I hope you find this as amusing as I did… no R8 for me I’m keeping the RS3

MBK

Reaction score
Website
www.youtube.com
As some of you will know I often flirt (& probably bore you) with the idea of owning an R8. I had one of those calls this week:

“We’ve got a lovely black one owner R8 with all the right options and we’ve just reduced the price. Come and have a drive.”

I read this as actually meaning we’ve had an R8 on the forecourt for a few weeks/months and can’t shift it, we think you might be the sucker we can off load it to and it’s only reduced because it was overpriced to begin with.

Even though I work in the field of persuasion I’m no less susceptible to it…so I said yes to the drive.

It’s at this point I have to tell you the history of this particular R8 was even more interesting than the drive. I’ve omitted details of the car, garage and salesperson on purpose. The R8 is of course a wonderful car to drive but those are tales for another time when I eventually own one.

One not so careful owner…

Whenever I look at such a new, one owner (not a demo) and low mileage car I’m always intrigued as to why it’s back with the dealer so I ask the question. So there we are sitting in the car after the test drive and I was not quite expecting this answer.

“It’s a lovely car but why was it traded in so new and with so few miles on the clock?” I ask.

“Ah well the previous owners wife returned the car to us.” The salesperson says with a mischievous grin.

Being well versed in the power of silence I say nothing as an invitation to hear the rest of the story.

The salesperson continues “It seems the previous owner was caught in a moment of [pause] romantic indiscretion in the vehicle by his less than impressed wife, who also told the story to anyone in the dealership who would listen.”

I think my face showed a mix of humour and surprise because they quickly added…