1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IHI Roller bearing turbo

Discussion in 'The Project Room' started by RichA3Turbo, Aug 23, 2004.

  1. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    Here are a few pictures of the turbo kit as supplied by Jabba sport:

    [​IMG]
    The turbine side of the exhaust. You can see the turbine and also the wastegate.
    [​IMG]
    This is a pic of the whole kit as supplied. Consists of (from left to right, top to bottom):
    • intercooler boost pipe
    • Coolant feed pipe
    • Jabbasport cast exhaust manifold
    • Coolant return pipe
    • VF-34 Roller bearing type turbo (as used on Scooby WRX STI)
    • Cast exhaust housing
    I also got Bosch green top 440cc injectors and 4 bar FPR. (Which should actually not be used for the 1.8T due to the spray pattern. Go for genesis 415cc instead)

    [​IMG]

    The inlet side of the turbo. A view of the inlet, outlet, actuator.

    I've done the install...finished it on friday. All i can say is that it was MUCH harder than i thought it would be. Really is not a straight swap! The OE turbo and manifold .etc came out within 3 hours... really was a piece of p1ss to do and had no problems with seized bolts or anything so i was lucky there.

    The fun came when installing the new one!

    First problem i came accoss was getting the turbo into the car! it JUST fit in! really was a tight fit to get it behind the engine! Once in, there is plenty of room to work so its not a problem there.

    After getting the turbo in, i then bolted up the manifold to the head which was a bit awkward as the bolts are in really tight spots, but wasnt really a huge problem, juast a bit irritating when it takes 20 minutes to do up one bolt!

    After doing this, i start to connect up the oil feed pipe. This proves to be the hardest part of the install! Basically, it wont fit! ITs impossible. When you put it on the turbo, then try and fit the turbo onto the manifold, the turbo sits about 5-6mm away from where it needs to be which causes a big problem! After trying to bend the oil line and generally ;1ssing about with it for 2 hours i get annoyes and give up! Went round to a hydraulic specialist locally and got him to make up a flexible oil line for me with the correct banjo ends... cos an extra £20 but solved my problem! So i get home and go to install the line. I had left the OE one attached to the turbo so i go to unscrew the banjo bolt with the wrench, but after a 1/4 turn of the wrench it goes all loose...reach down and pull the bolt up and to my horror, the bolt had snapped and left the thread in the turbo /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/shocked.gif I was NOT happy! I had to remove the manifold, remove the turbo take it to an engineering firm locally adn get them to remove the remaining thread whilst making sure not to leave any remains of metal in the hole! Luckily it came out ok as it wasnt tight in (VERY LUCKY INDEED!). Once i got home again it was too late to do anything so i gave up for the day! Being in such a bad mood, its probably a good thing i didnt continue!

    So friday was a very productive day! managed to refit the manifold, connect up all the fluid line, mount the turbo on the manifold, finish connecting up the intercooler. All that remains for me to do is connect the TT intake pipe, with all the hoses that come off of that, reconnect up the intercooler pipework, finish off the bumper and refit it, drop it off the axle stands and give it a clean, ready to go to AmD next week for the remap and exhaust downpipe fabrication. By next thursday, it will be ready to roll and be one quick car! Oh i SOOO cant wait! a whole 9 days is going to be agony!

    Will report back with more pics in a few days when i get myself together!

    Cheers

    Rich
    Last edited: Aug 14, 2009
    #1
  2. cybrey
    Offline

    cybrey Member

    Joined:
    Feb 16, 2004
    Messages:
    331
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry to hear about the bolt.. and you were definatly right to walk away and start again another day .. hope the rest of it goes smoothly /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile.gif
    #2
  3. Mike.M
    Offline

    Mike.M Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2003
    Messages:
    1,630
    Likes Received:
    63
    I think you should give up and give me the parts to test /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif


    On a serious note but, I know what you mean about walking away and coming back when you have cooled down..........but at the same time you want to get it done quickly so you can drive it
    #3
  4. jayfrts
    Offline

    jayfrts bouncing off the limiter!!!!

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    0
    Rich,

    Didn't you take any picks mid install for us sad bods on here!!

    If yes............get erm up!

    #4
  5. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [ QUOTE ]
    HTC said:
    Most annoying when things don't go to plan! :-(

    So have you brought the oil feed pipe issue up with Jabbasport. Perhaps they mistakenly sent you the wrong part?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Very annoying indeed!

