1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

I Fitted clarion headunit and the rear speakers don't work? help

Discussion in 'In-Car Entertainment' started by technics100, Jul 2, 2005.

  1. technics100

    technics100 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    12
    I have just removed my concert II headunit and fitted a clarion Mp3 headunit. now that I have fitted the unit, the rear speakers don't work. I think the rear speakers are active/powered, does anyone know how to get them to work with my headunit? my headunit unit has 2 pre-outs if that helps?

    cheers
     
  2. Google AdSense Guest Advertisement



    to hide this advert.
  3. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    38
    Either wire the rear pre-outs into the mini-ISO block using the RCA-Mini-ISO adapter, or wire up the rear speaker outs straight to the rear speakers and by-pass the useless Audi amp
    RCA adapter
     
  4. technics100

    technics100 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    12
    i dont suppose you know how to wire the connector?
     
  5. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    38
    The diagram's on top of the old Concert II HU. The connections you want are RR, LR, COM & switch (remote on)
    Looks like this:
    [​IMG]
     
  6. technics100

    technics100 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    12
    will this work

    [​IMG]

    I am just going to connect the switch to the other switch on the top of the connector.
     
  7. technics100

    technics100 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    12
    Good stuff, will give it a go later.

    Does the active speaker actually have an amp? or what is actually in the rear?
     
  8. 4 channel amp, I'm not a 100% certain without looking at the diags, but it may be better to connect all 4 line outs to the amps, rather than just the two.

    Craig
     
  9. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    38
    Bose has a 4ch amp, non Bose just a 2 ch rear amp
     
  10. technics100

    technics100 Member

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2004
    Messages:
    778
    Likes Received:
    12
    anyone know the specs for the rear amp / speakers. Yeah it just runs the rears as the front speakers work fine and run from the normal iso connector..
     
  11. AndyMac

    AndyMac Moderator
    Staff Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 10, 2003
    Messages:
    9,833
    Likes Received:
    38
    a massive 2 x 20w
     

Share This Page