1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to secure the Jetex filter?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by DJ_Troopa, Nov 23, 2010.

  1. DJ_Troopa
    Offline

    DJ_Troopa K1 Driver

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,741
    Likes Received:
    13
    Well i'm looking to buy once again another MAF soon as i've had 2 die in 4 months! Crappy GSF if you ask me! They were the Bosch units too.

    Anywho.... i know vibrations can also cause the MAF to fail and i was wondering how people have secured their filters to stop these vibrations?

    Advice and pictures are appreciated!

    Thanks :)
    #1
  2. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    729
    I've made an heat shield for mine, doubles up as an anchor, i will get a pic up tonight
    #2
  3. DJ_Troopa
    Offline

    DJ_Troopa K1 Driver

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,741
    Likes Received:
    13
    That will be great Dave :)
    #3
  4. DJ_Troopa
    Offline

    DJ_Troopa K1 Driver

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,741
    Likes Received:
    13
    If anyone else has advice please let me know. I think this will be interesting for others too.

    Thanks

    Jay
    #4
  5. DaveA3
    Offline

    DaveA3 Audi A-Trizzle!

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,374
    Likes Received:
    14
    mine sits pretty tightly behind my battery dont really move. ill post a pic.

    [​IMG]

    but then again i have an A3 so probably irrelevent
    [​IMG]
    Last edited: Nov 23, 2010
    #5
  6. MURRAYS444
    Offline

    MURRAYS444 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    38
    Two zip ties attached to the strut brace its cheap and a bit nasty looking but it works!!!
    #6
  7. DJ_Troopa
    Offline

    DJ_Troopa K1 Driver

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,741
    Likes Received:
    13
    Scott - haha i done that with my last filter which was the Invo filter. It still wobbled quite a bit then!
    #7
  8. DaveA3
    Offline

    DaveA3 Audi A-Trizzle!

    Joined:
    Feb 25, 2010
    Messages:
    2,374
    Likes Received:
    14
    that reminds me i have my ignition amplifier cable tied to my jetex aswell maybe that helps
    #8
  9. A3Tom
    Offline

    A3Tom Smell my finger.

    Joined:
    Mar 3, 2009
    Messages:
    3,514
    Likes Received:
    11
    I run a pipercross one on mine and it came with a bracket to fix it to the airbox mounts. I wouldnt have thought it would be too tricky to knock something up to secure it.
    #9
  10. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,297
    Likes Received:
    678
    did the MAF fail dead low/no sensor signal or just read too low?
    Some have mounted via a bracket off the gbox a support mounted by those rubber bobbins to support yet isloate the maf sensor and clamp it to one of the 2 holes vacated by the screws which used to screw it to the airbox.
    #10
  11. DJ_Troopa
    Offline

    DJ_Troopa K1 Driver

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,741
    Likes Received:
    13
    My MAF readings are 200 g/s :( When i had the BMC i was doing 208 g/s, then after 2 months it went to 200 g/s. I bought the Invo and still the same. Funny how i need a new maf again! Drives me mad!

    Not sure what area you're talking about to secure the filter Bill?
    #11
  12. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,297
    Likes Received:
    678
    vibration kills maf's dead, it does'nt cause them to underread.

    I would look elsewhere as I fear you are chasing g/s figures and the cause lies elsewhere perhaps
    #12
    leeds_182 likes this.
  13. MURRAYS444
    Offline

    MURRAYS444 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2009
    Messages:
    790
    Likes Received:
    38
    I also kept the bottom part that holds the original air box it doesn't move much but I should really find something more secure!!!
    #13
  14. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    729
    Here are my pics made from aluminium, it touches the engine bonnet blanket so it is a fairly good seal, needs a little tweaking but it is solid.
    [​IMG]
    By d121m at 2010-11-23
    [​IMG]
    By d121m at 2010-11-23
    #14
  15. Speedy Steve
    Offline

    Speedy Steve Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2008
    Messages:
    1,250
    Likes Received:
    8
    Cable tie racing FTW
    #15
  16. DJ_Troopa
    Offline

    DJ_Troopa K1 Driver

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,741
    Likes Received:
    13
    That's what i've been thinking aswell. I've changed the breather hoses to the Forge ones and also changed the engine block breather valve as that was clogged full of **** and broken! Is there anything else you can suggest Bill as you suggested these 2 things to me before? Would a book leak test help? That's next on my list!


    Yeah i've got the bottom part too with the standard feed. The standard feed sits in a nice position in front of the filter.
    #16
  17. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,297
    Likes Received:
    678
    boost leak test will confirm any lingering losses yea. if none, then that can be eliminated
    #17
  18. DJ_Troopa
    Offline

    DJ_Troopa K1 Driver

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,741
    Likes Received:
    13
    Thanks for the pics Dave, looks neat! Did you make that yourself? I need something like that :)
    #18
  19. s3dave
    Offline

    s3dave TFSI Hybrid

    Joined:
    Nov 11, 2009
    Messages:
    10,120
    Likes Received:
    729
    Yes made it out of aluminium sheet, needs tweaking a little then i will start making them...
    #19
  20. JamJay
    Offline

    JamJay Member

    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2010
    Messages:
    188
    Likes Received:
    2
    I have mine secured with a Neuspeed shield.

    [​IMG]
    #20
  21. DJ_Troopa
    Offline

    DJ_Troopa K1 Driver

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,741
    Likes Received:
    13
    I've just spoken to Jabba who said they do their heat shield for £85.

    Bill - you have a Jabba one on your car don't you?
    #21
  22. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,297
    Likes Received:
    678
    LOL - no I dont have anything Jabba on my car for many years now
    #22
  23. DJ_Troopa
    Offline

    DJ_Troopa K1 Driver

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,741
    Likes Received:
    13
    Oh, i thought you had the heat shield though?
    #23
  24. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,297
    Likes Received:
    678
    nope. gone many years ago
    #24
  25. DJ_Troopa
    Offline

    DJ_Troopa K1 Driver

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2008
    Messages:
    1,741
    Likes Received:
    13
    You don't have it lying around anywhere by any chance do you? lol ;)

    I'm not sure if i want to spend £85 on it from Jabba, do people think it's worth it? Pricey if you ask me!
    #25
  26. badger5
    Offline

    badger5 www.badger5.co.uk Site Sponsor

    Joined:
    May 28, 2004
    Messages:
    7,297
    Likes Received:
    678
    nope not here
    #26
  27. m8arx
    Offline

    m8arx Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2010
    Messages:
    168
    Likes Received:
    0
    how easy is it to make up a heatshield for these? is there any particular thickness of aluminium to use? what size is the hole that the maf sits in???
    #27
  28. jay1601
    Offline

    jay1601 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,249
    Likes Received:
    31
    s3Dave what thinkness aluminium did you use ?
    #28

Share This Page