    Jabba APPARENTLY use the original oil feed and return pipework! Return fits fine but is a bast*rd to fit, but the feed pipe doesnt fit at all! Not yet brought it up with Jabba but will do when its all done.

    Rich
    #5
  6. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [ QUOTE ]
    S3 Mike said:
    I think you should give up and give me the parts to test /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif


    On a serious note but, I know what you mean about walking away and coming back when you have cooled down..........but at the same time you want to get it done quickly so you can drive it

    [/ QUOTE ]


    hahahaha.. likely!

    After doing it on my A3, there is no way I would attempt it on an S3 simply because there is NO room at the bottom of the engine due to the transfer box...there are some parts in the process that can only be done from under the car which would make it near impossible without having rubber arms!

    Rich
    #6
  7. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [ QUOTE ]
    jayfrst said:
    Rich,

    Didn't you take any picks mid install for us sad bods on here!!

    If yes............get erm up!



    [/ QUOTE ]

    I didnt im afraid...however, they really wouldnt be too interesting as it would have been open space behind the engine. I will take a few pics tonight of the turbo installed.

    The problem im having at the moment is getting the TIP onto the turbo inlet... this is a real basta*d! The TIP is smaller than the intake you see so its a tight fit but it DOES go on...tried before installing everything, but theres so little room to get anything under the hose to pull it over the inlet. Very frustrating! hopefully the weather will be better tonight so i can do it then. Have to drop the turbo off the manifold to do it too... Only 3 bolts tho and take about 1 minute to do.

    Rich
    #7
  8. Gambba
    Offline

    Gambba Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2003
    Messages:
    1,361
    Likes Received:
    1
    [ QUOTE ]
    RichA3Turbo said:
    Removing the driveshat WOULD make things much easier as you could probably drop the turbo out and putthe new one in from the bottom. Its gets in the way a bit especially for connecting up the oil return pipe (this was a f****** c*** of a job!!! had to put bolt in socket, put that through the bolt hole, put the gasket on that, then manoeuver it into place.

    [/ QUOTE ]

    So true about the driveshaft, and considered doing it when changing my turbo, but considering only a month before i had replaced one CV joint and both boots...I was not in the mood to be taking it off again!

    And the oil pipes are just a complete pain in the arse, no room anywhere to get at the feckers! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/burningmad.gif

    At least the end result will be worth all the foul mouthing....by the way how much skin are you knuckles down on now?
    #8
  9. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [ QUOTE ]
    Gambba said:
    At least the end result will be worth all the foul mouthing....by the way how much skin are you knuckles down on now?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Most definately!

    Well on knuckle on my right hand i reckon hit tendon! lol. Put ALOT of force on a wrench (probably most of my body weight) and it suddenly gave way and my fist went full pelt into tarmac! OUCH! thats along with lots of little cuts, grazes, and scratched to [censored] underside of arms! Well atleast i can say "this scar is for this and this scar is for that" lol

    Rich /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/lol.gif
    #9
  10. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    Yeah, it will be interesting to compare AMD's mapping as aposed to one of Jabba's maps.
    #10
  11. Leddy
    Offline

    Leddy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hey Rich you're certainly gonna have a hell of a lot of fun with that upgrade.

    I bet you're like a kid before Christmas waiting to get this finished - must be driving you crazy /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/crazy.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/crazy.gif
    #11
  12. DavidR
    Offline

    DavidR Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    1
    [ QUOTE ]
    RichA3Turbo said:
    Put ALOT of force on a wrench (probably most of my body weight) and it suddenly gave way

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Crikey! It must have been a difficult job with ALL your body weight [snigger] /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/tongue.gif

    My preferred method to remove stubbord audi bolts is to use a 18" breaker bar attached to a 4 foot scaffold pole and then balance the combined weight of me and Glen on the end of it. A not insonsiderable force. I found the use of a Glen most helpful for such bolts and recommend you rent one out for the next job Rich!! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/smile_smoking.gif
    #12
  13. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    Its easier to shock bolts free usually. Impact wrenches work well. I have a snapon cordless one which hasn't let me down yet.
    #13
  14. DavidR
    Offline

    DavidR Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,297
    Likes Received:
    1
    HTC - the bolts in question were out of reach of the impact wrench sadly /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif
    #14
  15. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [ QUOTE ]
    David R said:
    HTC - the bolts in question were out of reach of the impact wrench sadly /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    same
    #15
  16. nervus
    Offline

    nervus Active Member

    Joined:
    Apr 6, 2004
    Messages:
    1,190
    Likes Received:
    46
    WOW - that will be one quick car. I bet you respect it more with doing the work yourself too - no more premature shutdowns i bet, full two minute rundown after every run?

