1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

Ignition/immob issue, please help!

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by Jimmeh, Jan 5, 2008.

  1. Jimmeh
    Offline

    Jimmeh Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,438
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jan 5, 2008]
    I've spent all day ripping apart the dash on my A3. I'm happy to say that I fixed my blower issue (see here..), but have no come across a slightly bigger issue.. The car won't start.

    This is how it went..

    after testing the blowers, I thought I'd try get in and behind my clocks, as the LCD that displays the MPG, time, temperature etc wasn't illuminated. The backlight (red) was there, but no digits. Silly me over here thought it could be a bulb; evidently not. It's getting dark, things are being put back together, I get to a point where I can leave it.. Just before I give up for the night I decide to re-connect the battery and test a few things..

    The Engine Immob light continually flashes, and when I strike the car up, it instantly dies. Is this because I dissconected the battery?!

    Now, I figure it's the small thin black key I have with my spare, that it used to disarm the immob? Yes? no? It's too dark for me to try anything now but I must sort this for tomorrow... I can't beleive what a waste of a day it's been..

    [​IMG]

    :(
    #1
  2. Ads

    Ads

    [Sep 17, 2014]

  3. Jimmeh
    Offline

    Jimmeh Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,438
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jan 5, 2008]
    This is one of those jobs that I wished I'd never started...

    So, i've refered to the Owners Manual, and it states that if a battery has been disscon, and reconnected, then the key will need to be left in place for atleast 5 seconds prior to starting the engine. I did this, and it striked up, but died instatly, again. The little car with a key icon flashes, endlessly.

    I'm so sad :(
    #2
  4. AndyMac
    Offline

    AndyMac Moderator Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    30
    [Jan 5, 2008]
    Yes the reader coil isn't reading the immobilser code from the key for some reason. Have you tried the spare key (if you have one)?
    Also try moving the steering column up/down as there was an issue on some Audi's with a loose wire or sometimes the reader coil wire being too close to the other electrics for it to read correctly.
    #3
  5. madvw
    Offline

    madvw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jan 5, 2008]
    the thin black key is the emergency "wallet" key, and is to be used if you lose the main key.

    Have you dislodged the reader coil when you removed the steering cowl?
    #4
  6. simch
    Offline

    simch Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 22, 2004
    Messages:
    2,028
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 5, 2008]
    Andymac, how do you know all this obscure stuff fella? You need to get out more! !! lol!L!L!
    #5
  7. Jimmeh
    Offline

    Jimmeh Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,438
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jan 5, 2008]
    Turns out, I haven't. I tried the "wallet" key (thanks madvw) and nothing.. I have the spare, which in the manual is refered to as the Workshop Key (has a little workshop symbol on it..) I will go try this now..

    The steering column 'could' be the culprit.. it's all still in pieces, so maybe I shouldn't worry so much. Once it's all back together (which looks like a pain!) thing's might start to brighten up. For reference, what does the reader coil look like? come tomorrow, I can make sure everything is a.o.k

    thanks all.
    #6
  8. Jimmeh
    Offline

    Jimmeh Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,438
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jan 5, 2008]
    I've just tried the spare "workshop" key, and it's just the same. It fired up, but dies instantly.

    One thing I have noticed though is the illumination on the dials, Climate control unit etc is very dull... the adjuster wheel is set to max; could this lead us to anything?
    #7
  9. Jimmeh
    Offline

    Jimmeh Active Member

    Joined:
    Mar 7, 2006
    Messages:
    1,438
    Likes Received:
    15
    [Jan 5, 2008]
    Please, can anyone else thing of other ideas? Things for me to check tomorrow...

    If I can't get her running tomorrow I'm done for! :(
    #8
  10. madvw
    Offline

    madvw Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2005
    Messages:
    2,488
    Likes Received:
    2
    [Jan 5, 2008]
    nothing really, I'd just start by removing the cluster and re-connecting it to make sure. How far did you take the cluster apart?
    #9
  11. rodenal
    Offline

    rodenal Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,992
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 5, 2008]
    Have you disconnected the wire from the barrel on the column and maybe not reconnected it? That'd be the first thing to check if it's allstill in bits.

    If not try giving the column a knock from the bottom, with the key out of the barrel and door open, then close and try again. If the coil isn't reading right this should sort it for u, lots of the a3's do this intermittently
    #10
  12. steve1975l
    Offline

    steve1975l Member

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2004
    Messages:
    595
    Likes Received:
    1
    [Jan 6, 2008]
    I have seen this before when the cluster lost comms with the ECU. Did you try to start the car or ignition on with the cluster removed? If so just follow the ECU swapping procedure on ross-tech.

    I would remove the cluster and check the pins on the back of the cluster as you could have bent some/bad connection.
    #11
  13. Mo-S3
    Offline

    Mo-S3 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2003
    Messages:
    708
    Likes Received:
    0
    [Jan 6, 2008]
    If you have shorted any of the pins whilst trying to fix the lcd on the cluster even with it not in situ then you may have damaged the cluster. This wrecks the built in immobiliser in the cluster. Unfortunately even audi cant reprogramme them.
    Hopefully you have not done this.
    #12

Share This Page