1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to test can H and can L busses for interference?

Discussion in 'VCDS (formerly VAG-COM) forum' started by Lukeyb, Jul 23, 2014.

  1. Lukeyb

    Lukeyb Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    53
    Can anyone tell me how I can check can H and can L busses for interference?

    Many thanks

    Luke
     
  2. Advert Guest Advertisement


  3. john777w

    john777w Active Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2014
    Messages:
    647
    Likes Received:
    85
    Do you mean you want to identify which wire is Can h or l??
     
  4. Lukeyb

    Lukeyb Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    53
    I was on about like diagnostics for error checking, I went into optical bus diagnostics but it said my A3 doesn't have this, later I read that only MMI cars have the MOST system that this uses anyway though. Is this correct?
     
  5. Delboi

    Delboi New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    18
  6. Lukeyb

    Lukeyb Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    53
    The whole story is I asked around about a Bluetooth retrofit but it was too much ATM, I got hold of a setup, used genuine but when I try to code it in telephone 77 I get a too many communications errors to continue message, it was suggested that I do a diagnostic on can h and can l
     
  7. Delboi

    Delboi New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    18
    did you do the wiring yourself or was it plug and play?
     
  8. Lukeyb

    Lukeyb Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    53
    It has the plug n play loom
     
  9. Delboi

    Delboi New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2014
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    18
    It's not likely to be a wiring issue but more likely a defective unit, try and borrow one to test in your car
     
  10. Lukeyb

    Lukeyb Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    53
    I have arranged a replacement module so will have to wait for it to come. I had my car into Audi for something else and while I was there asked if they can check my wiring and see if they can check the module. There's nothing wrong with the cars wiring systems and they can't communicate with the module either. So it's definitely the module at fault.
     
  11. Lukeyb

    Lukeyb Active Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    397
    Likes Received:
    53
    Replacement module works fine it was a duff box
     

Share This Page