1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

ICE install whistle

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by QUATTRO_REP, Jan 3, 2007.

  1. QUATTRO_REP

    QUATTRO_REP Diesel Power!

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hi all and happy new Year!!:thumbsup: :o.k:

    Jus a quick question, just fitted an amp and sub to the OE headunit in my A3 using the original loom from the crappy sub, just i get an annoying whistle thro the speakers now when any other electrical stuff is on, and is linked to the engine revs, so prob gettin interferiace from the electrical system some where.
    any ideas? soloutions?

    Cheers
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. rodenal

    rodenal Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2006
    Messages:
    1,992
    Likes Received:
    0
    Maybe try just putting better insulation round the audio cables?
     
  4. Randomjim

    Randomjim Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2006
    Messages:
    2,752
    Likes Received:
    3
    You might need a ground loop isolator to cut out the interferance. But what did you mean by the original loom from the sub?
     
  5. jojo

    jojo Looking for Boost!
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3 Quattro

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    27,176
    Likes Received:
    2,326
    Check the earth on the subwoofer is a nice clean contact, I had the alternator whine when I had my Andymac stealth sub fitted, so had a ground loop isolator fitted which cured my problem.
     
  6. QUATTRO_REP

    QUATTRO_REP Diesel Power!

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    might be the grounding, i jus screwed it onto an exsisting bolt and didnt bother sanding away any paint.
    by the original loom i mean from the OE Sub, the pre-outs from the old sub is a simple plug conector that andymac gave us the pin out diagram. which was very usefull. i used the pre outs to drive the new amp.i used to drive my new amp.
    where can i get a ground loop isolator from?
     
  7. jojo

    jojo Looking for Boost!
    Staff Member Moderator Audi S3 Quattro

    Joined:
    Sep 4, 2003
    Messages:
    27,176
    Likes Received:
    2,326
    I got mine from Halfords for around 12 quid, it goes onto the pre-out jacks on the amp side, any decent Audio store should stock this item.
     
  8. QUATTRO_REP

    QUATTRO_REP Diesel Power!

    Joined:
    Oct 31, 2006
    Messages:
    229
    Likes Received:
    0
    cheers mate, i'll have to go get one. just googled it and sounds like whats happening.
     

Share This Page