1. This site uses cookies. By continuing to use this site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Learn More.

How to replace engine bay lambda sensor?

Discussion in 'A3/S3 Forum (8L Chassis)' started by ravi, Oct 1, 2010.

  1. ravi
    Offline

    ravi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    Guys,
    How easy is it to replace the lambda sensor in engine bay?

    do i need to get a garage to replace it?

    thanks
    ravi
    #1
  2. ravi
    Offline

    ravi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    sorry, i have a S3, year 2000, apy engine.
    cheers
    #2
  3. Sandip
    Offline

    Sandip Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    60
    #3
  4. ravi
    Offline

    ravi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks, do i need to remove any engine parts to get to it?
    #4
  5. Sandip
    Offline

    Sandip Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2006
    Messages:
    2,380
    Likes Received:
    60
    I had to remove the strut brace but i don't think the APY's had one. You could remove the chargepipe to make things easier but it can be done with it staying on
    #5
  6. leshkin
    Offline

    leshkin Speeding in reverse gear

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2006
    Messages:
    681
    Likes Received:
    1
    I removed the inter-cooler inlet hose that runs along the top of the engine and this made it easy to access the lambda sensor. As sandip points out - proper tools always make the job easier, especially when access is limited as you will find out. It's a 30 minute job with a cold engine and proper tools. I spent a good hour on this as I neither had a proper tool to reach the lambda or the time to wait for engine to cool down :)
    #6
  7. ravi
    Offline

    ravi Member

    Joined:
    Apr 13, 2004
    Messages:
    47
    Likes Received:
    0
    thanks guys
    #7

Share This Page