    Makes me wonder, has anyone fitted a turbo timer and will they work with the audi alarm system/ key code thing?
    #16
  17. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [ QUOTE ]
    nervus said:
    WOW - that will be one quick car. I bet you respect it more with doing the work yourself too - no more premature shutdowns i bet, full two minute rundown after every run?

    Makes me wonder, has anyone fitted a turbo timer and will they work with the audi alarm system/ key code thing?

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Definately... I look after the car well anyway...now even more so. It will need it! In theory because its not running at its limit like the K03, it should run cooler which is always good. With the FMIC too it should be excellent. But yeah full cool downs for brakes and turbo.

    Rich
    #17
  18. dickys3
    Offline

    dickys3 Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2003
    Messages:
    2,955
    Likes Received:
    1
    [ QUOTE ]
    nervus said:

    Reminds me of fitting new grips to my BMX!

    [/ QUOTE ]

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh_roll.gif Classic!
    #18
  19. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [ QUOTE ]
    nervus said:
    Oh well, try heating it in hot/boiling water as it will stretch and become more deformable! It eill defo help!

    Reminds me of fitting new grips to my BMX!

    [/ QUOTE ]

    haha yeah!

    Yep will soak it in boiling water for 15 minutes or so and get it nice and soft...hopefully i can manage it without removing the turbo... AGAIN!!! Tis been on and off the manifold about 5 times /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/crazy.gif

    Rich
    #19
  20. Drill
    Offline

    Drill Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    nervus said:
    Oh well, try heating it in hot/boiling water as it will stretch and become more deformable! It eill defo help!

    Reminds me of fitting new grips to my BMX!

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Thing is, aren't Samco hoses designed to prevent just that? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #20
  21. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [ QUOTE ]
    Drill said:
    [ QUOTE ]
    nervus said:
    Oh well, try heating it in hot/boiling water as it will stretch and become more deformable! It eill defo help!

    Reminds me of fitting new grips to my BMX!

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Thing is, aren't Samco hoses designed to prevent just that? /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    No.. they can actually stretch quite a bit... Waht im doing is forcing in a metal sleeve to open it out and then this will open the end up, and then i just have to force it onto the turbo. Sounds easy.. i know it wont be!

    Rich
    #21
  22. Drill
    Offline

    Drill Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    0
    So the TT pipe was too large then? By how much if so? Was trying to figure out a way of mounting an S3 or TT intake pipe on to a K03 /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/angel.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

    Anyway, good luck /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #22
  23. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [ QUOTE ]
    Drill said:
    So the TT pipe was too large then? By how much if so? Was trying to figure out a way of mounting an S3 or TT intake pipe on to a K03 /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/angel.gif /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif

    Anyway, good luck /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    It wasnt the pipe diamtere that was too large (was in fact still a bit small) but its the overall dimensions. With it on the turbo, it was too wide and hit the gearbox cables and i couldnt get the turbo back on the manifold. The best bet is the samco TIP... Straight swap and will give you a better intake..smoother and generally better made.

    Rich

    Rich
    #23
  24. Drill
    Offline

    Drill Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    928
    Likes Received:
    0
    Gotcha [​IMG]

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/beerchug.gif
    #24
  25. Dean_T
    Offline

    Dean_T Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    90
    after my Jabba remap my car still scares me a little when the power catches me off-guard

    although i would like to get the funds together for a turbo upgrade to a K04

    Rich, yours should be more than enough fun when its done chap! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh.gif
    #25
  26. Leddy
    Offline

    Leddy Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2003
    Messages:
    213
    Likes Received:
    0
    [ QUOTE ]
    Dean_T said:
    after my Jabba remap my car still scares me a little when the power catches me off-guard

    although i would like to get the funds together for a turbo upgrade to a K04

    Rich, yours should be more than enough fun when its done chap! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/laugh.gif

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Hi Dean,

    Have you posted before/after plots of your Jabba remap?
    #26
  27. Dean_T
    Offline

    Dean_T Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2004
    Messages:
    526
    Likes Received:
    90
    no not yet, cant get my hands on a scanner as yet

    i guess i'll have to get some batteries for my digi-cam and get it done that way
    #27
  28. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    So what TIP do Jabba usually use for the IHI inlet??
    #28
  29. GolfTTish
    Offline

    GolfTTish Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Jabba are building their own silicon intake hose, but it's was going to be ready in 2 weeks, 3 months ago. Current estimated delivery is 2 weeks.

