1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I phone 3GS

Discussion in 'Audi S4/A4/A4 Cab (B8 Chassis)' started by Merlyn, Dec 5, 2009.

  1. Merlyn
    Offline

    Merlyn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    My B8 a4 is "high" phone prepped and I just bought a cradle for my I-phone ,thing is can't get it to work in the cradle ,works fine off it thru normal bluetooth connection, am I missing something?:think:
    #1
  2. scoTTy
    Offline

    scoTTy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,959
    Likes Received:
    9
    Are you turning the Blurtooth off when in the cradle? Some phones (my Nokia 6300 for example) use the cradle purely for the external aerial and charging.

    The actual functionality still goes via Bluetooth.

    If this isn't the case then I'm afraid I've no idea.
    #2
  3. Merlyn
    Offline

    Merlyn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    No Scotty, I just leave bluetooth on permanent then it connects as soon as I turn the ignition on.
    #3
  4. scoTTy
    Offline

    scoTTy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,959
    Likes Received:
    9
    I'm confused. I thought Phone Prep High included the SAP module in the cradle dock. Have you removed this and added the IPhone one instead?
    Last edited: Dec 6, 2009
    #4
  5. Merlyn
    Offline

    Merlyn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry mate i've misled you,I meant it connects thru Bluetooth without being in the cradle, as soon as I clip it in it dosen't work.
    #5
  6. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    So when clipping into the cradle BT stops working & no phone use at all in the car when in cradle?
    #6
  7. Merlyn
    Offline

    Merlyn Member

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2007
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Thats correct.
    #7
  8. NHN
    Offline

    NHN Modmetractor

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2008
    Messages:
    27,235
    Likes Received:
    1,220
    I wonder if you have a coding issue mate, cause it would seem its charging ok but cradle isnt active with car properly, it obviously discons the BT which would seem sensible if its in the cradle so probably switches profiles that would disable BT, assuming when you remove from cradle the BT auto switches on again, these are my thoughts but I dont know the B8 that well, but stands to reason & looking at coding & thinking outside the box it points me to this, example would be from this link below has options for enabling/disabling the cradle, do you have vagcom to check coding?

    http://wiki.ross-tech.com/index.php/Audi_A4_(8K)_Telephone_Bluetooth#Coding

    This link shows the B8 tel coding at bottom of page for multiple PR coded B8's, have a nosey.

    http://wiki.ross-tech.com/index.php/Audi_A4/S4/RS4/Cabriolet_(8K)
    #8
  9. MattW
    Offline

    MattW Reverse

    Joined:
    Nov 5, 2006
    Messages:
    236
    Likes Received:
    0
    doesn't high use RSAP which is not supported by the iPhone???
    #9
  10. scoTTy
    Offline

    scoTTy Active Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2003
    Messages:
    1,959
    Likes Received:
    9
    That's what I was thinking but I also thought you got the RSAP adaptor in the cradle instead of it being empty.
    #10

Share This Page