1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

IGO 8 on RNS-E

Discussion in 'A3/S3/Sportback (8P Chassis)' started by TheAnticitizen1, Feb 24, 2014.

  1. TheAnticitizen1
    Offline

    TheAnticitizen1 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2013
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    4
    [Feb 24, 2014]
    Hi All,

    I've been looking around the internet (dangerous I know!) for running alternative navigation on the RNS-E. I have a RNS-E with the CD/TV button with 2012 maps however It really annoys me that I cannot see street names when I'm driving. To me viewing the nearby streets is really important when navigating as you may be looking for a specific road ahead of your current location.

    In my golf I had a waywell Chinese navigation unit which TBH made the expensive RNS-E look retro (to start the navigation loads from an SD card not the DVD player) It ran IGO 8 maps which I thought was fantastic I could clearly see the road I was passing, which lane I should be in etc..

    I've found a few videos from our friends in Russia where they use an RNS-E with IGO 8 maps however I cannot find any information on how they achieved this!

    RNS-E and NAVI IGO.avi - YouTube

    Does anyone know how it is done?

    I am a fan on my R-NSE but If I'm honest its flaws are steering me towards buying one of the Chinese units...
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Oct 31, 2014]

  3. fangio
    Offline

    fangio Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,083
    Likes Received:
    104
    [Feb 24, 2014]
    You can bring street names up, have a play while you're parked up! When you have the map up, just turn the selector knob and it will zoom in or out to different ranges around the car.
    #2
  4. S.
    Offline

    S. Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2009
    Messages:
    1,470
    Likes Received:
    224
    [Feb 24, 2014]
    doubt it's easy. on the video is a touchscreen unit too.
    #3
  5. bez101
    Offline

    bez101 Yorkshire & Humber Rep. Regional Rep VCDS Map User

    Joined:
    Jul 8, 2008
    Messages:
    8,924
    Likes Received:
    528
    [Feb 24, 2014]
    im sure its an rns-e unit with the inners swapped around
    #4
  6. Sidhu88
    Offline

    Sidhu88 Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2012
    Messages:
    801
    Likes Received:
    74
    [Feb 24, 2014]
    It is an RNS-E where they've changed the screen on internals to make it run the way it does. As mentioned previously, street detail depends on the speed at which you're traveling. The rns-e will automatically zoom out to less detail the faster you go, vice versa. As far as i'm aware theres no real solution to making the maps better aside from changing the unit altogether to something aftermarket.
    #5
  7. hollow
    Offline

    hollow Active Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2009
    Messages:
    759
    Likes Received:
    44
    [Feb 24, 2014]
    they have used the Multifunction navigation control unit which they sell on there site with the addition of a touchscreen overlay on the rnse screen .

    probably not that difficult to achieve the touch screen ,but the price is in rubels . 17,056.00 RUB = 290.18 GBP

    used to have a full car pc setup in a mk5 golf some years back . so can be done .
    #6

Share This Page