1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ignition live- bluetooth

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by M4KTT, Aug 4, 2006.

  1. M4KTT
    Offline

    M4KTT Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2003
    Messages:
    96
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 4, 2006]
    Anyone give me any hinters into the best location to pick an ignition live up from. the ck-7w kit i've just fitted stays permanently on as the ignition live wire isnt needed. so I've cut the perm live wire and want to pick up an ig live( 2a load max). so my bluetooth isnt on permanently.
    my phone stays hooked up no matter where i am in the house otherwise!

    ive fitted the unit behind the glovebox, not stripped the drivers side but havent seen anything that i could tap into.

    help fellas!
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Dec 26, 2014]

  3. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Aug 4, 2006]
    you can either pick it up off the fusebox, the fuse for "Radio S-Kont" will give you live until the keys are pulled out, or you can pick the same connection off the back of the HU, but your's being an 02 model may not be wired for this, and getting the HU out can be a hassle, but ultimately easier to wire up.
    #2
  4. MattS3
    Offline

    MattS3 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2005
    Messages:
    559
    Likes Received:
    24
    [Aug 5, 2006]
    #3
  5. jediknight
    Offline

    jediknight Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2004
    Messages:
    835
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Aug 10, 2006]
    or do what i did and install your own switch hidden under the dash.. then.. if you dont want the bluetooth on (car full of people for instance) then you dont have to switch it on.
    #4
  6. filipharvey
    Offline

    filipharvey Amusing Tagline

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 12, 2006]
    After reading this post half an hour ago, I thought it was about time I put a switched live to my sony headunit, to save me leaving it on all the while. Cigarette lighter is perm live in mine, so I had a look elsewhere.

    Nearest switched live to HU is the hazard light switch. Spliced in on that and the jobs a goodun!

    Half expected interferance when indicating etc. but thats not the case, works well, minimum effort!
    #5
  7. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    32
    [Aug 12, 2006]
    Well if your hazards only work with the ignition on then there's something wrong with the car!
    #6
  8. filipharvey
    Offline

    filipharvey Amusing Tagline

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Aug 13, 2006]
    Thats not what I said! The hazard switch is illuminated when the ignition is on and the indicators are also run through the switch, hence the switched live feed!
    Of course the hazards work when the ignition is off!!!!
    #7
  9. Syzygy
    Offline

    Syzygy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 22, 2006]
    I'm planning to install a CK-7W this weekend into my S3. Is it really ok to take the switched live from the hazard switch? Does it not draw too much power from the interior lighting circuit?
    #8
  10. filipharvey
    Offline

    filipharvey Amusing Tagline

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2006
    Messages:
    519
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Nov 22, 2006]
    Well I've had no problems. It seems a pretty hefty feed and it has had no adverse effects on any other electrical items in the car.
    #9

Share This Page