jul 2, 2013]
    Yeah. Totally wrong.

    You can fit a K03s with no worries.

    What modifications do you currently have?
    #4
  6. Curt
    Offline

    Curt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Jul 2, 2013]
    Okay, cool. It was an old-ish thread I was reading. Well that'd be ideal.

    Revo stage 1, Forge ****ter (I know this needs changing), S2k filter, 3" decat downpipe, straight through centre section, aftermarket back box.

    So it would be fine and run as per normal on its' current map?
    #5
  7. 16Klappe
    Offline

    16Klappe RacecaR forward is RacecaR backwards. Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,774
    Likes Received:
    1,140
    [Jul 2, 2013]
    Totally, no problems at all.

    You will want to get it mapped eventually, the way your AGU works is it sees the air at the MAF and at the MAF only. If it is sucking in more then it will fuel for it.

    Boost is controlled through the N75, and stage 1 a K03 and a K03s run at similar boost figures. The differences aren't large enough to totally change the map.

    Revo will upgrade you to stage 2 software for £50 anyway so you shouldn't have to wait long before making the most out of it.

    You must have an EML on anyway after the decat with only a stage 1?
    #6
  8. Curt
    Offline

    Curt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Jul 2, 2013]
    Well that's a relief!

    Yeah it'll definitely be in the pipeline, I was planning to go to R-Tech.

    Okay, I see.

    That's funny, I thought that was the case... But when I phoned JKM Performance a couple of years ago, they said Revo didn't do "stage 2" software for the AGU and their advice was basically a manual boost controller... I'll have to phone them again.

    Nope, no warning lights?

    This is the thread I read by the way:

    http://www.audi-sport.net/vb/a3-s3-forum-8l-chassis/89032-k03s-agu-revo-stage-1-a.html

    Thanks for all the help.
    #7
  9. Broken Byzan
    Online

    Broken Byzan Photographic Moderator Staff Member Moderator VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Apr 26, 2004
    Messages:
    12,774
    Likes Received:
    324
    [Jul 2, 2013]
    AGU don't have MIL lights.

    I'd run actuator only as it will boost spike causing periods of lean running because the management isn't very clever at coping. It will boost similar levels but move more air, the ECU will do a little to compensate, but i wouldn't call it "safe" unless you run N75 off electrically . If it was the same map more or less Jardo, why do people bother mapping it, it's not just the boost
    #8
  10. 16Klappe
    Offline

    16Klappe RacecaR forward is RacecaR backwards. Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,774
    Likes Received:
    1,140
    [Jul 2, 2013]
    I always forget ME3.5 cars have no EML, despite having driven them for years.

    I know plenty of people who have run k03s's on K03 mapped cars for a couple of months with no issues.

    Depends how bothered you are, ME3.5 is thick enough not to care too much.

    The differences aren't huge at stage one. Personally, I wouldn't bother. But I'm a special breed.
    #9
  11. Curt
    Offline

    Curt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Jul 2, 2013]
    Well if it will run it fine, then I'll go straight for a KO3S. I just don't want to end up doing more damage... Money is tight at the moment, so I'm going to have to do it in stages when I can.

    Did anyone listen to the video by the way?
    #10
  12. 16Klappe
    Offline

    16Klappe RacecaR forward is RacecaR backwards. Supporter

    Joined:
    Sep 16, 2008
    Messages:
    5,774
    Likes Received:
    1,140
    [Jul 2, 2013]
    Haven't listened to the video yet.

    My recommendation would be to fit the K03s and unplug the N75 as Mark says. It will make it feel like a standard car. Then once you have the £50 get the map updated.

    But the car will be totally usable.
    #11
  13. superkarl
    Offline

    superkarl MAN OF STEEL

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2010
    Messages:
    7,867
    Likes Received:
    1,297
    [Jul 2, 2013]
    Yep. sounds bloody awful and id be very surprised if its not the turbo!
    #12
  14. Curt
    Offline

    Curt Member

    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2009
    Messages:
    225
    Likes Received:
    18
    [Jul 2, 2013]
    Okay, fair enough. I'll have to call JKM again and see if things have changed, as I say when I last spoke to them there was no stage 2 map for the AGU. If that was the case it'd be no problem and I'd get it mapped straight away :)




    Oh yeah, it does sound awful and it is the turbo, just trying work out how long I've got :laugh:
    #13

Share This Page