    Jabba have only fitted 4 kits, and they've fabricated an ally intake and then cut the standard hose and slipped it over the ally piece.

    This is too complicated for a production kit, so they're sorting a silicon one (eventualy)
    #29
  30. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    Ah, I see.

    So does anyone know what the subaru intake looks like as these turbos are fitted to them.

    A cut and shut from one of those possible??
    #30
  31. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    John beat me to it!

    As he says they fabricate the bottom out of alloy pipe and slip over the top end of the OE one.

    My current plan is to fabricate the botom out of 2.5" stainless i have (cut at 45 degrees and re-welded to make 90 degrees), attach it with silicone hose and then modify the SAMCO TIP i bought to fit over the stainless. Took me ages (with some help from john..Cheers mate!!!) to figure it out as nowhere could give me a definate answer what needed doing. Going to speak to AmD about the map when i take it up about the map. Looking for about 1.3 bar sustained boost and an increased redline to about 7500rpm. Going to start saving for the engine rebuild with S3 rods and JE low comp pistons so i can wind up the power a bit more.
    Rich
    #31
  32. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [ QUOTE ]
    HTC said:
    Ah, I see.

    So does anyone know what the subaru intake looks like as these turbos are fitted to them.

    A cut and shut from one of those possible??

    [/ QUOTE ]

    Looking at the forge website, it looks a bit large to fit in the space still /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/frown.gif also its £200! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/crazy.gif
    #32
  33. HTC
    Offline

    HTC Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Messages:
    3,413
    Likes Received:
    0
    Okay, just a thought. We want to see this car finished as much as you do!! :)
    #33
  34. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    [ QUOTE ]
    HTC said:
    Okay, just a thought. We want to see this car finished as much as you do!! :)

    [/ QUOTE ]

    /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif Im getting a bit excitd as it nears completion, and from what Johns said about his, i cant wait for the results!

    Rich
    #34
  35. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    Ive atleast completed the FMIC install... plumbed in from turbo outlet to throttle body and the bumper is back on so i am getting somewhere at least! Looks pretty damn mean! Going to get the pipework powder coated black and the intercooler core anodised black to make it a little less obvious!
    #35
  36. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    Also got a definate figure for my insurance too from adrian flux.. £1300! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/groovy.gif Not at all bad! considering i paid £1100 last year for STANDARD car! Thats EVERYTHING fully declared with a 5000 mile limit on mileage! Will be trailering it to car shows from next year onwards to keep the milege down...also means i can run it on the drag strips completly empty and get some good times..

    John, we have to have a run against each other at GTi next year! Would be a very close one i think! /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/grin.gif
    #36
  37. GolfTTish
    Offline

    GolfTTish Member

    Joined:
    Jan 20, 2003
    Messages:
    104
    Likes Received:
    0
    Greg the conversion requires completely new software, as it's running a larger maf, larger injectors, and a much larger turbo.
    #37
  38. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    Yep.. I doubt it would even run on the existing software.. fuelling especially would be WAY off! AmD are mapping it for me next week and they are also fabricating the downpipe. This is bing liked to a Milltek hi-flow sports cat and then onto my eisting Milltek exhaust system.

    Rich
    #38
  39. gc48067
    Offline

    gc48067 Member

    Joined:
    May 30, 2004
    Messages:
    278
    Likes Received:
    0
    Cheers.

    I have a K04 conversion on my A4TQS and am starting to wonder if I made the right decision. At the time there wasn't much information on other options - I am expecting about 240-250 BHP when everything is finally sorted - the install got seriously complicated when engine problems were discovered; now have a new bottom end which I am having to run in /ubbthreads/images/graemlins/mad.gif

    If anyone has any suggestions guess I could always sell the K04.....
    #39
  40. RichA3Turbo
    Offline

    RichA3Turbo ...Watching you! Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2003
    Messages:
    5,089
    Likes Received:
    4
    The IHI kit is made for the transverse engine only unfortunately... the turbo orientation is completely different on the A4 to the A3/Golf .etc. Must be a way but would require serious moification to turbo and manifold.

    Rich
    #40

Share This Page